We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Hofbrauhaus and town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Concorde
Ranked #107 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Close to the Hofbrauhaus and town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is located about 200 metres from the Hofbrauhaus but in a quiet location in a side street of the main road. Also only about the same distance to the subway trains and heart of town. The rooms were not overly big and Munich being a little expensive prices weren't too bad. The room was not overly small but was clean and comfortable. There was a complementary continental breakfast which wasn't bad at all. There is a complementary internet kiosk downstairs as it charged for wifi. This is a good location to base yourself in Munich without all the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Located in a quiet street just out of town so room location not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trav o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    171
    80
    13
    8
See reviews for
82
124
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hoboken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was in a fantastic location close to Mike's bikes and the Marienplatz. Overall the hotel was clean and the service was fine. We spent very little time in the hotel and were only there for 2 nights. The breakfast was great and had plenty of options for all types of eaters. If I go back for a longer stay, I might find somewhere a little nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
380 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is located in a quite street very close to Hofbrauhaus and walking distance to Marienpltaz, virtual market and other attractions and tytical and traditions restaurants as Schneider and Augustiner. No air conditioning, no wi-fi free, you have to pay. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located 3 block from Marienplatz, great location but rooms are small and no air conditioning. In the heart of Munich, close to everything, you can walk to all major Munich sights. Enjoyed the city much more than the Hotel. High price for you got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A great place just a brief stagger from the Hofbrauhaus, Schneider Weisses restaurant and many other bars in the city centre. Also perfectly placed for the undergound stations, Englischer Garten, Residenz, galleries, River Isar and cathedrals. Comfy, massive bed,excellent bathroom and an unlimited hot and cold buffet breakfast of great quality (and quantity). Overall, the best possible location - right slap bang in the centre of things yet in a quiet side street - and impressive rooms, service and breakfast. Will stay here again when we come back to Munich next spring.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night city break at the end of May. We took a train from the airport (approx 40mins) and disembarked at the Isator station, within a few minutes walk we were at the Tulip Inn Concorde. Check in was quick and efficient if a little impersonal. The rooms are fairly small (particularly the bathroom) however were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of cheeses, meats, fruits, yogurt, eggs including scambled egg, bread and pastries.
The hotel is situated in a quiet, clean, leafy street. It is a short stroll to the Hoffbrauhaus and Marienplaz therefore is ideally located for sightseeing, There are plenty of restaurants and bars close by. I would stay here again if returning to Munich for the location, cleanliness and cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The good
We purchased our 3 night stay for a reasonable price on Hotwire and were surprised when we arrived at the hidden yet convenient location. The 2 selling points were the location near Marienplatz and Isartor and the breakfast! The breakfast which was served from 6:30 until 10:30 was amazing, I exclaimed to my husband that we needed to enjoy it for the entire 4 hours. There was an array of jams, breads, juices, fruits, cheeses, olives, herring, hard boiled and scrambled eggs, ham, turkey, and salami. The bread was truly delicious and robust, I had to break my paleo diet!

The bad
At check-in, the reception staff was lukewarm and our room was located on the 5th floor facing the street which was slighty noisy at night. Upon ascending the small elevator, we entered into an even smaller room. I immediately rearranged the furniture to accommodate our 2 large suitcases and allow for some space around our 2 single adjoined beds. The bathroom was equally small with a shower and a sink that could have been smaller, the towels were substandard but adequate for our needs.

The ugly
In general, the reception staff were not friendly or helpful. There was no support for tour information other than a referral to a tourist information center with a map in German. The difficulty started the second night when we were trying to sleep around 9PM for an early wake-up call. We started hearing loud and pacing footsteps followed by booming voices that seemed to come from above us. When I called the reception staff, she informed me that there was a couple with a one year old next door to us. She was unsympathetic given that it was still early so we tried to go to sleep. Later that evening after they seemed to quiet down, we were startled by the loud cry of the baby. When we called to complain, she exclaimed that babies cry and that we should wear ear plugs. Then she stated that she was a mother as if that would resolve the matter. At one point, she insisted that we could move to another room which was only available for one night. I took matters into my own hands and politely knocked at the door of our loud and inconsiderate neighbors, they refused to answer the door. After a third call to the receptionist, she reluctantly conceded to call the couple and then called us back. Ultimately, I took an Ambien (fortunately, we had some for our overnight flights) and covered my head with an extra pillow. Apparently, the walls are very thin or we have never had a baby in the next hotel room. The next day, a male staff was somewhat apologetic and offered us another room on the second floor. We decided to deny the offer since we had to leave to get to our early tour. The final night was another round of noise beginning at 10PM until midnight with the baby running around and exclaiming “no”, then singing what sounded like “Old McDonald”. My husband fell asleep and I laid on the bed wide awake, fantasizing that I would make them take my Ambien.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at this hotel, ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrieseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#169 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Property: Hotel Concorde
Address: Herrnstr. 38, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Tulip Inn Concorde Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concorde 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concorde ist a 4 Star Boutique Hotel. It is located perfectly right in the historic Old Town of Munich. All major sights like the Viktualienmarkt, the Marienplatz, the Hofbrauhaus, the Maximilianstrasse and the Opera can be reached within a few minutes by foot. The Hotel features 72 bedrooms and suites and operates as hotel garni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich Hotel Munich
Tulip Inn Munich
Golden Tulip Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing