We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our third stay during Octoberfest and continues to be at the top of our list. The room was large, clean and extremely comfortable. The location is fantastic, just a few minutes walk to Marienplazt. The buffet breakfast is more than generous and the food is excellent. All of the staff are professional, courteous and more than happy to help. WiFi is now free in your room, which an absolute plus. Our prior two stays it wasn't free and pricey. A previous poster mentioned the speaker in the bathroom as annoying, I just unplugged the connection during our stay and reconnected just before we departed. This was not because it annoyed us, it was to connect external speakers to the TV. My husband has a hearing problem and while watching our own movies on my iPad the sound was enough for husband. Will return without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydialiketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
There are newer reviews for Platzl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lovely hotel in a GREAT location near the Marienplatz. The room was large, comfortable and very quiet. The staff, at the desk, at breakfast, in the hallways, at the entrance -- all were the most professional and helpful I have ever encountered at any hotel anywhere.

There were only two negatives I found, and both were really minor -- it was way too warm in the exercise room, maybe because it's in the spa area, and I disliked having a speaker for the TV/radio in the bathroom as it echoed annoyingly in the room while watching TV (in all fairness, for all I know it can be turned off, but I didn't discover how and didn't ask, so it's clear that it was a very minor annoyance).

The breakfast buffet was amazing, the bed and pillows were SO comfy, but it was really the people who work there who make this place so very, very special. Pricey, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLynnJardimdoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed here during Oktoberfest at least 7 times. I have yet to have a reason to change my choice. The location is perfect, hugely generous breakfast, great staff. Speaking of the staff, someone tell me how Jurgen (the bartender/ bar manager) remembered my name after a year and how many other guests since then:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank todls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury hotel ,ideal location, without the huge cost this hotel is ideal. Located right in the city center, 4 min walk from Marienplatz,next door to the Hofbrauhause as well as other brauhauses,you will not run out of entertainment. Walk to the vitualmarket for lunch and shopping, U and S line stations 4 min walk away you will never need your car once parked. The only unreasonable cost is parking but we HAD a parking spot so we should not complain.After all it is downtown Munich.Definatly would use this hotel again after staying in other Pensions this hotel is superior to any. Another note is the breakfast is the best I have had at any stay in Europe which is included in the room price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room thet does NOT face the Hofbrauhause. Also ,do not use a GPS to find this plac...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2010yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Munich! Location is fantastic, just a few blocks from Marienplatz. Wonderful breakfast, with table cloth service! (The fresh weiss wuerst were to die for!). Room was very comfortable and functional. In the room, flat screen tv, fridge, safe, robe, slippers. Very modern bathroom, with a great shower. Wish I could have stayed longer, but they had no rooms available. The only down side was that free wi-fi was available in the lobby only. I've stayed in many other hotels in Munich and this one is now my favorite!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fortaleza_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I recently had the opportunity after finding most of the usual hotels I stay at in Munich not available or extremely overpriced during the busy Oktoberfest week to try a new hotel this time, and have to say, this will be the new main stay destination for future visits as a result. A very charming hotel in the Bavarian tradition with great history and amazing location three blocks from the main town hall square.

The breakfast was excellent, rooms spacious and comfortable and clearly a very well managed hotel....honestly, when one is often gravitating to stay in a cookie cutter hotel lacking character and charm, why, really?...Frankfurt, ok, maybe...but Munich...the Platzl is perfect in this regard!

You know you awaken in Bavaria in this hotel....nice to see that often the best new finds come by chance, and in this case by chance has led to my new favorite hotel in Munich for future visits...and by the way, to my point about previous stay at The Charles Hotel, I can say that their quoting over 1000 EUR a night for standard room (!) over Oktoberfest weeks is in a word - gouging - and well, in this case can say gouging short term loyalty is lost and has also lost them repeat long term business now gladly I will be headed to Platzl for future stays...

Looking forward to my return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is our 4th stay in this hotel. Perfect location, very traditional, but also trendy feeling, breakfast is a must, decent spa facilities. It's not cheap, but it's definately worth the money......................

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiliaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $210 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing