We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #75 of 383 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Just the one night here and when I arrived at Munich railway station, there was lots of building going on and the hotel was hard to find. When I did get there, the checking was very good with very helpful staff. The room was well appointed with loads of room, the only minus point was the over bath shower with a pointed bottomed bath, a little tricky. The restaurant next door was also very good with excellent service and food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Doug_421
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you have chosen our hotel for your stay and that you rate especially our staff and restaurant very high. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    212
    63
    31
    16
See reviews for
79
132
50
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here out of convenience as our traveling party were headed in different directions at the end of a longer trip - some departing to the airport and others to the train station.

The room was okay, although not particularly large, but that is based more on American standards than European. I will say that the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, which was immensely appreciated from a non German-speaking traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris42310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Chris42310,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our colleagues. I will pass your kind words on to them. We regret if we did not meet your expectations on our hotel and convince entirely from us. Nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you back to our property for another occasion. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and were so impressed with the hotel. The room, although only a standard double was huge - almost the size of a small suite, and spotlessly clean. Service, from concierge through the bar and restaurant was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.
It's right opposite the main train station and only a 10-15 stroll down to Marienplatz.

I've worked in the hospitality industry for almost 20 years now and would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.
Munich is a great city and I would definitely re-book this hotel upon our return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sale and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear BirminghamKath,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Happily and with great pleasure I have passed your compliments on to our staff. We hope to seeing again soon in our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalllas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for Oktoberfest. The location was close to the venue. Everything else about this hotel was awful. Poor service, dirty rooms. Worse of all I paid $55 for the breakfast for my girlfriend and myself, and got there and there was no food remaining at the buffet. And they would not refund out money. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbsseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear hbsseller,
Thank you for contacting us here. Great to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We feel very sorry to read about your bad experience during the breakfast and understand very well that you are upset. You are right: Something like this should not occur in our hotel. Kindly be ensured that this is not normally the case or for that matter, a part of the hotel´s standards operating procedures. I will discuss your comment with our food and beverage manager in order to clarify this issue.
Spotless cleanliness of our rooms is our highest priority and we put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. Therefore we read your comment with great surprise and it has made us very concerned. Honestly we cannot comprehend your criticism as we unfortunately did not get any further information about the reason or incident that you have formed such a negative opinion about our hotel. We kindly ask you to contact us (j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de; +49 (0) 89 55137 8129). We are keen speaking to you personally about this incident.
We will do everything we can in order to make sure that this negative experience is not the last impression of our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schongau, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here on my birthday in an Alpine Room, had a lovely dinner with corresponding wines/port in Geisels Vinothek, 2 minibars in room, TV in the bathroom, very comfortable bed, luxurious breakfast buffet with good selection. Highly recommended as in central location close to the main station and the main town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecreativeminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear thecreative minds,
We are honored and want to personally thank you for efforts and your kind words. How nice that you stayed with us for this special occasion! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our new room category, the Alpine Rooms, which has been created last year and your dinner in our restaurant Geisel´s Vinothek. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn on Effner Strasse during this October for Oktoberfest as well as the Excelsior. I wish I had stayed at the Hotel Excelsior the entire time. The Saturday night rate for the Excelsior was nearly the same at the Holiday Inn but the Excelsior is a much better value. The rooms are bigger, it is more plush/less utilitarian, and the location was so much more central (this really helps to keep the taxi costs down!) If you are sharing with a friend, it is a great choice because there is room for both of your suitcases and the bathroom is really spacious with two sinks. Beds are comfy and firm. The decor overall is slightly dated and this is definitely not a hip 'design' hotel - but it is still tasteful. There is a lot of great shopping right around the hotel and you can walk to the main square as well. The housekeeping staff was efficient and the front desk staff were helpful. When we checked out, we found out that a snack item we had from the mini bar was only 1 Euro - and that everything in the mini bar was a Euro! Wish we had known that before :) !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalDreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CalDreamn, Thank you for your great and extensive review and the related positive feedback to our staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and fancy our facilities as well as the style of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards from Munich. Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel has a more 'traditional' theme decor. Very clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast. Staff is hospitable. Convenient to city center and to the trains and to Oktoberfest if you happen to be there during this time. Would stay here again.
Was a little noisy outside during the night but it might had been from all the Oktoberfest 'rowdiness'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manger at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear jacers1,
How nice! We are honored and we want to personally thank you for your efforts and your kind words. Yes, you are right during the Oktoberfest the Munich is quite brisk. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#61 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#158 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#68 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior is one of best located hotels in Munich city centre. The hotel distinguishes itself with traditional Bavarian hospitality, elegant country-house style and personal service. This family-owned and managed first-class hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotels & Resorts group, and delights its guests with an incomparable blend of relaxed atmosphere and warm Bavarian sophistication The ground floor luxuriates in refined country-house style and ceiling frescos. The upper floors are a little more modern. Business people from Munich and all corners of the globe use our elegant conference rooms with lobby for their company events. The hotel houses a traditional restaurant that serves delicious Bavarian-Italian specialties, and an outstanding selection of fine wines - Geisel's Vinothek. Situated just across from Munich's central railway station, the Hauptbahnhof, the Hotel Excelsior receives its guests in a quiet location not far from the old Botanic Gardens. The entire Munich inner city, major attractions such as Marienplatz, and many more besides, can be reached in just a few minutes, either on foot or using Munich's excellent underground trains, trams or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Munich
Excelsior Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing