We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly, noisy, bad internet: not good”
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carmen
Ranked #219 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a few days, because the price was cheap and the location was good. Unfortunately everything else was bad. There was very bad smell from the bathroom, it was very noisy - hotel was full of bad noisy kids. It felt like being in student hostel and overpaying for a real hotel. Also the internet connection in the room was terrible. I wouldn't recommend this hotel even if the price is cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was an overall good hotel in Munich, close to Harras station. This was my first trip to Munich and I learned very quickly that hotels are expensive, however the S-Bahn/U-Bahn system is fantastic. If you're thinking of visiting Munich don't worry so much about staying as close as possible to the "Old Town" (Marienplatz) or even the main trainstation, Hoptbahnhof, just try to get close to a U/S-Bahn station and the entire city is yours! This hotel was fine for our needs though, the rooms and beds are a bit smaller than what you would be used to in America but guess what, Germany is not America...go figure, right?? The best part was probably breakfast, they have an ample amount of good food, eggs, sausage, meats, cheeses, yogurt, juice, and coffee, it really sets you up for the day!

The front desk was also very friendly and helped us out with any questions we had. I would recommend this hotel to friends and anyone who wants to explore Munich.

Room Tip: Munich hotels are expensive, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed there for one night. The service was good, but the internet was not good enough. I had a singel room, but the room was very small and it was no aircondition or any air or temperatur regulation at all, so I needed to open the window while as I was working there for a few hours, and during the night..But the personell were very friendly and service minded.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariusjuvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Munich is a city that hotels are expensive. Hotel Carmen is an acceptable price. a good location close to station Harras. has a supermarket, restaurants, mcdonalds one block. 15 minutes walk from the Oktoberfest.
The hotel has a good flow of guests and will soon need a renovation. The breakfast is excellent, as well as the internet.
I recommend

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CHEFNICOLETTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was furnished with thin mattress, thin pillow, thin comforter, thin chair. Even the walls were thin and I could clearly hear conversations coming from the hallway with the door closed. TV had not been configured and the room itself was really cramped. The temperature was low and heater was not in service. So, you could imagine it made me feel like I was in a prison cell. 1.5 stars.

Though I noticed some roughness at some points, the bed was made fresh, and the room was kept clean during the entire stay. 3.5 stars.

The services provided by the receptionists were great, especially those working graveyard shift and early morning shift. Very pleasant, concerned, professional. 4.5 stars.

Considering all these factors, I would say the room was a bit expensive. -.5 stars

Overall, I would give 3.0 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AboveTheSurface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Carmen for a few nights being on a business trip. I initially chose that based on TripAdvisor reviews: proper infrastructure, parking area, descent breakfast. But: already on the first night there it was impossible sleep, as you can hear all neighbours, who either stay in their rooms or walking on corridors. Every single whisper, every toilet visit...

So, if staying there, have some beers to sleep better!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aka79_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The great things with the hotel were: they had a great breakfast with varieties of different things to choose from! The underground was with a close walking-distance from the hotel,however,walking to the city-centre might take about an hour (5 km). The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful! The thing i would change would be that there was no airconditioning in the room, only a small ventilator. It was about 32 degrees celsius when we stayed in munich, so it caused a bit of a problem. Otherwise,great hotel!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Elinasoderberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
0.1 mi away
Rivoli Hotel
Rivoli Hotel
#200 of 389 in Munich
284 reviews
8.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
1.7 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#140 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: Hansastr. 146, 81373 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $72 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Munich
Munich Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing