We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our luck record in finding great hotels continues with the Pratzl !”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Our luck record in finding great hotels continues with the Pratzl !”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

So I find myself back in Munich again but this time it is an extended weekend break with Meine Reizende Frau. 'Central' was the primary requirement and that was exactly what we got in the Platzl. We like to walk and explore when on holiday so churches, museums, architecture and palaces are our bag. Here we were right smack at the centre of it all. The Rathaus,three great churches, the opera house, the Royal Residence and a museum all little more than a few minutes stroll from the hotel.

We knew what to expect from the comments read on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The reception being our first point of contact was a joy. Pretty girls in traditional Bavarian costume, bright smiles and speaking superb English attended to our registration with predictable teutonic efficiency but with a delightfully unexpected charm.

Room was good and fronted onto a street. Timber double glazed windows easily took care of the sound barrier that some contributors suggested to be a concern. The twin room was comfortable and well appointed. Would have liked a kettle but its absence was not an issue.

This is an old hotel in the old town that has had a major make over. The style of the period was given a nod towards without replicating it. The breakfast room is bright and airy with verdigris green with gold detail on newly installed panelling. It does not look out of place in the four hundred year old hotel. Bedrooms had nice natural wood gothic style headboards that formed part of the link with the past. In short the renovation seems cleverly managed to address modern requirements yet not losing all the character of age in the process.

Still slightly on that subject the hotel has two restaurants. The Pfistermuhle and the Ayinger both of which form part of the block that is the hotel. The former is immediately beside the entrance and the other is at the back, opposite the Hoffbrauhaus. The Pfistermuhle is a great restaurant serving great Bavarian fayre. The setting is delightful within an ivy wrapped building with the real origins of the hotel clearly visible in its panelled walls and vaulted ceilings. The Ayinger is a little more germanic style that one could find anywhere but nonetheless a fine eatery though with little to indicate its origin in 1573.

Earlier I referred to the Breakfast Room and now must remind that the Breakfast is very good. While predicable in its array it is the standard that makes it notable.By that I mean down to the jams (jelly or conserves) which were obviously hand made.

Mentioning at the beginning the reception and the receptionists I must return to there again. Having decided to do a tour to Ludwig's castles we were pleased to find that the reception could supply the tickets. We were even more pleased when the offered to pack a breakfast for us should we not have time to dine. It turned out to be a great picnic.

This leads me to an important lesson for the traveller. We were advised to get the bus at the Kempinski Hotel in Maximilian Str.at 8 a.m and that we should leave the hotel at 7.45 a.m to arrive on time. Now we know why. The bus arrived a 7.58 am and left the hotel at 8.02a.m. On these tours think and be German is my advice !

Again I return to matters to do with the reception. Discovering with the aid of yet another charming receptionists that we could visit the Nympenburg Palace by tram and that they could also sell us tickets for trams, bus or underground, Meine Frau was busy getting tickets while I was waiting by the free internet boot.

A guest arrived through the street door, sauntered past the reception towards the lifts where I was standing. Instantly I thought this guy looks just like Gerry Flannery, one my great sporting heros from Ireland and Munster Rugby. Naw ! I thought I must be wrong anyhow he is bigger. The guest pressed the lift button and glanced in my direction as I scrutinised him, lift opened and he got in.

On the plane home my wife glanced up from her newspaper and said 'did you know Gerry Flannery is in Munich attending the Bayerne Munich Football Team's doctor for his injuries' ? That missed opportunity was capped by the fact that I had taken a picture of Meine Leibe Frau at the reception immediately before he came in the door. Possibly the only negative in a wonderful visit to Bavaria and the Pratzl !

Room Tip: Perhaps one should avoid rooms overlooking the
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SirNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    604
    94
    36
    17
See reviews for
347
875
157
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We always stay here at Christmas as we have our Christmas dinner on 24 Dec at the Hofbrauhaus!!!This hotel is SO expensive for the quality of rooms offered but you are paying for the central location. Alot of the cheaper hotels with a more luxurious standard are at the dodgy end of the city near the main railway station (Hauptbahnhof). Staff are quite snooty as previously reviewed. Make sure to check out the great 'wellness' area of sauna and steamroom and the 'fruity flavour' rainforest shower. They also had a sunbed. If you get a 5th floor room then you can go from your room straight to this morroccan style sauna area as it is on the 5th floor too. We booked on the German hrs.com and got the Platzl for a little less than the usual 190 for a double overlooking the Hofbrauhaus side of the hotel. Check out the Platzl's website - you pay extra for the 'quieter' side of the hotel! Is this why the Germans are the only ones in Europe with money???!!!Irish hotels please take note!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Platzl on October 19 and 20th. The location of this hotel is wonderful. It was a short walk from the underground which made it very easy to get to from the airport. Check in was a breeze and I found the staff very friendly. Our room was comfortable and even though we were on the 1st floor (2nd FL by US standards) the room was quiet. Our sink in the bathroom was not draining, but it was fixed immediately, which we appreciated. The only real complaint was that even though it was a non-smoking room, we could smell smoke all night coming from a near by room. It would also be very nice to have tea/coffee making facility in the room. You can buy internet for 9 Euros for a 24 hour period. We understood this was for our room, but it was actually for one device in our room. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. I'll return to the Platzl if I have the chance to return to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KUA557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our family stayed at the platzl Hotel oct 2011. What a wonderful hotel. So quaint!
This hotel is in a perfect area to truly enjoy the area of Marienplatz..
The staff was so so so friendly. The hotel was implacably clean. The morning breakfasts were superb. The beds in the rooms so comfortable. As another reviewer said I really cant find anything negative to say. Make sure you take advantage of the steam and sauna room!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Munich is a typical Bavarian city which has shopping, museums, parks (beautiful English Garden) and international restaurants. (and of course lots of beer) Staying in the center can be noisy, but if you choose the Platzl Hotel, you will find a quiet oasis within the old city. Everything about the hotel is very professional and well designed for the customers.

I stayed for two days visiting friends and on business. As a single woman, I felt safe and well taken care of ,especially with the front reception staff who made me feel very welcome during my stay. They were always helpful in whatever question or concern I had.

The hotel itself is decorated in a more traditional design, but in an updated way. The rooms are quite comfortable and the bathrooms contemporary. In keeping with the German emphasis on "green", the hotel is very conscious and has made an effort to be ecologically correct. Try and get a room towards the back since there is a brewery restaurant in the front which can be quite noisy.

Breakfast is a feast and after eating the buffet, one doesn't have to eat lunch or a snack until much later in the day. Everything is fresh, beautifully displayed and constantly replaced. The room is quite comfortable even when full, and the staff very helpful.

The only problem was with the WiFi which was 9 Euros per day. I was on the second floor and it only worked in the hallway. There is a computer in the lobby which is free to guests, but I wanted to work in my room so I paid for the connection so I could use my IPad. Be sure that the Wi Fi will work in your room or else it will be a waste of money. The Wi Fi does work in the lobby, but then you can use the free computer.

Platzl Hotel is located in a wonderful part of the city surrounded by good restaurants and excellent upscale shopping. Munich is an expensive city and with the dollar exchange, it makes it even more expensive. You can have a good German style meal at many of the restaurants owned by the beer makers in the area. Some such as the Angyler (behind the hotel), serves traditional food with a contemporary take on it. Most of the restaurant portions are huge so you can usually share things. (And they say Americans eat too much)
I would definitely recommend a visit to Munchen with a stay at the Platz Hotel. It might be on the more expensive end , but you are right in the middle of the action and at the end of the day will find a tranquil and welcoming hotel to come back to.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the front part of the hotel facing the beer hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Recently traveled to Munich on holiday and stayed at Platzl Hotel. Excellent on all counts (service, room quality, food, ambience), and the location was extremely convenient. I truly can't think of a single criticism to interject. I considered several hotel options, with Platzl being at the upper end of my budget spectrum. Overall, I'd say that this hotel was good value for the price, and it will be at the top of my list for future visits to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Another business stay at this hotel in the Munich Altstadt. Hotel rooms good, take the wired Internet option, at €4/day it was good enough for Skype and reliable. My room fronted onto a street which was noisy so really couldn't have the window open, but there was a/c, so no great shakes. Not cheap, but you get whatbyounpay for.
We had one colleague drop out at short notice, the cancel fee was meant to be two days, the hotel sold his room one night so we only paid one night fee. Fair do's.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 01Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Property: Platzl Hotel
Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing