We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with high level of profession staff ”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location with high level of profession staff ”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect, you just need to cross the street to find the most amazing shopping street, you can start walking and enjoying everything for ever!
The staff are amazing, one of The best housekeeping I've ever seen. Every time I enter my room I feel like that I just checked in. they make up my room so perfect one time after another.

The only things I had that there is no coffee machine in the room and some Rooms need maintenance.
The 24 hours service don't provide you with a lot of option, but don't worry about it because you are rounded with a lot of restaurant some of them open till late evening.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BuSaQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear BuSaQR,

with pleasure I read your comment and like to thank you for your evaluation.
I am happy to hear that you like our location, which is indeed in the heart of Munich, so that´s makes very easy reach all shopping and sights by walking.

I will share your comments with our team specially the housekeeping. Regarding the status of our rooms, I am happy to tell you that we are currently in the process of renovation one by one, also we are planning to put a coffee machine in the rooms.

Whenever you will be back to Munich, we would be happy to welcoming you again at the Königshof.

Kindest regards,

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    125
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
111
212
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the konigshof for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We arrived at about 9pm after traveling from Australia and we were checked in quickly and escorted to our room. Everything was lovely and probably the only complaint I have is about the "queen " bed being 2 single beds pushed together which is very common in Europe.
The breakfast was beautiful and included a great buffet followed by a cooked breakfast of our choice. Sitting at breakfast watching the snow fall on the streets of Munich was a highlight.
The hotel is in a great location and an easy walk to Marienplatz, the central station and restaurants.
If you want to spend a little more and have all the comforts including a wonderful bath which was lovely to soak in after a cold day sight seeing, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear BecJ43

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment on our Hotel Königshof. Indeed our location is quiet perfect.

As you already noted correctly, the two mattresses are a very common bed style in Europe. With an additional thin mattress that we would put on top of the two mattresses, we can prepare the bed the way you would prefer it to be.

I hope that the memory of sitting in our Restaurant and watching the snow fall will stay in your mind and keeps you remembering the beautiful days you spent in Munich.

Once again I would like to thank you for your lauding words and we would love to welcome you soon again.

Kindest regards


Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not only was the food tremendous, but the staff was very friendly that would go above and beyond their duties! The room was magnificent, and it was a comfort to stay there when I was in distress about the airlines loosing my luggage. The hotel helped to communicate with the airport in order to retrieve my luggage on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Nick S,

Thank you for your kind evaluation on trip advisor.

I really appreciate your praising words on our staff and I am happy to hear, that they did everything to make your stay a comfortable one and could help you to retrieve your luggage.

I can imagine the disaster to be in Munich without luggage!

Hoping to welcoming you once again (with luggage!) I send you my best personal regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed five wonderful days here and cant fault the Hotel in any way. The location is perfect with the train network and Marienplatz literally outside the front door. The domestic train is 20m away and the europe train network is 100m away.

The staff, food, atmosphere, rooms, customer service and quality of the hotel is exceptional. What really made our stay so memorable was the customer service provided by all the staff, with special thanks to Mr Martin Livingski who made us smile and laugh every morning. We will be going back to this hotel in future, guaranteed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Neil C,

What an amazing comment! I want to thank you so much for your nice and lauding words. The way you describe it, we want all our guests to see it like that. I am happy to hear, that in your case we were so successful.

Of course I will pass your comment to all colleagues but especially to Martin Lewinsky, who will be very delighted.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon again

Kindest regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed several nights in December and loved the experience of Munich and the train trip to Nuremberg. Our room was at the front on Karlsplatz overlooking the traffic, the ice rink and further on into the pedestrian area. We slept well every night as the glazing is very effective in cutting down the noise. The hotel is convenient to suburban and long distance trains and shops are close by for the purchase of most things. We even needed the doctor and found a helpful pharmacist next door who directed us to the clinic nearby.
Staff at the hotel were always helpful and the manager of the breakfast area was always polite and friendly even at peak time. The hotel was clean and warm and felt like home.

Room Tip: Possibly room 404, centre fronting Karlsplatz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear sydneywoman,

With pleasure we read your comment on tripadvisor and want to thank you for your kind words.

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. Especially your lauding words for our staff are highly appreciated. I will let them know, as they all ever try to do their best.

Thank you again and hoping to welcoming you once more here at the Koenigshof

Kindest regards
Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel was fantastic - plain and simple! When we checked in, we were early, but the front desk got us into our room without any problems. They also gave my children large, yummy chocolate Easter bunnies! The rooms we had were beautifully appointed, and we had a lovely view. Upon our departure, we had to check out well before our train was to leave. The staff made us comfortable in the lobby and even sent over a 2 glasses of wine for my husband and I, and snacks and sweets for my children. The doorman at this hotel went beyond any expectations, and helped us carry our luggage to the train station when we left!!! He also greeted us with a smile each time we returned and talked to us about our day. I would highly recommend this hotel - especially for families traveling with children. The area felt very safe and the staff was friendly beyond compare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Kimberly W,

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. What you are describing we try to do for every guest and that you appreciate it that way makes us proud.

Hoping to welcoming you again we send you our best wishes for a Happy New Year

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent hours checking review sites etc to find a great hotel in a great location in Munich, unfortunately I checked only half the aims off.
The hotel is in great location to one end of the Karlsplatz with a s train entrance right next to it, literally metres from the front door, the Marienplatz is a few minutes pleasant walk.
The s train from the airport is 40 minutes either S1 or S8 and very easy to navigate, the stops are announced in English, buying a ticket is equally easy just buy a partner single day ticket in a machine which automatically validate on purchase, just don't change the option! 21.4 euros for up to 5 persons on one ticket when a cab is at least 55 euros!!
The Hotel was very disappointing, the websites make it look all romantic and perfect for a break but it is all fake, the hotel is in modern building the internal architrave etc are all fake and not done all that well to boot. We booked a double deluxe room at £255 per night on check in we had to complain as it was small, scruffy and facing a concrete car park wall. In the UK this would be perfectly acceptable from a Travel Lodge etc but the cost would be more like £50 per night.We were moved to a larger room but the improvements stopped there, over night the noise was evident from the street, there were only 2 milk sachets left for coffee, the towels were simply worn out and threadbare, the carpets were dirty and the final straw was that the michelin starred restaurant is closed 2 days per week - what do they expect their guests to do. I believe this sums this hotel up it appears this place is run for the benefit of the company and not their guests.

Munich it self is great, the christmas markets were lovely, shopping good and so os the beer and food. People were very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend Munich but DEFINATELY not the HOTEL KOENIGSHOF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina_Bindig, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Rob B,

First of all I want to thank you for giving such a detailled report of our hotel on tripadvisor.

I regret that you did not like our hotel. You are right, that our facade is a modern one and does not look very nice. On the ohter hand most of our guests are very surprised when they enter the hotel, because inside they find a classic style with cosy atmosphere.

I assume you booked one of our superior rooms, which is our smaller category and those rooms are only to the back of the hotel. Perhaps a deluxe room with a parquet floor (this category is of course a bit more expensive) you would have liked more.

Concerning our restaurant I would like to inform you that in November and December it is closed only one day a week which is Sunday. On Sunday we are happy to offer you a dinner in our bar or in the nice restaurant of our sister hotel next door.

If you would give us another chance our reception or concierge will be happy to give you all information needed and they will try to find a room which you really will like.

Thanks again for your comment and kind regards

Martina Bindig
Assistant to the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing