We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Ranked #64 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here in November 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel is right across from the main train station, which was very handy. I had a single room which overlooked the side street. There was a little noise at night but I think that is to be expected right in the centre of the city.

The room was immaculately clean, it was a good size and had everything I needed. I decided not to have the breakfast as I thought it to be a little expensive compared to just grabbing a coffee and pastry outside. I got a pretty decent rate by booking directly with the hotel around a month in advance - something like £60 per night.

No hesitations in reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZippySara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 887 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very convenient location just across from the main train station-easy to get to anywhere in Munich; just a short walk to Marienplatz; the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast has plenty to choose from; staff is pleasant & helpful; would definitely recommend this hotel to anyonw looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in the centre of town;

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
We previously stayed in Munich in January of this year, and paid exhorbitant prices, for poor quality, which has influenced this review.
The hotel is excellent for the train station, that comes with the same old caveats about the area. For us, in terms of location, it was a real +++.
Check in was friendly and informative. We asked for a non smoking room overlooking the courtyard, due to previous reviews, and were given room 435. The foyer to the hotel is pleasant, but the corridors, lifts etc are dated and dark, and there seems to be a lot of security notices around including residents show your key to the reception on entering, beware of pickpockets etc. For this reason, I have marked it a 3 not a 4.
The room was large and clean but very dated, in terms of the furniture etc. There was no kettle but there was a fridge, with minibar. There was a bath, which was good, but the porcelain sink was badly cracked. The TV was terrible, it was like an old fashioned square portable TV on a movable stand, it was tiny and the picture quality was Rubbish. Surprisingly, the hotel offer pay TV too - although, who would pay for such a terrible picture, I don't know.
Towels were strange, 2 provided of different sizes, and quite thin.
Breakfast was very busy, and to be fair to the hotel, they provided a forecast outside the lifts, projecting which times would be busiest for breakfast. The selection was the best we had encountered, as basic hot food was included, scrambled egg, bacon and strange sausage. The hotel residents let the breakfast down, not the hotel - there was a plethora of ignorance and rudeness displayed by the guests - akin to feeding time at the zoo, in some instances. However, the hotel serving staff were excellent, and cleared plates etc quickly and patiently.
We were told by reception, there was no Wi-fi but hubby managed to actually sign in, so again, hotel marked down for this, as wi-fi, should be standard now, in our opinion.
Overall, I would return to this hotel and I would recommend, especially if location to the train station, is of importance to you.
Cost = 194 E for 2 nights

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during the Oktoberfest. It is less that a block to the Munich train station, and a 10 minute walk to the Theresienwiese. A little longer of a walk to the Old Town area, but you can hop on the S-bahn at the train station and be there in a few minutes.
The price was rather inflated due to the Oktoberfest, but compared to the other hotels, reasonable enough. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was nicer than I expected. Good breakfast at the hotel, and the location is great for anyone traveling without a car. The location does come with a bit of street noise with the window open, but not overwhelming. I'd recommend this place to anyone who prefers the standard business hotel experience (instead of a guesthouse or boutique hotel). Overall I was very satisfied staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights there in August and can highly recommend it to anybody wanting to be centrally situated to the Hauptbahnhof at a very reasonable price. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Our room and bathroom were large, with safe and minibar and faced the courtyard, so was very quiet. It is really easy to get anywhere in Munich from there, whether by foot, train or bus. The free Wifi was rather weak in our room, but OK in the lounge next to the hotel’s computer. As our flight left late at night, we were very glad to have the opportunity of storing our luggage during the day and being able to relax and change in the lounge before taking the train to the airport. The breakfast was the best, with anything you could want for a good start to a sightseeing day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frocore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had one night to kill in Munich at the end of our trip. Went to information center and found this place, they hooked us up with a 3 person room no problem for 90 Euros. The hotel is clean, a decent breakfast buffet included and it is right across the street from the main train station.

Staff was professional and parking was 13 Euro for our car. I think its rated a 3 star hotel, but it worked great for us. As soon as you step outside its packed with pedestrian traffic, there are a lot of souvenir shops all around and Oktoberfest fairgrounds are very close either a long walk or a short train ride.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed to quiet street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location is very good with value for money. single rooms are small and are without air cond.Fans are available on request. breakfast was ok. Next to crowded part of city, so some noise is always there. Overall i just find it perfect for a night break in munich

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit_199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#21 of 385 in Munich
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#55 of 385 in Munich
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#154 of 385 in Munich
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaischer Hof

Address: Bayerstr. 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $104 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Europaischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Europaeischer Hof has an outstanding Munich location, opposite the München Hauptbahnhof Central Train Station and a five-minute walk from the entrance to the Munich Old Town at Karlsplatz/Stachus. This family-run hotel offers non-smoking accommodation with free highspeed Wi-Fi and the option of underground parking for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europaischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaischer Hof Munich
Europaischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing