We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Property”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb Property”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

This is a superb hotel with fantastic service. The front desk Manager, Christian, is one of the best I have across in my humble opinion.

The restaurant is excellent (thank you Christian for getting us in on short notice) and not pretentious at all, despite the Michelin moniker. Unique wine selection and great advice and food pairings. Stick to german wines here - ignore the excellent french treats designed for the locals.

This is one of the most advantageous locations in the city, so walk out the front door and explore the wonders this city has to offer.

It is impeccably maintained, the maids are lovely and helpful (one ironed my tie in the hallway) and the facility is top notch.

I highly recommend when staying in Munich!

  • Liked — Attention to detail.
  • Disliked — Can be stuffy, but hey, the opposite is not what you want.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Chinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    124
    45
    18
    15
See reviews for
110
211
43
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Lovely hotel in a spectacular location convenient to the old city. The room was lovely with a great view - - comfortable bed, large lovely bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We went on a three-day holiday at Munich for shopping. The location of the hotel was ideal: close to the stores , so as to return on foot to leave the things we bought and go back to go on shopping...! The service was exellent! the room service, the reception... We are going this year too!!!

  • Liked — the room and sevices
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — try the rooms with view on Karlplatz
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank areti-nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

This is one of the best kept secrets in Munich, perhaps all of Europe. Beautiful decor, attentive service, fabulous food, big rooms with elegant baths.... everything one could ask for. The location is superb, too - walking distance to Marienplatz, great shopping right outside, and an escalator right outside the front door that leads to the train station. Perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CapeCod64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the lead up to Xmas. Could not fault this hotel based on our experience. Easy to get to on S8 from the airport; every member of staff was friendly and efficient without exception; the room (#404) was large with a view over Karls Platz and the spires of the old town. In room dining and breakfast were excellent, and the concierge team were spot on with their transport/sightseeing advice.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MIG2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2005

I stayed at the Koenigshof because I had been to Munich several times on business -- staying in business-class hotels -- and wanted to see what a "top of the line" Munich hotel would be like. The bottom line is that if you're easily impressed by gilt moldings and obsequious service, you'll love the Koenigshof. I'm sure this hotel had its day -- sometime in 1961. If you actually want modern conveniences, professional service, and quality without pretension, you're much better off spending your money on something else.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DavidLPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2003

I visited the Koenigshof in 1956, 1957, 1960, and 1983. The location, the accommodations, the people, and the FOOD were absolutely the BEST !!! I have recommended it to several friends; they have stayed there and all praise it like I do, and now won't stay anywhere else in Munich !!!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing