We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Octoberfest Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #115 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for what I can only say is probably one of the bussiest times here in Munich. It was our home for us to visit the Octoberfest. We had a very nice room. It was a split mezzanine level which resemble a small apartment. It also had a small kitchen but we didn't get to use it. The decor is a bit dated. It was a bit of a timewarp back to the 80's but it didn't bother us. The place was neat and clean. We stayed on the 6th floor. From our bedroom it ran out onto a little patio on the roof with nice views over Munich.

The staff was friendly and helpful towards us. The breakfast in the mornings were great and extensive, with a lot of variety. The location is also good with a short walk to the nearest U-bahn station. We had a really comfortable stay in our mini apartment. The rates of the hotel was also not half bad considering it was Octoberfest time.

Room Tip: Top floor have nice views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozitraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 424 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here several times during my business trips to munich. Loved the location - very close to the city center (15-20 min walking distance to Rathaus/ Marienplatz; 2-3 min walking distance to the S-Bahn).
Rooms are large - I have once had a room at the ground floor - large room, modern furniture, modern bathroom. The rest of the times I got rooms at different floors - never as good as the first one. What I didn't like - they didn't seem to make a difference between smokers rooms and non-smokers - I asked for a non-smoker and received a room where it was obvious that someone smoked. I am not sure if that aspect didn't change in the meantime.
Another negative aspect was the shower courtain - it kept sticking while showering - very unpleasant.
Positive aspects: breakfast was quite good, laundry room (for longer stays - here you could find washing machines, dryers, iron, etc.), large rooms, fridge and the kitchinette (it was ok for my needs): fitness area.
The location was also very good in my opinion - close to work and close to city center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri1909_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear cri1909_ro,

thanks a lot for your feedback and recommendation.

Due to refurbishments, most of our bathrooms do not have the shower curtain anymore. Within our standard hotel rooms, we do have non-smoking rooms. However, in the apartments we do not differentiate.

Best regards,

Marc Moberz - Sales Manager Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for stag weekend. Booked well in advance so got very good rates. Hotel is 5 mins from S-bahn station and 20 mins (ish) from Marienplatz. Rooms are good size with good bathroom/shower. The squeezed in kitchen is odd and ok for making snacks. But this isn't an apartment. It's a good clean functional hotel for a city break. Breakfast was extra and we didn't partake. There are lots of bakeries as cafes nearby, where you can spend less on breakfast. Location is quiet. Parking might be a challenge. Would stay here again for business trip or short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Steve6244,

thanks a lot for your comment and your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The kitchen is a perfect add-on for guests who are willing to prepare some food during their stay.

Best regards from sunny Munich,

Marc Moberz - Sales Manager Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Only a 2 night stay, but think this hotel is pretty awesome..My only fault for this hotel is the Wi-fi is horrific at best.. The hotel has a mini kitchen with a fridge, comfy bed, decent sized room and ability to do your own laundry at a very reasonable price. I saw another review complaining about the price of hotel laundry (priced almost exactly with other hotels), but they have a laundry room where you can do a load of laundry for 4.5 euro and they supply the detergent.. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your friendly comments, which we really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

An apartment in a hotel, not in my opinion. Shoe horning a sink n microwave into a small hotel room does not make an apartment. No air con, poor Internet connectivity, no kettle, no phone and don't even think of using their laundry service as u need fortune to afford it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank JaseBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking your time for your comments about our hotel. We want to assure you, that all our rooms have a telephone and a kettle or a microwave. In our opinion a microwave is as comfortable as a kettle to heat up some water. In our basement our guests have the opportunity to do their laundry for the price of EUR 2.50 for washing and EUR 2.00 for the dryer. The detergent is free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was with my family in Munich for Business+Personal trip for 3 months and had a good experience.
Good:
1 - Location: Its located in Rosenheimer Platz, downtown of Munchen with Isar river and Deutches Museum in close proximity, it is 3-5 min walk from Rosenheimer Platz metro station.
2 - Staff: Friendly and very helpful staff with good service.
3 - Close to Halal Restaurants: There are 3-4 halal restaurants near by, one inside the MOTORAMA (metro station) which is a turkish restaurant and other's are walk-able too.
4 - Well maintained heating system throughout the building.
5 - Well equipped gym
6 - Well maintained Sauna and Steam bath with constant temperature maintained.
Bad:
Very small restroom
Small kitchen
Some worn out furbishing
--------------
In short I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usman_Sher_Madrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks a lot for your feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel. We hope to see you again in our hotel, if you plan an upcoming business trip to Munich.

Best regards,

Marc Moberz - Sales Manager of Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Points :
~ : Excellent location, very near to city centre, well connected through metro rail
~ : Nice kitchen and bath
~ : Silent neighbourhood, will get good sleep
~ : Only German channels in TV
~ : Cleans two times a week, sometimes it wont be that good
~ : Overall room size is small compared to other hotels in Munich with same price range
~ : Breakfast is good with variety, but will surely get bored after one month
~ : Nearer to Deutsche Museum, Opera Theater and Isartor, so you can spend good time
~ : Spa and Gym are good
~ : Bar is average
~ : Most of the service staff were not that approachable. But some were really helpful

Overall its good if you are planning for a longer stay, as I did for 3 months.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have on additional couch which comes very handly.. :-)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#192 of 385 in Munich
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#152 of 385 in Munich
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#256 of 385 in Munich
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#49 of 385 in Munich
2,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#255 of 385 in Munich
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $87 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing