We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week. The staff were very helpful and courteous. I didn't like the bed coverings as they were too warm for me, though that is a personal preference. The rooms( we had both a double and a single) were clean, and comfortable. The cleaning staff were quick and thorough, and the amenities comparable to most hotels. You got free Internet for a 24 hour period which was enough for me. We didn't try the sauna but did eat in the excellent pfistermuehle restaurant. The location for the Christmas markets could not be surpassed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    529
    80
    26
    12
See reviews for
290
739
143
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Platzl Hotel for 3 night in January. The hotel is really the perfect place to stay as you can walk to the Hofbrau House, the Marienplatz,, the gorgeous Viktualienmarkt, the main train staion etc. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were great ( champagne on offer every morning!) The hotel staff were very obliging and happy to help with any request we had. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Platzl Hotel in January. Very nice hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the centre of Munich. I was really impressed with the recreation area, which has an amazing sauna/steam room area and a relaxation area that makes you feel as though you are in another era. Breakfast was also very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Platzl Hotel for 2 nights over New Year. The hotel is pefectly located opposite the Hofbrauhaus and a short walk from Marienplatz. I'd recommend it to anyone.The hotel was clean and comfortable. We booked a superior room which was spacious with a large bathroom. The room overlooked the courtyard, which was a blessing as the rooms overlooking the street could be quite noisy, expecially those that overlook the Hofbrauhaus. The New Year's dinner at the Ayinger's Inn at the back of the hotel was excellent - and lucky that we booked it in advance as everything in Munich was completely full.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located in five minutes walking distance from Marienplatz, the central square of the city. Marienplatz may be easily reached from the airport by train.
Location is the best you could wish - the most attractions are in walking distance.
Standard rooms are not very big but perfectly clean and quite spacious to fill comfortable.
Breakfast offers you a wide choice of high quality food, I think everyone will find something up to his taste there.
A little bit expensive but it worth it.
Definitely will stay again here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent Christmas at The Platzl and it is one of the best hotels in Munich. It is centrally located in the "allstadt" or old town just 2 blocks from the Marienplatz. More on that in a minute. The Platzl has been lovingly restored and boasts sparkling clean rooms fully equipped with free Wi-Fi, mini bars, safe and a full bath. Rooms were modest in size and I would say about average for a European hotel room. On Chrismas eve the staff brought a plate of German cookies and fruit to out room which really hit the spot around 10 pm. The lobby had a beautiful tree decorated with authentic German ornaments made of straw.We were able to get a great price through booking.com that included a fairly extensive breakfast buffet with hot food and TONS of yummy breads rolls pastry and cheeses. Yogurt and fresh fruit as well. In fact you can make your own Mimosas with the Deuchesec ( dry champagne ) and fresh oj from the buffet or settle for a hot cappuccino and croissant. Great way to start your day of touring in Munich and beyond.
I can not say enough about the staff at the front desk who can get you directions anywhere, make you dinner reservations and I imagine would do just about anything that was asked of them. I must mention Felix who is a wonderfully jovial bilingual fellow who each morning would mail our postcards off to America. Now he knows the city and can tell you where to eat or how to catch the S8. The whole staff was awesome.
The Platzl is a short walk to the Hoffbrau house (around the corner) which can be rowdy at night but is just authentic german fun!! Beer and pretzels. Is there anything better? Carbs with carbs! The hotel also has two fabulous restaurants. Ayingers is pub-ish style food with a German flare. Their home brew was particularly good, fresh on tap and potent! The other restaurant is more formal with a lovely vaulted ceiling and traditional German fare. Pricey but delicious. Small and quaint. So if you want that quiet candlelit dinner you will love Pfistermuhle. For a night cap there is a nice bar just off the lobby.
Finally,( I know it's long but so much to say) the Marienplatz is just steps from the hotel. Maybe 2 blocks. This is the old center of town and laden with gothic buildings, churches and a world famous Glockenspiel. There are shops to explore and if you wander another two blocks to the Viktuelenmart ( not sure on that spelling) you can grab a hot wurst and a cold beer all while hanging out with some friendly German folks who we found to be warm and helpful. But you gotta try the wurst cuz it really is the best.
One tip I can offer? Ask for a "quiet" room on the courtyard as for us 50-something's the sound of the Hoffbrau house is loud with the windows open. The Platzl really had everything we needed and more! Auf wiedersehen!

Room Tip: "Inner" rooms are away from the main streets and more or less in a courtyard. We slept wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BluePacDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Perfect location and lovely hotel for a Christmas stay. We could walk anywhere. My favorite memory is walking through the park on Christmas morning. The Christmas market was two blocks away with a safe and easy walk. We brought our little family dog and felt perfectly welcomed. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful. Comfy and cozy with plenty of room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing