We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #115 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed Here for the weekend as we were attending a gig at the Muffatalle..We arrived earlier than the advertised check in time. To our delight we could check into our room..The room was spotless and welcoming. Beds really comfy but had to ask for extra pillows,but had no problem getting them. Everything you would need for a weekend is provided..and free Beer and water!!
Closely situated to the main train line and walking distance to everything.
We will definitely stay here again on our return to Munchen..Thank you Guys for fantastic service and always with a smile..nothing was ever too much trouble. Such a refreshing change!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are very happy to hear, that you were really satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the kindness of our staff. We are looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Managment and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a month while he was in Munich on business. This hotel was recommended since they have "serviced apartments" intended for longer stays. The positives: The hotel room was larger than the typical hotel room, but you have to book the executive level so you do pay for this space. The location was within walking distance to the city center (20 minutes) and lots of restaurants very close. The negatives: Unlike their hotel rooms, cleaning services only occur twice a week and breakfast is an extra cost. The most disappointing part of this hotel is their internet connection. They advertise wireless internet, but unfortunately at least half of the time I was not able to connect to the internet or it ran so slow it would not load. The front dest did not really have a solution. In addition, you only get one hour of internet for free and it is 2 euro an hour after that unless you pay for any entire day, week, or month. Again, the internet was very unreliable and very frustrating!! The front desk staff was not very helpful or overly nice in helping to resolve issues. You are not allowed to have an iron and ironing board in your room. You have to go down to the basement to iron anything, but in the serviced apartments you do have a small oven and flat top stove? Finally, they must have been doing some type of construction because I was awoken most weekday mornings around 8:30am with pounding and drilling. It would have been nice to have a heads up that there would be construction going on. Overall, there are a lot of hotels in Munich. I would not recommend choosing this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you very much, that you took your time for rating our hotel. We are sorry to hear, that you have not been satisfied with your stay. Concerning the internet connection we want to apologize for a bad standard, we hope to get this solved very quickly. From next year on internet will be free of charge 24/7.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great for exploring the city and Oktoberfest. It is a little tricky to get to do your research before you go. The hotel is behind the Porsche and Volkswagen dealership. The breakfast is good here. I have a bad back and I felt the beds are a little too soft. Overall I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are happy to hear, that you had a great time in our hotel and at the Oktoberfest.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel is in very good location near rosenheimer platz station. Good for long stay. No troubles.

Pros:
1. Centrally located
2. Neat and Clean
3. Has Gym
4. Have kitchen with basic amenities

Cons:

1. Cleaning only twice a week
2. Some Staff are really rude.
3. No proper cleaning items kept in the room
4. Some rooms have coffee machines and some doesnot
5. We need to ask for everything...nothing given on its own.

Whatever cons are, it is worth the money and i enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Take basement room which has garden or i heard they have a floor completely with Air conditioned whi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed comments to our hotel. We want to take the opportunity to explain a few things. The regular apartment rates include two times cleaning per week. You may get cleaned the apartment on a daily basis for an extra charge. In our executive apartments, which have a fully equipped kitchen, we do have coffeemachines. In the standard apartments we just have kitchenettes without coffeemachines, but kettles.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so for the price if the place these bonus' should be included, but after a long overnight train I was super happy to be told that I could check in at 9am with no mention of any additional cost. Add to that the replenished free minibar and quiet location and I was happy. Not so happy about 'Do not disturb' signs being removed though and then disturbed. Not nice with Oktoberfest hangover.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussieBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Nice to hear, that you like your stay in our hotel. To check in our guests at any time, whenever a clean room is available, that is what we call service. We are sorry for the removed "do not disturb"-sign. Probably somebody tried to be funny. Unfortunately things like that happen, especially during Oktoberfest.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Munich. Very close to everything, exceptional rooms / cleanliness. Free beer and water restocked everyday in your room, washing machines and gym downstairs (gym could do with a bit more equipment but at least it's there - mainly cardio equipment).

Staff very pleasant. Only drawback we found was the free wifi was limited to one hour a day per room, which is not enough when travelling - it was also limited to one device, so if you want to look up tourist sights on a laptop etc you can't then connect your phone or other devices - one hour, one device.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

We are glad to hear, that you did like your stay. And concerning the only matter, which you were a bit disappointed, namely the internet connection, we have good news. From next year on we will offer wireless lan completly free for our guests, that means 24/7.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were with a group of three other couples and stayed here for four nights. We were very happy with our experience.

Overall, European hotel rooms tend to be small. While our room was small, it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, but extremely clean as well. The breakfast was tasty, and the service was prompt for coffee and tea. The breakfast here is like most European hotels - a buffet with an assortment of meats, cheeses, fruits, etc. We liked that there was usually fresh fruit at the lobby desk, too. When we were out sight-seeing all day, it was nice to have the fruit as a snack when we returned.

The convenience to the train stop made this a good location for us. We all used it as our "home base" for day trips to the city and outside of the city.

Overall, we were happy with the service provided for the price we paid. We are planning on staying here again when we come back to Oktoberfest next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopsHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comment regarding our hotel. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and that you want to visit us again. So we are looking forward to welcoming you next year during Oktoberfest.

Management and Team from Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#192 of 385 in Munich
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#152 of 385 in Munich
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#256 of 385 in Munich
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#49 of 385 in Munich
2,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#255 of 385 in Munich
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $87 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing