We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can be noisy if your windows face the road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Ranked #245 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It can be noisy if your windows face the road”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Try not to stay in the room where your windows face the main road when you have to leave the windows open in the summer nights. Noise from the vehicles moving in the nights can be disturbing. A mini supermarket "Tengelmann" is 5 mins walk away from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    63
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
56
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

As we were going back to Munich last december to enjoy the Christkindlmarkt we wanted to stay at this charming hotel where we had been two yrs earlier in the summer. Notice that if your flight arrives after 22.00 remember to talk to the hotel before you arrive! The reception closes then and they will put your key in a box outside. Had we forgotten to tell them the time of arrival the day before we would have had nowhere to sleep that first night. The hotel is still charming but stank of cigarette smoke in the reception. Because of the xmas celebrations there were a lot of people in the Schmausefalle all the time - the noise level unbelievable - the staff stressed out. This meant that there were nowhere to chill out apart from the rooms - a bit claustrophobic. The window in one of the rooms was broken and could not be opened. The single roms are all at the top floor and are quite charming. But this hotel is probably best visited in the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the "innerhof" so that you dont hear the church bells across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My sister and I booked this hotel on expedia. We received an email that the hotel operated a 24-hour check-in service. We arrived at 11:00 pm to find the reception closed and no one around. The website for the hotel did not say anything about reception closing at a certain time. I was very disappointed in the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room was spacious, spotless, with a bavarian flair, the bathroom was quite big and very clean.The hotel is very convenient to those who want to stay in city centre, it's only 5 min by bus to Marienplatz or by tram to Hauptbahnhof. Also there is a small bakery shop on the opposite side of the street which serves also beverages. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My daughter lives in Munich so I used a lot of different hotels and this is no bad indeed. Quite position, 15 min walk to Marienplatz, very well served with bus. Clean rooms, kind english speaking receptionists , car parking along the sidewalk at 6 euro/day. Breakfast non included but in Munich is best using a one of good the many bakery in town, and it's also cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice little hotel. Good breakfast, free coffee/tea in lobby. The famous city fair - across the street. Marienplatz- 5 stops by bus (10 min). or 25 mins. by step.
Reasonable to for the conferences at Novotel or Holiday Inn Center (both hotels- only 5 mins. by step), but Golden Leaf is at least twice cheaper (and better).
Easy to reach from the Airport (direct S-Bahn train line 8 to Rosenheimer Pl. - 25 mins. - and 10 mins by step after).
And a little bottle of vine and a big bottle of mineral water every day as a greetings!
Perhaps, the only trouble - U-bahn or S-bahn nearest stations is 10 mins. by step (Rosenheimer Pl.).
And a rooms faced to Lepolstr. are a little bit noisy from the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VadimBelousov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our week at this hotel. It is a traditional style 3 star hotel with comfortable, clean rooms. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. We did not take the breakfast buffet as we we visiting family nearby and ate with them. The restaurant attached to the hotel is traditionally bavarian with excellent local cuisine complete with a beer garden. It is run separately from the hotel so you cannot charge meals or drinks to your hotel room, which is a minor issue.

Room Tip: A side or rear room is quieter as the bells from the nearby church may disturb you in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBDDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#260 of 382 in Munich
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#156 of 382 in Munich
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#268 of 382 in Munich
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#188 of 382 in Munich
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Property: Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing