We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school hotel, large room, professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #117 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel must have been very fashionable - say 20 years ago. It's quite old-school but quite clean, staff is professional. We stayed in a nice spacious oft room - it felt more like an apartment (little kitchen, sofa, bathroom, bedroom, office space, balcony) - very nice but also quite old interior. The breakfast buffet was a good selection of all things breakfast-y. Location is great - easy access to public transport, too. One negative thing: I saw hair on my bed & in bathroom before using it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thanks a lot for rating our hotel. We are glad to hear, that overall you liked your stay. Sorry for our mistake concerning the cleanliness, we will talk to housekeeping to improve in this point. We did lots of renovation in the last years, it seems that you had a nonrenovated room. We hope to be finished with all rooms at the end of next year. Then the old fashioned look will be history. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

i really liked this hotel, clean and modern and great value. The rooms are a good size and the shower in the room is excellent the best out of any hotel I have stayed in. breakfast is an extra 14 euros and has a massive choice of continental style foodstuffs, bread and fruit. If you are not a big eater or have a large family it may be an expense to avoid. But the breakfast room like the rest of the hotel is bright fresh and inviting.The location is good as well, we walked into the centre and it took around 10 to 15 minutes. The staff are very smart and professional and all in all a very pleasing experience and I have no hesitation recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: From what I saw they where all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your very nice comments regarding your stay. We are very glad to hear, that you liked everything. We are pleased to pass by your compliment to our staff and would be delighted to welcome you again. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a real surprise when we arrived because we nearly walked right past thinking it looked too upmarket for us!

Whilst it wasn't the height of luxury, for the price it was very good. 5 minutes walk from an underground station with a couple of little supermarkets 2 minutes away. When we arrived we found the welcome pack very useful outlining all the services and facilities on offer (practically none of which we had use for I might add) including free ironing service, gym room, sauna. There was also a free minibar which is re-stocked every day with water and beer, and a trouser press in our room. The room itself was clean and the bathroom was very modern.

All in all very good value for money and a decent find.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thanks for rating our hotel. We think, sometimes the little things make the difference. Concerning your comment, we hit the bulls eye, which makes us really happy. See you on your next trip to Munich? Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel as a family (2 adult, 2 kids) and occupied two adjourning rooms. It's a 3 star hotel and as such, you can't expect luxury. However, there were a couple of features I liked about this hotel. For one, breakfast is available until 11am, which is great for people with jetlag, plus the breakfast is pretty good. The contents of the mini-bar (2 beers and 2 waters) are free and are refilled every day. Nice touch and doesn't really cost them much. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms look new and very clean. The gym isn't great but the wellness center (sauna and steam room, showers) was great! Looked brand new and very well kept.
Note: don't try to drive your Hummer down to the underground parking lot. Then again, don't drive your stupid Hummer anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately you did not drive a Hummer, in fact, it could be difficult to park it. We would be glad to welcome you again some other day. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for about a week in July 2014. The rooms were very clean, modern, and quiet. They opened to a small private backyard (provided you stayed in the "1. Untergeschoss"). The hotel offers various additional facilities including an exercise room, and I used the latter on a regular basis. It was extremely well equipped, very clean, and modern. The hotel is quite centrally located. The next S-Bahn station is only about five minutes away, and it's only two stops to the centrally located Marienplatz where I was headed. The breakfast seemed a little overpriced at 14 Euros, but the quality was excellent. Free internet. Excellent Service.

Room Tip: Try the "1. Untergeschoss." Judging by the name, one would suspect this to be cellar, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing the experiance of your stay with others. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed it. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have just returned home after a very good week at this hotel, although the surprise happened before we even left home, three days prior our departure we had an E Mail giving us instructions on how to get there by S Bahn from the airport with maps and rout to take if walking,this was a most welcome first, on arrival reception so helpful in every way, gave us the key to the room to see if we liked it before moving in, the room had been recently refurbished and everything was new, could not fault it, upon asking if we could have extra pillows and a fan they arrived in record time. Unable to comment on the food in the Hotel as we didn't dine there, but when asking where we might purchase fruit and yogurt we were directed just a few steps away to a small Mini market which had everything. As many previous people have said its so convenient to all transport and restaurants one could not ask for anything more. We are most certainly returning.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Spanishjohn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your friendly comment. We are really happy to hear, that you liked your stay and that you will return some other time. This is the best compliment we can get. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for four months, its located right next to city centre, just 2 stops away from Marienplatz and this hotel is very close to Train and tram stations. The staffs are very friendly and the service is very good. The room & toilet are very clean.

you can reach the reception at any time (24X7) if you need any help/information, they are very kind :-)

The disadvantage is "Poor internet connection"

Overall , " you will be satisfied for what you pay to Derag"

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony, out view is good for sitting and relax !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyofThiyagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our good position to public transport is a point, why many of our guests choose the Max Emanuel. Marc Moberz - Sales Manager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#158 of 387 in Munich
121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#48 of 387 in Munich
2,704 reviews
1.7 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
2.3 mi away
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
#130 of 387 in Munich
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $84 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing