We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern hotel near Munich Rail station”
Review of Marc Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marc Munchen
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is next to the Railway station. Very modern and well appointed. Rooms are little small but very nice. The bathroom is modern and of good size. Has a big rain shower. The Breakfast is very good with lots of hot and cold choices. The spread is as good as a 5 star. Overall a good 4 star hotel in Munich

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUBIRGHOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Subirghosh,

We are very happy while reading you felt so comfortable with us and you could inspire our breakfast buffet and also the room with our comfortable bathroom. Thanks a lot for your good rating ("5 Star hotel").

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
There are newer reviews for Marc Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

This modern, comfortable hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Central Munich train station (Hbf) so a 45 minute train ride from the airport almost delivers you to the front door of the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of the Marienplatz, Karlplatz and Hofbrauhaus so if you're in Munich for a quick stay and want to hit your to do list in Munich efficiently, this is your place. The hotel has an upscale, trendy feel to it, and our room on the first floor was quiet. Comfortable bed and great shower to help ease the jet lag. The staff was extremely helpful, even charging my iphone 5 and ipad mini because I had forgotten my charger. The front desk made excellent restaurant recommendations and helped me book my train ticket to Passau. I booked the room on booking.com for about €125 w/taxes per night which was an excellent price for a king size bed in a high quality hotel in such a convenient location. The breakfast was expensive but of good quality and very extensive. I just can't eat €20 worth of food for breakfast. As mentioned in other reviews, the street is kind of seedy with several youth hostels, but this hotel is head and shoulders above it's surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear "HolyBattGirl",

Thank you for describing your stay in detail and also for your time you took to write these excellent comment.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future with us.

Sincerely,
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marc for three nights and had an overall good experience. We were one adult, one older teenager.
The good:
Breakfast buffet was just marvelous!
Free still water in the lobby
Good location, close to the main train station
Nice room, linens, fabulous rainfall shower.

The bad:
Air conditioner didn't work in our room, even though we told them twice it was never fixed.
Had to sleep with windows open on a very busy street.
When we checked out they tried to charge us for minibar items we hadn't used and said that we were issued a voltage converter when we checked in (we were never issued a converter, we have several of our own) and tried to charge us for that as well. Sadly that as our last experience was a poor one, could have a better system in place to verify such things, I think.

The general:
It would be helpful to have better directions to get to the hotel "Across the street from the central train station" is a bit misleading, if you just come out of the train station and look around you will not find it. You must follow Bayerstasse to Senefeldstrasse to get to the hotel. Come out of the station by the Starbucks, turn left and walk past Burger King. The street the hotel is on has an Italian restaurant on one corner and a shoe store advertising Birkenstocks on the othe corner. The crosswalk is about half a block down from the actual street.

All in all a decent experience that could have been made better by a few small adjustments.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear " Linda",

Thank you for describing your stay in detail.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time we are also very sad that we couldn’t satisfy you in all points.

"better directions to get to the hotel" - we have a description on our homepage, a very éxactly one.
"Air conditioner didn't work in our room etc. - we had already a conversation with the staff to give detailed informations to our clients.
The normal procedure upon departure is to double check with the clients the charges figuring on the invoice. Sorry for this mistake.

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through and the March Munchen was an excellent choice for us. Good room and overall met our needs, great breakfast. Just one issue - we actually booked a double room, but got twin beds? As others have said location is great albeit in rather seedy street. We would stay here again if needing convenient hotel close to station.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleo01paw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear "cleo01paw",

It's lovely to hear that you have your stay in our hotel in such good memories.

Kind regards
The staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently stayed four nights. The breakfast was as good as any we've had at any hotel. The food choices were top of the line and the breakfast staff was very personable. The room itself was above average. It was very quiet and everything was good quality. We enjoyed the neighborhood. It is walking distance to the main tourist attractions in Munich. The people at the front desk were average - no real complaints, but nothing special. Our primary concern was the very tough parking situation. They have limited indoor and outdoor parking, but both settings are very difficult to manage with extremely tight spaces. If you don't have a car and want a great breakfast and quiet room, this may be the hotel for you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GuysChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear "GuysChi",

we were very pleased about your wonderful review. Thank you very much for that.
We know that our parking facilities have tight space but the parking is safe in our hotle and cheaper than in the public parking decks.

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Marc hotel is a very good place to stay in Munich. First of all, it's located near the central station and even the shopping area (Kaufingerstr.) is in walking distance. Second, the interior is contemporary and trendy. And third, you may have a very good breakfast.

Nevertheless there a some draw backs; as usual in most of contemporary hotels, the duvets are synthetic (which is uncomfortable when its warm) and second, the cleanliness of the bath in our room could have been better. Which is not good, given a price of some 200 € a night ....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear " manrooster",

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time we are also very sad that we couldn’t satisfy you in all points.

We had already a conversation with the housekeeping to pay attention to the cleanliness.

Sincerely,
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

1. Close to HBF station. just cross the street.
2. Excellent room design
3. best ever breakfast with five stars standard
4. friendly staff
5. Very comfortable bed
6. well equipped bathroom
7. extremely clean in all areas
8. free still water available at lobby (saved me at least 15 euros in two days)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmuenchen, Verkaufsleiter at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear " Keith T",

“The best experience for me in Europe” - thank you for this wonderful compliment!
We are very glad and share your feedback with the whole team.

Kind regards
Beate Auer and the staff of Hotel marc**** munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Munchen

Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $161 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad to see that you are interested in our boutique design hotel marc munich! After a substantial refurbishment with completion in mid-August 2012, we now offer 80 ultra-modern, superbly equipped double rooms. Discover our emotionally appealing rooms and refresh yourself under our big rain shower. Once you have visited our universally recommended breakfast buffet in our large bright breakfast room, thanks to our central location, you have easy access to all interesting places in and around Munich. Drinks and snacks (pizza , etc.) we offer at our hotel, but for dinner, we are happy to recommend according to the actual weather the most known beer garden in Munich nearby or any other recommendable restaurant around fitting the food direction of your choice. Our breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Arrive either by train (walk about 5 min.), by plane (subway around 45 minutes) or of course by car, which you can park in our small, slightly narrow underground garage for cheap or our courtyard . - ideal location in the very centre of Munich just opposite of the train station - Hotel 100 % fully air-conditioned (window can be opened) - Hotel 100 % Non smoking (no smoking rooms available) - free WLan and Lan connection in the room - the latest smart TV 's with free Sky program (german Cinema HD, Sport HD1 + HD2) - starting deluxe category with coffee/tea bar in the room - extra thick mattress topper and hygiene implications - Business PC to print the boarding pass etc. - a great nice crew and much more - We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, MyHotelShop, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Marc Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing