We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful luxury hotel”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful luxury hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was very impressed by this hotel. It exceeded my expectations; even the standard double room that we stayed in had a wonderful walk-in closet and a beautiful bathroom. Everything was comfortable and immaculate. The restaurant had good food and exceptional staff, and the location is terrific with easy walking distance to the metro and the train station. The biggest surprise was the Moorish Kiosk recreation area; I assumed there wasn't much to it by the lack of pictures on the website, and I was wrong. It's big and beautiful, and made for a better 'spa' day than many expensive spa resorts offer. It was the best part of the place for me! Overall, it was a great retreat after busy days in Munich and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 868Loren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    580
    89
    33
    15
See reviews for
328
831
153
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My father, fiance and I stayed here for a weekend trip. This hotel was extremely comfortable, clean, and conveniently located near the main sites and S-Bahn Station. The gentleman at the front door helped us find the entrance when we first arrived during the night, and even offered to take our luggage in for us. We offered him a tip, and he said that was not necessary. (We persisted and still gave him one anyway.) The breakfast spread was the best I have ever seen, and we never left hungry. The coffee was very delicious, and I couldn't seem to get enough. The hotel at the restaurant was very good, too. If we get the chance to visit Munich again, without a doubt we will be staying at the Platz! The staff were so professional and polite to us from check-in to check-out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenely1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location, super friendly staff, nice and cosy rooms, good local design - a classic for weekend stays in munich that i can only recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Positves: The location was excellent and provided easy access tro many of the main attractions that Munich has to offer - the breakfast buffet was superb - the staff was very friendly.

Negatives: - the lifts are a disaster (many times we had to wait for several minutes) - we had a room on level 5 which was very hot and had a very bad view - the WiFi connection was very poor and even worse then we experienced in most parts of Asia; this is not acceptable for a business man - there is no turn down service. The aircondition (to Australian standards) is not worth switching on.

Room Tip: If you go there in summer please do not get a room on the top fllow (level 5); it heats up very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolfmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Prime location, good service, very good accommodation and breakfast, friendly staff, although fully booked, able to provide late check-out by 14:00 h, at no extra-charges. No noise at all since our room faced the yard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the yard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilLuizR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,568 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,098 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you travel frequently, you would like to go to a hotel with a local style. A very modern hotel that has the minimalist style is not to my liking because for me it is very sterile. I soon forget about the hotel. The Hotel Platzl has Bavarian decoration, yet is modern. So a modern hotel with all its conveniences is not incompatible with a hotel with a local style.

The location of this hotel is the best. It is a 5 minute walk to the Marienplatz and is on a quiet street with little traffic. The Residence is one of the most important museums and this is one block away. There are many good shops close by. A very good supermarket is Rewe City at Tal 13, two blocks away.

For those who like Chinese food, one block away is China-Restaurant Mandarin, at Ledererstrasse, 21. The best pastry shop is Maelu at Theatinerstrasse 32, three blocks away.
A very good store with the best modern German porcelain is F.S. Kustermann at Viktualienmarkt 8, three blocks away.

Our room was Room 245. It was a large room with twin beds, which I had asked for. The headboards were made of wood and had an elegant design. The beds were very comfortable. There was a wooden table with one drawer separating the beds. The desk was wooden and had a wooden chair. There were three elegant brass lamps in the room. There were three framed pictures of lithographs showing the old palaces and buildings. There were two upholstered chairs in green leather, with a small round table between them. The TV set was mounted on the wall between the beds. The room had a street view and was very quiet, with double-paned windows.

The carpet was red and had a diamond pattern in green and white outlines. There was a large walk-in closet with plenty of storage space and the light was activated by movement.

The bathroom was quite large and had plenty of light. There was plenty of counter space beside the sink. The bathtub was easy to get in and the controls for the shower were easy to manipulate. There was a bidet beside the toilet. The ceramic floor was made of tile that looked like wood. Outside the bathroom was a very large full length mirror. There was a fresh rose in the bathroom. There was a door between the room and the bathroom, to eliminate hallway noise.

The breakfast was included in the price of the room and the breakfast room was located on the ground floor, accessible from the first floor. There were two rooms that had the typical Bavarian decoration. I enjoyed seeing a round painting on wood of a young woman in historic costume. This was one of the best breakfast buffets I have seen in Europe. There was a large variety of cold meats, sausages, breakfast pastries, fruits, and bread. I was able to ask for a fried egg and there was champagne available. Basha is a young brunette with a deep tan who works as a waitress there and she was delightful, always smiling and bringing us what we wanted to eat. She was also very efficient. It is wonderful when you meet a young service person with this cheerful attitude, who wants to make you happy.

The lobby of the hotel was quite big and comfortable with many upholstered arm chairs. I also noticed that everyone who worked at the desk was very helpful and had a positive attitude.

One of the young men who worked at the desk helped us make reservations for the Royal Castles tour, which went to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The tour cost 49 euros and there was an additional charge of 21 euros for entrances to the palaces, which you had to pay to the tour guide in the bus. The pickup point was the Kempinsky Hotel at Maximilianstrasse 17, two blocks away from the Platzl Hotel. We had to be there at 8 am. It was good that the breakfast room opened at 6:30 am, so we were able to have a good breakfast before going out. The Kempinsky is only a 10 minute walk away. A bus took us to the main bus station, where we transferred to the appropriate bus that would take us to the tour.

I would like to comment a little about this tour. You have to be in good physical condition because there is a lot of walking involved. People who have trouble walking should not take this tour. Let me explain.

We first went to Linderhof Palace, about one hour away from Munich. We had to walk 15 minutes from where our bus parked. Then we went on a tour of the palace, which was guided. An attendant played a recorded piece that explained each room we saw. No photography was allowed. After we finished the tour, which took about 20 minutes, we had some time to take photos in the gardens, which were fabulous. Then we had another 15 minute walk to the bus.

Then we went to Oberammergau, famous for its Passion Play during Holy Week. This town is quite picturesque and we had 40 minutes time to walk around and see the stores. There were plenty of interesting stores with good merchandise.

Then the bus took us to Hohenschwangau, the small town where the Neuschwanstein Castle is located. The bus parked beside the Hotel Muller, where we had a quick lunch on our own. The food at the hotel was very good and the food arrived very soon after we ordered it. We arrived at this place at 1 pm and our timed entry to the castle was at 3:20 pm. So after lunch we took the shuttle bus for 1.80 euros to a place near the castle. There was a long line for the bus. We first went up to the Queen Mary’s Bridge to take photos of the castle. Then we walked to the castle and this took 15 minutes. We waited at the courtyard of the castle for our timed entry.

When we were allowed to enter the castle we had to walk up a circular staircase for about six flights of stairs, which was quite strenuous. Then we were given an audio guide in the language we preferred. As we entered each room of the castle, the audio guide was activated. The tour took about 20 minutes and we were not allowed to take any photos.

Later we had to walk down the hill for about 30 minutes. The grade was steep and this walk was quite strenuous. We reached the bus and then came back to Munich at 6:30 pm. The bus dropped us off at the main bus terminal and we took a taxi back to our hotel for 8 euros. We enjoyed the tour, but the next day my feet hurt from all the walking during the tour. I give you these details so that you can make up your mind if you really want to see the tour, given the physical demands it requires to see it. These details are not given in the tour brochure, because of course they want to sell the tours.

Yes, the next time I return to Munich, I will stay in the same hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is good in many ways. The central location is excellent, room (we had the biggest they have) was spacious and clean.

I may recommend this hotel under normal circumstances. However, my flight was delayed by 5 hours and I ended up arriving at the hotel just after 11pm having not eaten since lunch time. There is no room service after 11pm (not even cold options) and the only food option that the reception staff could suggest was for me to venture outside and make my way to a nearby McDonalds! No map was given and it wasn't the nicest or safest feeling experience I have had. Even a telephone number of a take away restaurant would have been a great deal better.

Having said that, the hotel is central and of good standard generally. Breakfast was excellent.

There is a general aire of not 100% attention to detail or client focus. E.g. the toilet facilities from the lobby area were dirty with one ladies toilet out of order and the other one dirty without any toilet paper...

I have had better experiences in Munich elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatriinaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing