We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #116 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Budget hotel with a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for nearly 3 months and the stay overall was good. I found it to be value for money, with a good spread of breakfast. The location is a good plus with stores and budget restaurants around (near the S bahn station - Rosenhiemer platz)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uday_k_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback! We hope to welcome you again at Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel.

Team & Management of Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    186
    65
    27
    20
See reviews for
21
104
51
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I travel quite a bit and expect a certain standard of cleanliness when I check in to a hotel...Max Emmanuel failed. Starting with the walk to the room, there was a strOng smell of smoke in the hallways and continuing into the room despite specifically asking for a non-smoking room. The beds and room were old and dated but I can live with that. I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night, turned on the lights and to my surprise the floor was moving with little bugs. I was too tired to complain so I killed the bugs, check the rest of the room and went back to sleep. Finally in the morning for my shower, I noticed a healthy layer of mold/mildew on the shower...completely unacceptable. Location is ok and near to the main square and metro. Street parking available or about twice as much for the hotel garage. I would not recommend staying here as there are other hotels in the area for the same price point.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We regret the inconvenience you faced through being in a room which used to accommodate smokers. All our rooms will be refurbished in near future. We double-checked all rooms with a professional company, however we didn't spot any bugs or other insects in any of our rooms.

There are only a few public street parking spots in front of the hotel which can be used by our clients as well.

Team & Management of Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was here for 7 weeks in May 2012 on business purposes. It is 5 minutes walk to the train station (S-Bahn Rosenheimer Platz). The room I had was just nice for a person but the bed was much smaller than a typical single bed they used to have in the hotels. Nonetheless, if you are travelling for more than a week, there is a small kitchen in the room with a mini fridge plus pots and pans where you can enjoy your home-made cooking. Derag Hotel also provides DIY laundry service and a proper basement parking. The location was very strategic and close to most of the tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Opt for room with a kitchen if you are staying longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottertalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Sales Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback. All guests opting to book for an extended stay will have a small kitchen / kitchenette in their rooms. We would be pleased to welcome you again at Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed at Max Emanuel twice, most recently Dec. 2012. The hotel is clean and comfortable, very helpful and friendly staff. It is 2 blocks from the train station, offering convenient access to many sights in Munich. Awesome breakfast buffet, mini-fridge in room. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for a really nice comment about our hotel. We are very happy, that you had two pleasant stays and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Location was perfect. Close to many of the sites we wanted to see, lots of great places to eat. There was even a farmers market right across the street. The room we had was spacious, clean, and modern. Comfortable beds, and a full sized bathroom. Breakfast was good, a decent sized buffet with plenty of choice. The only complaint I had is that the room was a bit hot (to be fair, it was July).
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks a lot for rating our hotel. It is nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay very much. So whenever you are in Munich again, we would be delighted to welcoming you again.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Service at the reception is really terrible. I was trying to check-in but was informed that I can't because there is a late check-out in the previous tenant?!

There was a time when I requested for late check out and I was informed that I do not have the option.

Couldn't understand the double standard here..

Cleanliness of the room is really average with oily floor despite the room service had just come in.

I would seriously suggest to look for other place if you have other choices than to put up with the bad services.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are sorry to hear, that you had a bad experience in our hotel. We offer the rooms for check in at 2:00 p.m. and the check out should be done at 11:00 a.m. Whenever it is possible we offer late check out. If we are fully booked we are not able to do so. Therefor we kindly ask for your understanding. Concerning the cleanliness we do not understand, how the floor became oily? Anyhow we want to apoligize for any inconveniance.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days/2 nights in November.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and managed to get a room ready earlier than the normal check-in. The room itself was clean and tidy, with a mini-fridge with complimentary water/beer.

The location was very good, in a nice area of the city called Haidhausen. The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the Rosenheimer metro station, and was easy to find. It was very easy to get to the city centre; either (i) a metro 5 minutes, or (ii) a nice walk along a fairly straight road which took about 25 minutes. The hotel is located close to the Isar River, and is very beautiful to walk along. Also located nearby is the Volksbad swimming pool.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
You had a good time in our hotel and we would like to thank you, that you want to share this experience with others. So, see you next time when you are in Munich again.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#54 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#83 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#193 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#151 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Property: Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing