We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central hotel”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The hotel is in a quiet street, in central Munich, surrounded by old traditional style buildings within walking distance of many restaurants. The entrance is unpreposessing but this hotel is a gem, with friendly staff and tastefully decorated rooms. Our bedroom had a view over the old roof tops and double glazing ensured a peaceful night's sleep. The hotel is close to the Hofbrau Haus, which in itself is in a lovely quiet small square with piano music wafting from the ballet rehearsal rooms above. A pleasant surprise. Overall an excellent boutique hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youarewhatyoueat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Platzl is in a great location but is very overpriced. The staff were wonderful..so helpful. We only stayed one night due to a stuff up with our booking at another hotel. The Platzl was recommended and we had visions of wandering the streets after being told by another hotel that as there was a trade fair in town, we would be lucky to get anything. The hotel buffet breakfast is included but the room rate was very pricey. We moved to a 3 star nearby which was quieter, half the price, cheap internet access & had plenty of rooms!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyCountry15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Platzl was ideally located for us for an overnight stay, near Marienplatz (for public transport) and the opera house. From the warm welcome on arrival to collecting some lost property from the restaurant for us when we checked-out, everything was friendly and smooth. There is no glitz here, just a well-run operation. Our standard room was not generous in size (which was not unexpected for a city centre location), but was otherwise very good. And the breakfast was indeed very good, just as others have said.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We made our reservation directly with the hotel and were very pleased with everything from the reservation process (several emails were answered promptly!) to the check out. The room was great with a walk-in closet with plenty of shelves for storage, chairs and a desk and the beds were comfortable. The request for extra pillows was answered promptly. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. The breakfast could not have been better--plenty of choices and even an opportunity to order some items that were not on the buffet. The location was very convenient to Marienplatz and the Residenz and made it easy to see much of Munich by foot.

I highly recommend this hotel. It was worth paying more than normal for all the conveniences.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photobug429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

As others have said, the location is great - close to Marienplatz. So we got the train from the airport and then pulled our cases to the hotel in a few minutes - no need for a taxi. Room was at the back - quiet (but wasn't a festival). Good quality furnishings. Slippers and dressing gown. Good bathroom with a great shower. Didn't hear any noise. Air con worked fine. Could also open window. Breakfast pretty good - nice choice.Staff efficent and friendly. Only downside is that the public areas (lounge/bar) don't have much atmosphere. Didn't try restaurant - so spoilt for choice in the city. We stayed 3 nights.

By the way, about 3 mins down the road from the hotel is a bike rental shop (Mike's Bike Tours Hochbrucken Strasse). Cycling in Munich is very easy because of the cycle lanes and because it is flat. We had a brillaint day visiting the Bavaria Statue, Nymphenburg Palance, Olympic Park, Englischer Garten and River Isar)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We booked this hotel direct through the internet. They answered our emails very quickly. The room was comfortable and clean and as it overlooked the rear of the hotel very quiet. The only draw back with the room was that there were no draws to put our clothes away in, just two low shelves in the wardrobe. The buffet breakfast was very good. Their two restaurants both serve good food at reasonable prices. The location was excellent for exploring Munich. The only negative would be the prices in the bar a pot of tea cost 4.80 euros and drinks were also expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathlyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Platzl Hotel is in the old city near the Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz. The rear of the hotel overlooks the Platzl Square around which is located the Hofbrauhaus and several other "brauhaus" restaurants. The only drawback to the hotel is that if it is a festive weekend the celebrations in the square can go on until the wee hours of the night. In such a case make sure that you room is not at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 389 in Munich
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 389 in Munich
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $210 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing