We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Munich
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Big Hat Tours
from $282.54
More Info
from $209.08
More Info
from $220.37
More Info
Big Hat Tours
19 Reviews
from $253.43
More Info
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
806
6
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
806
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curt milburn third reich city tour reich tour private tour his knowledge great tour train ride hour walking tour come alive great sense of humor visited munich dachau concentration camp ipad interests kurt history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Munich National Socialism though I'm not quite sure what the actual name of the tour was. Kurt showed us the monuments that the city had to offer particularly those that are in connection to the National socialist history of the city. I personally have a great interest in history and Kurt happily answered all my questions while still keeping those that usually do mot care too much about history engaged and interested. The iPad was useful as it allowed us to compare buildings and monuments with their state in history. Overall great guy and great tour. Would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Sami_2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent tour. Very intresting and veryyy unique. Very cool guy, super passionate about his stuff and funny aswell!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 248kilianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Curt Milburn is an exceptional tour guide. His historical knowledge, insight, commentary, perspective, enthusiasm, and friendliness are outstanding. From the moment he met our family at our hotel and accompanied us on the train/bus journey to Dachau, Curt immersed us in the historical human tragedy of the camp. With his iPad, Curt expanded our visualization of the scale of horror that took place beyond the iron gates. As we viewed the torture chambers, gas chamber, miles of barbed wire, clothing remnants, and shoes, Curt deepened our understanding with his remarkable historical knowledge and perspective. I unequivocally recommend this unforgettable tour of Dachau with Curt Milburn.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank B6049CGmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had reached out to Curt prior to touring Europe this past holiday season. We’re a family of five with three children in their late 20’s traveling from the United States. Having never met and connecting at our hotel in the morning Curt felt like a member of the family almost instantly. He’s an easy conversationalist with an exceptional command of his subject, modesty and a crisp sense of humor. Travel to and from each destination was seamless and the somber experiences that awaited us were brought to life by his wonderful storytelling. During lunch and prior to the Third Reich part of the tour we were joined by Curt’s son Paul for about an hour. A delightful intelligent young man about the same age as our children, offered a contemporary view and interesting contrast as a native German to Curt’s midwestern American roots. As history enthusiasts, we thoroughly appreciated Curt’s scholar like knowledge and intimate portrayal. Without hesitation we’d recommend him to our family and friends. And in looking back, our only regret was that we couldn’t have him for the rest of our european tour!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank A2173WJkathleenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020
Review of: Big Hat Tours

Amazing tour. I could have simply followed the online descriptions but there's so much that we would have missed. The WW2 history, the churches, even some of the sublte stuff passing shops and the market. It was really worth the money, and I would highly recommend Curt for your Munich tour.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 446evanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews