We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was dark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #116 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room was dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was here for work. I found the room very dark, and the lighting in the bathroom was not suitable for shaving. I had to use the full length closet mirror and the hallway light to check my shaving efforts. Also the wifi was abysmally slow when it was working at all. Although the staff was very friendly, would not recommend. The shower was nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation.
Hope you enjoyed your stay at our Livinghotel although there were some little problems with the brightness in your bathroom.
We look forward to see you again.
Best regards,

Marc Moberz - Sales Manager Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    186
    65
    27
    20
See reviews for
21
104
51
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at the Derag Livinghotel in Jan 2014. I found it quaint and having a small yet warm and inviting feel. Fantastic for the price. Two to three blocks walk from S trains. Cental location and good base for my time in Munich. The room and beds are quite small but clean, comfortable and functional. The breakfast (included free with my rate) was great - buffet style, good selection, all fresh. Best part of the room was the shower - it has a 3 position shower bar, containing hand held, overhead and front spray jets. I will look to duplicate this in my home! All in all - nice little hotel, great price, great locaton and fantastic shower!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msa1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for your great recommendation.
We are quite happy you enjoyed your stay at our Livinghotel.
Many thanks for your feedback regarding our breakfast and our rebfurbished bathrooms.
Hope to see you again and please anjoy our duplication of our bathroom.

Best regards,

Marc Moberz - Sales Manager Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great hotel, stayed there as a solo traveller in November 2013: clean, modern, big room, comfy bed, no noisy neighbours, friendly staff, absolutely value for money and of course nice location with the centre in the walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaMoscowRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write some comments about your stay. We are very happy, that you felt welcome and enjoyed your stay. A recommendation is always the nicest compliment we can get. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The only reason I stayed here is because it was really cheap. The rooms have little light coming in and are in need of renovating badly. It had that old mildew smell, not a place I would recommend for that reason.
The staff was very friendly and spoke perfect English. There was free water and beer which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for rating our hotel. We agree, some renovation should be done in the hotel. Bacause of that we started with it in autumn 2011. The rooms and apartments on 4 floors are already finished, the others will come. Obviously you had a room. which was not done yet. Sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

For the price, this place exceeded my expectations. The breakfast bar is pretty robust and free with your stay. The rooms are clean, and although the bathroom was small, the shower was fabulous (different settings, sprays, etc to get really clean!). I stayed during Oktoberfest and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The beds were on the smaller, firmer side, but I didn't mind it. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Banana1728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for writing this comment. We really appreciate your nice words and would be happy to welcome you again during your next stay in Munich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were very happy with our choice. The room was big enough for two persons, with a very big and comfy bed.and a kitchenette. Bathroom was very clean and nice. Everyday we found 2 bottles of water and 2 bottles of beer in the fridge, for free! The room and bathroom were well heated, the wifi connection was kind of slow, but that wasn't a problem, as we didn't spend too much time on the internet. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, neither did we try the restaurant or the spa facilities. The location is very good, 2 stops from the city center by Sbahn, a 10 minutes trip. Overall, a very pleasant staying. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for recommending our house. A recommendation is always the best compliment we can get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice hotel with great location. 5 minutes walk to the S Bahn and Roseinheimerplatz. Many small cafes and dining options close by. The rooms were adequate in size with very comfortable beds and pillows. Our room was on the main floor, 828. There is some noise in the mornings from the apartment complex behind the hotel. The housekeeping staff did not restock used items from the coffee/tea selection or the mini bar daily, but did make the beds and change out the linens. The breakfast buffet was included in the price of our room. It was ample but extremely cramped due to volume of patrons for Oktoberfest. The wait staff were quite overwhelmed. Overall it was a great stay and we will return to this property in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcrab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#83 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#193 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#151 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Property: Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing