We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a low cost city break in Munich”
Review of Germania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Germania Hotel
Ranked #151 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have marked this on what it has set up to do - which is to offer a clean comfortable hotel for those looking for a good value break in Munich - and it does this very well indeed. We stayed as part of an excellent three night easyJet package and would not hesitate recommending it to other budget conscious travellers. The location is ideal being 3 minutes walk from the station with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and it is only a 10 to 15 minutes stroll to the Marienplatz. The temperature never got above zero during our visit but our room was cozily warm throughout, with the only negative being the fuzzy picture on the TV, but that wasn't really a problem, as were out most of the time enjoying what Munich had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 690 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at 'Hotel Germania' in July 2012 for 3 nights. The hotel is located near to the main train station of Munich and is just a short stroll to the local shops, bars etc. The rooms are well appointed and are surprisingly spacious with comfortable beds and wardrobe space is very generous too. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels supplied daily too. The communal areas are well kept and are very clean. The hotel bar is clean with attentive staff. The breakfast was fairly basic - a selection of cold meats, cheeses, rolls and cereals plus coffee, tea and juices too. There is internet access available at the hotel for a small charge If you're on a tight budget there is a Lidl supermarket directly opposite the hotel - you can pick up various bits on the cheap and alcohol is very inexpensive (bottle of wine: 0.70 euro, 6 pack beers: 1.35 euro) and there is much more! There are some great bars and restaurants within the vicinity serving a fantastic choice of drinks and food. Take a trip on the local sightseeing tour - there are various routes with one of the most popular being a stop at Nymphenburg Palace. What a stunning place! I would also highly recommend a trip to 'Englischer Garten' - its a beautiful park with great facilities - the perfect alternative to a busy day of sightseeing! Overall it's a lovely hotel and for the price we paid I feel we got a fantastic deal! I would definetly return to Munich and this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Came for a two night break and you can safely say I will never return. The hotel staff are unfriendly and unprofessional and the girl who worked behind the bar was miserable and rude, they could all do with some customer care training. Hotel is positioned well yet was old and run down. There are many hotels near to this which look much better

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a grand hotel just a short walk from the train station and the pedestrian mall. My room was small but comfortable. Only drawback was that I arrived on a hot summer day, and the hotel is not airconditioned. My only option was to sleep with the window open and endure the street noise or try to sleep in a sauna. An easy resolution would be for the hotel to proved simple table fans on request. The English-speaking staff was warm and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was an absolute feast to behold and enjoy.

Room Tip: seek a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincoln1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from Munich, this is a great hotel for a short break. Its 2 mins walk from the main station, theres plenty of shops etc nearby and restaurants, dont be put of by the casinos etc, theres a maccys and burger king 1 min away as well. Its about a ten minute walk to the main square, you pass some cool places on the walk, especially the beer houses. The hotel itself is good, reception nice and lift to all foors. There is a hotel bar but we didnt use it, looking at the prices though it certainly wasnt expensive. The room was just what you needed, clean and simple for the weekend, it had a tv and the bathroom was clean, the shower was a bit hot/cold if im being picky! Breakfast is coffee, juices, scrambled eggs, sausgage, fruit, pastries, rolls and cold meats cheeses, brilliant to start your day with, anyone on here saying its bad food is lying. We had a late flight so after checking out left our luggage in the locked luggage room, ideal, then it was 2 mins back to the station for the train to the airport, simples.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirtyrixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just got back today from visiting Munich, This hotel is located about 2/3 minutes from Hauptbahnhof- Ths main station. and was right next to a local lidl which we stocked up on water and beer (1.70 euro for a pack of 6).

The Hotel itself was fine- easy to check in polite staff.. room tidy/clean.

Breakfast was good - Bread/Egg/ Juice/ Cold Meats/ Cheese.

About 5/10 minute walk to marienplatz.

Also have a luggage room which they allowed us to leave our bags in today until we had to depart munich- would visit again and will recommend to my friends and family if they go to munich

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
4  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed 3 nights Fri/Sat/Sun.
Reception - no problems checking in/out - very polite staff
Breakfast was fine - cold meat / fish / eggs (boiled + Scrambled) - toaster was terribly inadequate
Room was OK - a little dark - bathroom was fine

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#148 of 385 in Munich
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#182 of 385 in Munich
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#152 of 385 in Munich
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#65 of 385 in Munich
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#147 of 385 in Munich
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germania Hotel

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 28, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $74 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Germania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Germania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germania Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing