We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior by Geisel
Ranked #77 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I liked the cosy feeling in this hotel. You could really see that it was not part of a large chain but familiy owned. The service at the reception was outstanding, quick and efficient. It is most convienently loacted, one minute walk from Munich central station.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 572 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great location across street from railroad station and walking distance to most all attractions in old town. Rooms had been redone and weren't small like most European Hotels. Bathroom had two sinks and you had a closet that could actually store clothes. Slimline TV in room. Hotel exterior was so-so, but interior has been redone and is clean and bright. Two elevators that do the job. Price value relationship is quite good. Excellent dinner restaurant, but separate bar was not open. Had to go down the street to another hotel for a bar. Located across the pedestrian walk-way to an internet cafe that is reasonablly priced for both coffee and and internet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The hotel was clean and well-maintained and the staff was extraordinary. I had scheduled to stay at the Hotel Excelsior for two nights while attending a conference. The day of my planned departure was the day they started cancelling flights and I ended up being in Munich for 4 more nights. The staff was welcoming and accomodating. The restaurant served great food, the bar was hospitable, and the location right between the train station and the Marienplatz was perfect for getting around. I look forward to returning to Munich and will certainly stay at the Excelsior when I do.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strandedbythevolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Hotel Excelsior belies it's external appearance; internally, it's charming. My room was large, stylish and comfortable, and the free mini-bar is a welcome extra after a long journey. The real boon of Hotel Excelsior is it's location - within a short walk of the Munich Bahnhof, which connects directly to Munich airport. The lounge and Bavarian bar were very comfortable. Good restaurants are also a short walk away. I didn't take breakfast but there are good cafes nearby. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

It is a travesty to describe this as a four star hotel - I would give it 2 1/2 to 3 maximum. Rooms are really jaded - although the bathrooms have been done up and are very clean. Grungy hallways with 70's style fire doors and stained carpets. My room was about the size of a decent prison cell overlooking a dirty courtyard and itself overlooked by a hallway so that everybody passing by could see in - so you have to close the curtains for privacy during the day!

Staff were friendly enough and the location is fairly central but you could definitely do A LOT better than this in Munich. Will definitely not be coming back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamGportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I have stayed in a few hotels in this class in Munich and I was impressed by the Excelsior.

I paid €130 for a room (excl breakfast) and - I think - you get a lot for your money. Hotel is a bit odd - in a 60s/70s precinct but step inside and you are transported into a sort of Disney does Bavaria experience. Staff are really helpful, all in local costume. Decor is heavily themed. But, they carry it off somehow!

Plus points:
- big rooms (I had a double for single use and it looked larger than average)
- free minibar (or at least included in the low room rate)
- very good service
- good hotel restaurant (Vinotek)
- expensive (€18) but high quality breakfast

Minus
- rooms are comfortable but a bit old - dated 4.5 star standard.
- immediate location is a central but charmless modern shopping district

Overall, you can't complain about the "minuses" at this price.

I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Wow - I'm shocked by some of the reviews on this hotel. This property is billed as 4stars - in reality it's a solid 3star. It does have a GREAT location (close to the train station and on a quiet side street across from a local coffee shop & a Starbucks). However, the rooms are very tired with stains on the headboard and furniture, ragged capeting. On the flip side, it does have nice bathrooms with plenty of freebie goodies. If you can get a good rate, I would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank alexqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#47 of 389 in Munich
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 389 in Munich
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 389 in Munich
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#164 of 389 in Munich
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 389 in Munich
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior by Geisel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior by Geisel

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $161 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior by Geisel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior by Geisel is one of best located hotels in Munich city centre. The hotel distinguishes itself with traditional Bavarian hospitality, elegant country-house style and personal service. This family-owned and managed first-class hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotels & Resorts group, and delights its guests with an incomparable blend of relaxed atmosphere and warm Bavarian sophistication The ground floor luxuriates in refined country-house style and ceiling frescos. The upper floors are a little more modern. Business people from Munich and all corners of the globe use our elegant conference rooms with lobby for their company events. The hotel houses a traditional restaurant that serves delicious Bavarian-Italian specialties, and an outstanding selection of fine wines - Vinothek by Geisel. Situated just across from Munich's central railway station, the Hauptbahnhof, the Excelsior receives its guests in a quiet location not far from the old Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior by Geisel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Munich
Excelsior Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing