We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”
Review of Hotel Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Concorde
Ranked #104 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Location - excellent - 2 minute walk from the train direct from the airport and from Marienplatz.
Room - "dbuble room" means 2 single beds pushed together. Double bed does not exist. Room is tiny, very basic, but very clean. No A/C.
TV - size of a computer screen, only German channels.
INTERNET - The hotel does not have its own WIFI, but uses a HOT-SPOT of "Telkom". This means that ONLY ONE DEVICE CAN BE CONNECTED AT ONE TIME. In addition, if you use a smartphone you have to wait 15 minutes before you can sign in with your laptop. As we were 2 people, each with a smartphone and a laptop it was EXTREMELY UNSUITABLE AND INCONVENIENT that we could not each our devices simultaneously. It is not free either, so would expect full service internet as in most hotels today.
Breakfast - good.
Staff - do their job, not more.
Summary - you are paying for location, as it is overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HZW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    179
    84
    14
    8
See reviews for
88
129
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is indeed its location. It is at a few steps away from the Old Centre and you have plenty of eating choices in the area. It is very close also from the Isartor metro station from which you can reach any destination. But, I would not qualify this hotel as a 4 stars. Our first unpleasant surprise was the location of our room and I mean basement... No natural light, very cold in the first night until the heating system started to work. The bathroom supplies consisted from only a shower gel in the wall without any of the usual things you can find in a 4 stars location. Breakfast was ok, but not impresive. In the early morning we could not find all the food ready. Warm eggs came only later. Another thing to mention: we were charged 50 cents per printed page for printing the boarding passes... Usualy this service is free for guests. Otherwise it is a clean and nice location but we have seen plenty of much better 4 stars locations.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bebelutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

You will love the location of this hotel! The rooms are very clean and typically European in size. The breakfast was lovely and the choice of foods quite nice! I loved the individual teapots. There is no air conditioning, so our room was warm during July. When the window was open, you did have some noise from the street. Service was great and it was a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street during warm months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTiger296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for several nights for business. The price is great, the location pretty much the center. It did not have Internet in the room, a major handicap for business travelers, and I would recommend this hotel for short stays. The room has all you need: small desk, big and comfortable bed, shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower, etc.

The breakfast was fine but limited: buffet style. Ask for an expresso rather than the filtered coffee. The wait staff seemed overwhelmed (indeed the kitchen is small) and you may have to ask several times for something either not on the buffet or within their routine.

Everyone at the reception was responsive with a good command of English, French and Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

While not a memorable hotel, it is a good choice for location, affordability and cleanliness. The rooms are adequate, the service is fine and the breakfast is decent. It is easy to get to from the airport via the train, which drops you off at Isartor, less than than a 3-minute walk to the hotel.

If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the street. There is no air conditioning, so you must open the windows during most summer days.

Munich was delightful, an experience we will always cherish, but this hotel was simply a platform for these memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent a weekend in Munich for the opera festival and stayed here. Excellent lcation - 1o minutes to the opera (residenz), 10 minutes to the rathaus and maienplatz, 15 minutes to the deutsches museum and the art gallery - in the opposite direction - and,oh year, about 3 minutes to the hofbrau house. excellent service, very clean and good breakfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the Munich Tulip Inn Concorde for a week in March/April. This hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the MarienPlatz. It is also a 3 minute walk to the HoffbrauHaus. The rooms in the hotel were fairly small, however the entire hotel was immaculately clean and every person that worked there was amazingly helpful. Even at 11PM when we would re-enter the hotel we were always met with a smile and a "How was your day". The breakfast selection was wonderful and the buffet was always well maintained and very clearn. We took the train from the airport to MarienPlatz and then did the 5 minute walk to the hotel. The entire area around this hotel is very safe and well lit at night. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be right in the heart of Munich.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGalOakPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 382 in Munich
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#157 of 382 in Munich
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Property: Hotel Concorde
Address: Herrnstr. 38, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Tulip Inn Concorde Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concorde 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concorde ist a 4 Star Boutique Hotel. It is located perfectly right in the historic Old Town of Munich. All major sights like the Viktualienmarkt, the Marienplatz, the Hofbrauhaus, the Maximilianstrasse and the Opera can be reached within a few minutes by foot. The Hotel features 72 bedrooms and suites and operates as hotel garni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich Hotel Munich
Tulip Inn Munich
Golden Tulip Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing