We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Persian restaurant!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Shandiz

Restaurant Shandiz
Ranked #161 of 3,473 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Fabulous Persian restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Shandiz because of all the great reviews and we were definitely not disappointed!! I ordered the Kabab Djudjeh Soltsni (a combo of chicken and minced meat kebobs) and my husband got the Khoreschte Ghormehsabsi (braised lamb). Both dishes were wonderful! We topped the meal off with saffron ice cream with pistachios and rosewater, which was unbelievable!! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggyg388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    59
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating taste, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was there for a dinner with my girlfriend to celebrate her graduation. I wanted it to be special and I was right. We ordered two special Persian drinks Sharbat and Yoghurtdrink (I forgot its name) which were great. Having a starter plate for two was a good choice so we had a chance to taste many different type of starters. The only lack of info here they brought us Nan (bread) and charged extra for that even though we didn't order it extra. Grill was so delicious which is similar to Turkish Urfa kebap. Sizes are great and Restaurant has good ambiance. We were satisfied generally. For a special dining experience night it should be good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MuratKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Persian--a good alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Shandiz Restaurant on Dachaer St. in Munich presents a very good alternative to night after night of heavy German food.
Shandiz serves good freshly prepared food in a pleasant atmosphere. They have a variety of fresh Persian starters, salads and entrees. A well the restaurant offers a set meal (choices set by the restaurant) including dessert.
There is both indoor and outdoor seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OntarioGinger186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth the Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Munich can be a bit "samey" but Shandiz certainly wasnt that, great mixed starters for two, we had mixed lamb and chicken kebaps for main which were also very good.

It was the night of the Champions League final so Munich was "Jumping" there was a real mixed bag of customers in the night we were there and a good time was had by all

Great atmosphere with all of the staff we can across very helpfull, if we're ever back in Munich we'll visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinC715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
220 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went there the first time. The service was very good and friendly. Food seems to be very authentic and is fresh. We liked all dishes. It is a small place and reservation is a must. Prices are absolutely ok and we will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KaStz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Shandiz also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Restaurant Shandiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing