We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #16 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is good hotel, clean, comfortable and just around the corner from Marienplatz. Train station is 2 minutes walk away. There is porter service, concierge and every other service you could ask for. The breakfast was fresh, plentiful and in a lovely breakfast room. The hotel lobby is lovely with a bar on the side for some drinks if you want.

I would recommend this hotel and just add to all the other good reviews here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HenryandLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    597
    94
    36
    15
See reviews for
345
864
157
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of Munich "old city",easy & short distance from subway & from shopping area,a little expensive rates.rich breakfast,free wifi in rooms & lobby.highly recommended to stay.

Room Tip: we had an extra large room,facing the street,although center of old city,with double glazing very si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our (adult) boys wanted to visit the Hoffbrauhauss and we only had one night to do it en route to somewhere else, so we booked into the Platzl Hotel as it is so close. We were extremely happy with the location, presentation, rooms and service. Unfortunately the lift did not work and we were on the 4th floor, so that was a bit hard with the luggage! I will recommend getting a room that face the courtyard not the street, as it can be noisy till very late! We were sad that we did not spend longer in Munich, as it is such a lovely city, but now know where to stay when we go back! The hotel was happy to organise our transfers to and from the airport, which made it very easy.

Room Tip: Try for a courtyard room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloiise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Great location (very close to Marienplatz).
Efficient , helpful & friendly staff.
Excellent breakfast.
Comfortable & very clean room with facilities for disabled people(separate bathroom with roll in shower).
We have felt like at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is located in Marienplatz, the center of the tourist spots in Munich (Opera house, Residenz, City hall), thus, very convenient for sight-seeing. Transportation to airport is also good (can go to airport directly from Marienplatz without going to main station). Also, I recommend Restaurant Ayinger (outside of the hotel building). Excellent service and food. But it was unfortunate that the street outside of the hotel was noisy till late at night. And I felt the room price is somewhat unreasonable.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing Hofbrauhouse. You may directly hear noise on the street. I have my room change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schneewittchen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful location : near all the points of interest in Munich (sights, restaurants, etc...).
Rooms were comfortable and we liked the bathroom premises (tube, amenities,etc..)
Wi-fi access worked nicely and oops ! can´t forget: the best breakfast buffet we had in Germany.
I really enjoyed my staying at the Platzl Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the heart of the city. It has three main plus points - location, friendly and welcoming staff and good food. The breakfast is well cooked, there was a good choice and everything I ate at the company event was well prepared. However, it does have some areas which are less positive. It is somewhat tired in decoration - it has dreary patterned carpets and lots of wood. The towels in my room were threadbare and small and definitely needed replacing, although there was a nice robe which guests can use which could double as a towel. Overall the room was not particularly impressive - it was dark and gloomy. TV had lots of choice however in several languages. The pillow on my bed was so soft it did not support my head but they willingly replaced it by another which was marginally better. If you want a centrally located friendly hotel this might be for you, but if you want a really modern hotel then this probably isn't.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 382 in Munich
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing