We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,220)
Filter reviews
2,220 results
Traveler rating
1,362
676
115
46
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
676
115
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfamous hofbrauhaushofbrau housebreakfast buffetbeer hallold citythe air conditioninglovely hotelquiet roomtwo blocksloved this hotelcentral locationby european standardsreception staffwithin easy walking distanceminute walkvisiting munich
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 2,220 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and elegant and in a superb location for all the best central attractions. The s bahn is only a 4-5 minute walk, it is next door to the Hard Rock Cafe and hofbrauhaus, not to mention it is in an up market area with some stunning shops. The reception staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming, as were the bar staff. The bedroom was very smart, clean and well maintained. Every addition you would expect from a hotel of this class. The beds and pillows are very comfy indeed. On the way to the breakfast room you pass the conference meeting room facilities which looked excellent. Breakfast was delicious. A typical German breakfast providing everything that you can imagine. They even provide a full English breakfast and eggs cooked to order if you ask. The only disappointment was one day at breakfast, the supervisor who meets and greets was nowhere to be seen and none of the other 4 staff who were setting tables and hovering chatting together were not trained on taking room numbers and showing us to a table so we were kept waiting. And we had to get up and ask for coffee as staff, with no eyes on service chatted in a central area where their service stations are. A little re training would not go amiss. That said, it is a charming hotel, with a mostly welcoming team and I would definitely return for business or pleasure.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

We’ve been to Munich quite a few times but thought we would treat ourselves to a hotel right in the old town. Platzl Hotel is lovely and authentic. Great customer service, turned up at 10.30am and they were able to provide our room straight away which was amazing and very helpful since we got up at 02.30am. Bed is amazing, pillows amazing. Only thing we were missing was tea and coffee in the room but guess that’s an English thing!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

The Platzl Hotel is literally on Marien Platz, so you have immediate access to a myriad of cafe's, restaurants and the most fantastic fresh produce market. If you are a fan of grilled pork knuckles, Haxnbaurer Restaurant can't be more than 50 meters away...as is the Hofbrauhaus. The Hotel itself has a warm reception and the rooms are well appointed and larger than most. The staff are friendly and service is very good. Parking is an issue around Marien Platz, but the hotel does offer great parking facilities (although at a price...).

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Perfect location in the centre of Munich next to all the main sites. Lovely rooms with all the amenities you would expect. A great breakfast included in our price. Would definitely stay again should we return.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RachelP2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Rachel P,

What a wonderful review you posted on TripAdvsior! Thank you so much!
We are so happy that you liked everything about your stay, from clean and comfortable rooms to friendly staff and on to our breakfast offer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Platzl Hotel again soon.
Best wishes from the heart of Munich, Heiko Buchta - General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. Location perfect. Room very clean. Beds very comfy. Bathroom great with excellent shower. Breakfast selection was great and fresh and tasty. Couldn't fault this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Harps1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko_Buchta, General Manager at Platzl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Harps1966,

Thank you for giving us 5 stars and for taking the time to review us. To know that we are exactly what you were looking for is music to our ears. 

I am glad to read that you had a good time in Munich and felt comfortable at our Platzl Hotel. It makes me really happy to read that you liked the equipment of our rooms as well as our central location and the breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to your next stay!
Best regards from Munich
Heiko Buchta - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews