We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #44 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Messery, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the Munich OstBahnhof area - one of the nicest areas of Munich, not far from the centre but full of bars and restaurants. The rooms in this hotel are very nice, silent and spacious, only missing a mini-bar and room service, but lovely bed and bathroom, free wifi, a TV with many UK channels, very good breakfast. The gym is tiny and there's no pool which so exercising here is not much of an option. The customer service at check-in is extremely friendly. Restaurant is OK - not great and a bit slow - and the bar is also a bit charmless, but as mentioned, this is an area full of bars and restaurants - particularly recommend the Lisboa Cafe a short walk away for great portuguese food. The prices are a bit expensive even for Munich, but Overall, highly recommended, and a hotel I like to go back to.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are more quiet although the street rooms are not very noisy either
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    147
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
164
88
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be walking distance from city center: this is not the place to stay. But, it is with and walking distance of the train station and the rooms and breakfast were impeccable. If you are passing through the city this is the place to stay. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilmar0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was one of the best on our tour. The airline lost our luggage and the hotel staff were very sympathetic and helpful in trying to track down our belongings.

The room itself was also very nice, very clean with nice fittings and accessories.

This hotel also had the best breakfast on our little tour.

The hotel is quite conveniently located and it's only a short train ride to marienplatz

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here as part of planned trip to Oktoberfest. It was very reasonably priced (by Munich standards and the fact that it was during Oktoberfest).

It is located only a 8-10 minute walk from the Ostbahnhof station. The S-Bahn and U-Bahn lines were very convenient!

The lobby was warm and inviting. The staff was wonderful and truly seemed to enjoy working there.

The rooms were spacious enough with a surprisingly comfortable sleeper sofa. Bed linens were luxurious and bath linens were plush. The amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc.) were very nice.

Power outlets were plentiful and the free internet connection was relatively fast.

Room finishes were modern and furnishings were typical European --- that is to say, nicely appointed.

The room provided a good view of the main road, but the sound insulation was fantastic as I never heard any traffic noise.

The breakfast selection was awesome --- and very much appreciated after indulging in all that Oktoberfest has to offer!

If I had another occasion to stay in Munich again, I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

a good room with a practical kitchenette (a must if you have a baby), great staff, very kind manager. 3 stops to marienplatz with sbahn, and only 5 minutes and 10 euros with a taxi. excellent restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barisbezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here during Oktoberfest to be a little bit away from the crazy party areas and be able to get decent sleep. The rooms facing the courtyard were very quiet and had nice large bathrooms. The breakfast had a huge spread that was a great start to the day. The location is a short walk from the munich east train station, with very frequent trains into the main part of the city across the river. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with big clean rooms. The free breakfast is very good and they have free internet in the rooms, which I liked a lot.
There are some issues though. The hotel is a bit out of the way from pretty much everything in the city you want to see, including Oktoberfest. It's about a 10 minute walk to the subway though. The biggest thing that I didn't like though was the front dest. It is understaffed and several times I had to wait quite a while to speak with them. When I did talk to them, one of the employees was rather rude and didn't know hardly anything about how to do her job. She started making excuses about doing her job and tried to make me feel bad for trying to use a gift card to pay for the room. Her manager finally had to take over for her because she couldn't do anything. Finally, they put a hold of over $1000 on my credit card for over a week and my credit card got denied while I was on vacation because of this. Very irritating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#74 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#50 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#54 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing