We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
Ranked #129 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had originally booked our stay over Christmas at the Hotel Senator in Munich, however, shortly before our departure for Munich, we received an email that all of the guests were being moved to the Hotel Erzgiesserei so that the Hotel Senator could be closed over the Christmas holiday. It was a very nice surprise and a great value for the money. The rooms were very clean, roomy and functional. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. The staff were most helpful, especially when we needed a restaurant recommendation, they provided directions and even called to be sure that the restaurant would be open on Christmas Eve. They assisted with train schedules, and were always most pleasant. Initially we felt that the hotel was too far from the Marienplatz and the Christmas markets, however, it worked out very nicely and the area around the hotel was very quiet and pleasant. It's about 3 blocks from the closest U bahn stop, which was easily accessible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighBC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was a nice hotel w incredibly good price. I booked it in a hurry after I read the reviews. Was really surprised how nice it is. Great central location but on a very quite street.Recommend it to everybody who don't want to spend a fortune on hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yunnimaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe is quite centrally located. The rooms are spacious and nicely equipped, but one of the two rooms was a smelly smokers rooms. The service is not adequate for a hotel of that category and price, e.g. one of the rooms was not ready when we arrived (one hour after the time they wrote us the rooms would be ready at). No free WLAN in the rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian_Gaertner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed from 7 to 10 October at the Erzgiesserei Hotel. I found it comfortable, impeccably clean, quite with a very good and friendly service but without any charm. It is a functional place to sleep and go to work. The buffet breakfast was very good and generous with a variety of food. However, the rooms are rather small and the bathroom is tiny although very orderly and well maintained. I felt it was too expensive for the quality it offers. The U-bahn is not far and make it a convenient location to go to Marienplatz and citiy centre. However, near by we could not find suitable restaurants to eat in the evening. A rather practical place more than anything else. For a 4 star hotel I was expecting at least a fitness room to exercise a little bit but no facilities.

Room Tip: The upper floors are better as you are away from the smoking rooms on the first floor. It is nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stay during September 2012. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with good places to eat near by. All hotel employees were very nice. Also is a 5minute walk to a U station to get to various places around the city. We do not recommend this hotel for various reasons: no free Internet, did not want to turn on the aircondition, we open the windows and since it was the Oktoberfest fest all the noise of people walking and talking on the street woke us up, and the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable.
It was very expensive!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I cannot remember much about this hotel, it was an overnight stay. We had room 215 which was part of our Germany Tour. The room fairly large, long and narrow. Red carpet, with drab dark olive green bedspreads. Asked for a double and the beds were 2 singles pushed together. I believe that the hotel needs to think about updating and renovating the rooms, very outdated, if the others are like the one we had. We did noticed that the heater was not working. Our room faced one of the roads. We did not have any noise at all. You could open the windows and we did to let some fresh air in. Very stuffy. Cannot remember the breakfast room at all, but I did make a note and I gave breakfast 6/10 so it could not have been too bad. The position of this hotel is o.k. took us about a 20 - 30 minute pleasant walk, from the city centre. Nothing around the hotel. Would we stay here again, I would look around for something better. Just a average hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is located near to Stiglmaier underground station which is one stop to the Hauptbahnhof. As such it is convenient for the city and congress centre.
The hotel has a refined and classy ambience and the rooms are clean and neat. Comprehensive breakfast buffet can be eaten in a pretty and secluded courtyard. There is also a restaurant (of some repute in its own right) and a traditional bar.
Good value for money in big European cities is increasingly hard to find but here it is. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are south facing with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tune-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 389 in Munich
768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent Munchen
Hotel Prinzregent Munchen
#21 of 389 in Munich
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#42 of 389 in Munich
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe

Address: Erzgiessereistr. 15, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $91 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and centrally located modern business and city hotel. Ideal connections to public transport, train stations, freeways and the exhibition grounds. 2 convertible conference rooms, including a foyer, accommodating up to 70 people The Württemberg conference room is 70 m2 The Stuttgart conference room is 40 m2 Using mobile dividing walls, the area can be enlarged to 110 m2 Features Beamer, TV/Video, CD-player, overhead projector, free W-LAN, flip chart, projection screens, pin-board, presentation equipment, air condition, daylight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Munich
Munich Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing