We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit more than good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
Ranked #233 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October, and here are some of the good and bad.

Good
1) New hotel- boutique. Mind you, it's not everyone's cup of tea.
2) Location- an easy stay 5-10 mins walk from HBF (main train station). We arrived in Munich from Salzburg at HBF, and used HBF S-Bahn. to get to the Munich airport (takes about 45mins).
3) Room- small but functional. We found there's enough room for the 2 of us and there are enough storage. There's an safe in the room.
4) There's a supermarket just around the corner.
5) We arrived before check-in time; but was able to check in, always a bonus to be able to have a quick refreshment before heading out to city to explore.
6) Room was always clean and tidy.

Bad
1) Location- as mentioned in other reviews, the street is located in red light district. However, it never felt unsafe and there was never any bother walking on the street when we returned in the evenings.
2) Air con- we chose we this hotel mainly due to the availability of air-con. However, the AC control central panel was in German. We figured out how to change it to English but we still couldn't make it work or cool the room down. It wasn't hot when we were there but just needed ventilation in the room so it wasn't stuffy. There was a window in the room which we could open for fresh air, but the street was busy and with loud music so we couldn't keep it open all night.
3) Good noise insulation- with the window closed we couldn't hear any street noise.
4) Shower- rather interesting design. As mentioned before (and you can see from my photos), one side of the shower is a pane of glass which is frosted in the middle. Even though I was travelling with my partner, it's still rather strange and felt a bit seedy/ kinky.
5) Room was quite dark at night
6) TV channels- there are plenty but non in English.
7) Wifi- it's free but there a rather ungenerous time limit.

When we first arrived at the hotel, there were two women smoking at the entrance. We subsequently found out that there two women must work/ related to the hotel, as we saw them every morning during our stay. They were never friendly or greeted us as guests at the hotel, and smoking at the small entrance created really bad impression.

Overall, we like the fact that it's a new hotel and convenient location, and while we usually prefer boutique over chain hotels, we didn't like the room design. Also, we chose the hotel due to the availability of A/C which didn't work that well so that was a let down.

So overall, it's more than good enough for us, but nothing outstanding either.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear soulighter,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay at the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City.

The hotel is located in the heart of Munich. The main station, Marienplatz etc. can be reached by foot within a few minutes. There is some adult entertainment in the area, but it is abolutely safe - there is no reason to worry.

Regarding the Air Condition: In summer and winter we use the same system to control the room temperature. In Summer it is some kind of cooling system, in winter it is a heating system. In winter you can reduce the temperature to a minimum of 22 degrees - less than this is not possible.

Our staff is actually not allowed to smoke at the main entrance area - thank you for this information.

The hotel is very new - it was opened in September 2011. The design is very modern. The Rilano 24|7 hotels’ mission: provide space for relaxed, design-oriented individuality. We are very sorry that you were not comfortable with the design of our guest rooms.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts. Not all of our hotels are as modern as the one you stayed. Our "The Rilano Hotels" located in Munich, Kleve and Hamburg, also our "Rilano Resort Steinplatte" are not as modern as our 24|7 brand.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in November. Hotel is located close to the train station. This is an advantage because it allows you to take the S1 or S8 train to the Hauptbahnhof/main train station (between 40 and 50 minutes, eur 10) and walk to the hotel. From there, it is just a few minutes walk to the central city sights.
The room is modern and clean, making smart use of space for basin, shower and toilet.
The hotel has no breakfast area, but you can buy a voucher for breakfast at the neighbours, or have a basic breakfast box delivered to your room for eur 9.
Friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Haarlem,

thank you for your positive feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City.

The location of the hotel is in fact perfect. From here the main station, Karlsplatz etc. are reachable in a few minutes walking distance.

You are right: We do not have a breakfast room. We ask our guests upon arrival if they would like to have breakfast the next morning. There are two options:
1. Breakfast is served to your room
2. There is a nice bakery next door for which we offer vouchers

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,
Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very happy with the choice of location. Plenty of food around, and a 10 minute walk to the Oktoberfest festivities. Only 5 minutes walk from Karlzplatz as well, which was handy to get to and from the airport. We didn't have to walk far to anything!
The only thing was, you could see the shower from the bed. As in, the wall between the shower and bed was glass. The middle section frosted of course. But nonetheless, if you were not staying with someone you are incredibly comfortable with, you would have to sit in the corner of the room facing the wall as to make sure you don't see something you don't want to!!
Service was great, they provided us a map to Oktoberfest and some information.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtchau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear mtchau,

thank you for your positive feedback. Great that you had a comfortable stay at the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City.

The hotel is located in the heart of Munich. It is brand new. The room concept is a very modern one which includes a shower with glass walls. Our target group are business and city travelers with a passion for the very latest in communication technology and design in all our rooms and in the lounge. Of course, you should only share the room with a person you know very well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this brand new, trendy hotel. The room was small, but we loved the modern decor, bathroom fixtures (the rain shower head was a big bonus!) and the big windows. The location is near to the train station, which is handy if you're taking side-trips or bus tours, but it was a bit of a walk to many sites. The area has a lot of strip clubs and other seedy establishments, but we mostly felt fine walking home at night. The only thing I didn't like is that there was no breakfast room. There was the option to have breakfast delivered to the room, but there was no table in the room to sit and eat at, so we opted out of this. As a result, we had to seek alternative breakfast options, which weren't plentiful in that part of the city (unless you wanted to eat at the train station or McDonalds).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear ericaaudris,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City.

The hotel is located in the heart of Munich. In this area there is some "Adult´s Entertainment", but be sure, it is absolutely save there.

I am wondering regarding the breakfast. Actually you could order your individual breakfast at the reception and have it whether in your room or in the lobby. But there is also a cooperation with a nice bakery next door. Our reception reserves a table if our guests wish to have breakfast there. I am sorry for any circumstances we may have caused. Sorry!

We would be happy to welcome you at one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts in the near future.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels&Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Cool, clean hotel right beside train station so walk able down town and next to underground however hotel is right beside a group of strip clubs.. My 8 year old asked me what a table dance was! Perfect for couples on a budget, no great for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear DeeSean,

thank you for your positive feedback. Great that you enjoyed your stay at the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City.

The hotel is brandnew - we opened it in September 2011. It is located downtown. The main station, Stachus etc. are reachable in a few minutes by foot. In the neighbourhood there are some adult´s entertainment facilities, but you do not have to worry. The area is really save.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ignore any negativity about the location of this really trendy hotel. My wife and I stayed, and walked back late in the evening without a care in the world. Yes there are some lap dancing clubs up the road but we had no hassle or worries. The location is a short walk from the main railway station so really handy. Friendly people who spoke really good English ( embarrassingly my German extends only a far as asking for a beer) .
I asked for a quiet room and got precisely that. It was really nicely furnished in a contemporary style. Very comfortable bed. Nice shower. Plenty of space. Safe for valuables.
It lacks a "proper" bar but you can buy drinks and snacks in reception and drink in the lobby area, or just take them to your room. Not sure if breakfast was any good as we had room only and ate out.
I visited friends staying in a so called 4 star hotel the opposite side of the station. Ours compared very well to their tired and dull looking hotel.
I would stay here again if returning to Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear yugs,

thank you for your very positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City is our newest hotel and the concept is outstanding and innovative: -> Stylish inventory combined with the newest in technology. Our guests appreciate it very much having the 24|7 Corner in the Lobby instead of a small minibar in all rooms. There our guests find a huge fridge with a wide range of drinks, sweets and snacks. A normal minibar never could offer so many different and exotic products.

Guests who would like to have breakfast are able to order it upon their check-in. The next day it will be delivered to the guestroom at the desired time.

The Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City is located in the heart of Munich - within a few minutes the main station and Stachus are reachable by foot. The neighbourhood accommodates some adult´s entertainment facilities. But the area is very save. There is no reason to worry about.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is my favourite hotel in Munich. The rooms are smallish, but the space is used very well. Everything is very modern and trendy, from the rain shower to the smart tv, the beds are excellent with big fluffy pillows and high quality linens. The rooms are temperature controlled and you hear zero noise from the street. Of course being just one block from the central station means there are a mix of businesses nearby, including a few table dance clubs, but it's not intrusive in any way and the area feels safe. The staff are very friendly and helpful and when you walk in its like entering a small club with trendy seating and a very-unhotel reception area complete with a smeg fridge, American treats and an espresso machine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_Obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Kat_Obrien,

thank you so much for your great feedback. We are happy that the Rilano 24|7 Hotel München City is your most favourite hotel in Munich.

It is brandnew and the hotel concept is very innovative. The TVs are actually 3D TVs - at the reception you could get the 3D glasses and a Blue Ray Player including Blue Rays to watch certain films. Our guests do not have to pay for this service. Even a Play Station could be borrowed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.5 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Hotel Munich
Rilano 24/7 Hotel Munich
#200 of 389 in Munich
386 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Rilano Hotel Munich
The Rilano Hotel Munich
#176 of 389 in Munich
160 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#139 of 389 in Munich
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#137 of 389 in Munich
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Muenchen City
Adagio Muenchen City
#71 of 389 in Munich
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City

Address: Schillerstr. 17, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $106 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern non-smoking hotel is located directly in the center of Munich, only a 5-minute walk from the Munich Central Station The 24 hour Rilano service includes both: WIFI completely free of charge in the entire hotel as well as free phone calls Germany-wide. The 53 fully air-conditioned rooms are equipped with wooden floors, 3D-flat-screen TV, laptop safe and rain shower. The bed with Xenergy mattress, specifically designed for the Rilano Group, makes you sleep perfect. The 24|7 Corner of our city hotel, which replaces the traditional mini-bar, offers a selection of small and special delicacies as well as cold and hot drinks. The nearby central station offers direct connections to the Munich Trade Fair and Munich Airport. The city center and the Oktoberfest are an eight minute walk or one underground stop away. New: Breakfast in the brand new Coffee Fellows Shop: From now on you can enjoy your breakfast in the newly opened Coffee Fellows Shop inside the hotel. Until 10:00 pm our guests can enjoy alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks and snacks at the bar of the new Coffee Fellows. From March, our guests can look forward to a small terrace with about 14 seats in front of the Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing