We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Germania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Germania Hotel
Ranked #158 of 381 Hotels in Munich
stafford, uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

we stayed at the hotel Germania for 3 nights over new year's eve. We had 3 rooms all of varying sizes. As previous reviews have stated the rooms are basic, with no tea or coffee making facilities although ours did have a hairdryer. Tv had few English channels but had an up to date movie channel and sky sports 1. However in Munich you will barely spend anytime in your room.
Breakfast wasn't extensive but was restocked regularly. The location does look a little sleazy but we had no issues from noise or trouble. Location is great as previously stated.
This is a great budget hotel with lovely staff and a central location. If you get a good deal its well worth it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    237
    227
    58
    49
See reviews for
119
208
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 for a long weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location is central, not far from the old city and the main train / tube station. The rooms are small and basic and ours smelt a little musty when we arrived but was fine after opening the window for an hour. The double bed only had two thin pillows and 2 thin single duvets, although it was cold outside the room was warm so it wasn't cold in bed. The shower was hot and powerful. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of variety and everything was kept well stocked. Overall a very nice stay at very reasonable price, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ask247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night city break with Easyjet staying at the Germania. Great location. Hotel clean and breakfast food typically German! Certainly when we stayed the food was replenished quickly and there was a good variety of cereals, meats and cheese.

Do not be put off by reports of the hotel being in the "neon light district". Any hotel in a city centre will have it's share of sex shops and clubs in the area. It was certainly not a problem.

It was noisy first thing in the morning, mainly due to building work going on somewhere up the road. I don't think the noise in the road in the evening was anything worse than anywhere within a city.

The beds in our room were very comfortable although i would agree with the comments about pillows. We tend to take our own travel pillows where ever we go - especially on cheap city breaks which overcomes this problem. Our room looked as if the carpet and curtains had been replaced recently - 3rd floor.

The staff at reception were very helpful - we asked on our first night for a restaurant close by which was typically German and they recommended a great place - so much so we went back there the next night. Great atmosphere and great food.

All in all, for just over £100 each for 2 nights b & b including flights we were very satisfied and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

If you want to stay somewhere more plush we could recommend a very nice hotel which we have stayed in when in Munich - but you will have to pay a much higher price!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Location great - 5mins walk to the central station, and 15mins walk to the old town square. Felt very safe (despite it being in a road parallel to the neon light district!). Rooms are very basic, no hairdryer (have to ask for one and put a deposit down), very noisy if you have the windows open, beds not very comfortable - especially the pillows.

Although the rooms were very clean, the shower was good, and the TV (despite being a huge CRT) had all the sports channels.

Breakfast - great when it was stocked, but they took ages to restock. Staff generally helpful. Although I always prefer being as high up as possible in a hotel, the lift was a bit of a pain in the mornings.

Overall, as a base for a city break, I would probably say it's value for money for a few nights stay.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows. Our room was on the front, very noisy road if you kept the window open (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdunmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is a three star hotel and that is what you get. The location is great, within a easy walk from train station and to main city center. Rooms are clean and basic, only one complaint,the room was to hot, the rads had no thermostat control (and this was from my girlfriend who normal is cold when the temp is less then 30 c!) Breakfast was fine, but if you went around 9am it was very busy and you had to wait for a table. We found the staff very helpful. If you need a safe just ask and they will allow you to use the one behind the counter for free.
No frills but a good honest hotel, I would recommend it for a weekend break. enjoy Munich!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lager21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The location of the hotel. The hotel is located in the "red light district" of munich.the breakfast in the morning is franfurters or pretzels basically not a great way to start of the day but there is an option of cereal in which I discovered that the milk is water more or less. thr rooms were clean and fresh towels were brought every morning which was a plus. out of the front door of the hotel there are two casino's not a great sight for tourist on an "cultural holiday", Around the corner from the hotel you will find plenty more casino's and loads of "topless bars". The people around the area are not German nationals, you will find the people very rude and ignorant... You can use the Underground to go visit the Allianz Arena which is 20mins on the train. €20 will get you an all day pass to use the buses, the underground and the trams which is very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel was in poor condition. Carpet lifting at seams,sink leaked on the floor every time you used it,the breakfest was never stocked and when they did bring out food it was gone before all people that where waiting could get food. The front desk ladies had very poor skills to deal with guests. When people would ask for something and they didn't know they would tell them they only worked there and its Munick so you need to deal with it. There is a cat walk to rooms and so you could not leave windows open as any one could walk right into your room. Pillos were so thin they had no support. Ashed for better pollows and they said they didn't have any. Had to usr stairs because the two elivators where so slow it took 10 min each time you used it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenvillejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#114 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#151 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#65 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Daniel
Hotel Daniel
#195 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germania Hotel

Property: Germania Hotel
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 28, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Germania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Germania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germania Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing