We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent HOtel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent HOtel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A lovely hotel, wonderfully situated, the Platzl is a great buy. Fantastic breakfast and very quiet. All amenities are very high end. Clean, comfortable and luxurious. Stayed 5 nights with friends an would very highly recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: 4th floor room was lovely and quiet even at the time of Oktoberfest and right across from Hofbrauhou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    515
    76
    26
    12
See reviews for
279
722
140
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Platzl for 6 nights. I was very pleased as it had everything I like in a hotel. It is extremely well located, impeccably clean, has excellent in room air conditioning as well as fully opening, double-glazed, sound proofing windows (sometimes a problem in Europe). It also offers a lovely breakfast and a bathrobe, all at a very fair price. Travelling w a friend, we very much enjoyed the option of the single room. For about the same price, we had a little time on our own, and there was plenty of space for one in this small but efficiently designed room.
All of the employees were friendly, helpful and welcoming, but I would like to make special comment about Frau Merck in the breakfast room. Busy and efficient, she always had a warm smile for all the guests. It was a pleasure to see her every morning.
Next time in Munich, I will definitely choose the Platzl.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 102countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent location, though slightly noisy as it is opposite Hofbrauhaus. Clean and tidy rooms, courteous staff , central location everything is within walking distance. The train station is 3 min. walk, Marineplatz is 3 min. walk, lot of places to eat etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NimeshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Coming back to Munich which is a great is a great city with many interesting sites and places to visit on foot . Stayed again at Platzl 3 nights and as always excellent services, great rooms and friendly staff. I felt very bad and they phoned a doctor who came with in one hour and made me to stay on my legs again after 72 dreadful hours in Zurich.
It is the best value hotel for me while in Munich and I have to say hello to the new Manager which alread put new and very good changes to few rooms and the dininig room

Room Tip: All the rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Platzl Hotel is excellent place to stay outstanding breakfast the rooms were clean the staff was very friendly and all spoke english and very helpful.The location was great close everything would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Platzl at the end of August, 2013. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The hotel has the feel of a traditional Bavarian hotel with a contemporary flair and all the modern conveniences. The location is right around the corner from the Hofbrauhaus, in the aldstadt or old town, and very convenient to most of the main tourist sites in Munich. The breakfast buffet was pretty extensive, not just a continental spread, including hot dishes made to order if you want to spend the time. Our room was very nice, clean, and comfortable, the staff all spoke English to varying degrees, and I have nothing but good things to say about our two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Platzl Hotel is excellent!
Nice location. Comfortable. Staff work always over what you'd expect.
The restaurant Pfiftermühle is superb in bayerische gastronomie, and the wine list is a travel by german vineyards (and has wonderful biers, of course). Price is OK. The beautiful building exists since 16th century.
The fitness center, on the 5th floor, is very special, with ottoman decoration: you can't miss it!
Sergio Xavier

Room Tip: Non smokers rooms from 2nd floor up. The street is narrow and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SERGIO X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#8 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#10 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing