We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect hotel for the business traveller !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #49 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for the business traveller !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for almost a week and no great complaints !! check in was a breeze and the hotel room had a door which opened up to a nice terrace !

The breakfast buffet is ample but mind you is very typical english !! So no hot omlettes or sunny side-up's.. rather.. there is.. but you have to pay extra for it !

The only downside to this facility is its polich of offering to 2 room makeovers/cleanups for a 5 day stay, which was rater unexpected and funny. i have stayed at many hotels before and even the most basic ones offer daily housekeeping services, but this one did not.

The location is on a quiet street but close to the city centre, so no worries on that one.

Room Tip: Take one on the first floor, which comes with an opening onto the terrace. It is beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visualiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    145
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
162
88
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This residence inn is very modern looking, not what I usually expect from a residence inn. The complimentary breakfast was great, lots to choose from and very tasty. The rooms are very clean and new and they even come with a nespresso machine that makes great coffee. The only downside, if you can call it that, is that it's a little out of the way, but close enough to a metro stop and a few very good restaurants. Great value

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in Munich for a couple of days, we originally wanted to stay at Munich Marriott, however the hotel was completely sold out. We then had to reserve our rooms in Residence Inn. Pleasantly surprised, the room we got was spacious, clean & quiet. It had a french door/window that opened to the side street. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Although not all the staff were helpful, the ones who assisted us made up for the otheres

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street & upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joCb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

There were 4 of us, all adults staying here for 1 night. We drove to the hotel and our GPS brought us to the front of the hotel with no problem. There is an underground garage that the hotel shared with the Courtyard Marriot and costed us 20 euros for an overnight visit. Our room was set up for 1 full size sofa bed and 1 queen bed which was perfect. The room came with a small full kitchen that included all the utensils, a ref, stove, microwave, sink, dish washer and even a trash disposal. The OST train station is just 2 blocks away. The front desk was kind enough to point us in the right direction. Next to the entrance of the hotel there are pamphlets and brochures for many tourist spots for Munich to check out. Wifi at the hotel was for the most part reliable. We had a weak signal in the room when we were by the windows but the signal was strong towards the entrance are of the room.

Room Tip: Be honest in how many people are going to be in the room so that they can accomodate ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wize H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Level Contributor
390 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the residence inn for just one night as a layover before our flight to the USA. There is just one issue with this hotel is it is not close to the Munich Airport. It's 35-40 minutes drive if you catch traffic right. We still enjoyed the hotel as it is a typical residence inn where the rooms are huge and apartment like, the beds are great, the breakfast was excellent, parking in a secure garage. What more could you want. They are doing some kind of construction in the street in front of the hotel which made getting in a bit of a challenge but not something to worry about. Unlike most of the residence inns that we have stayed at where the signage is difficult, this one is connected to a Marriott Courtyard and they had a huge sign. We just looked for the courtyard sign. The room was spotless. We drove to Switzerland for the afternoon and evening so I really can't comment on the location to Munich. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five night and were given an upgraded room, which was huge, sophisticated and very well suited. As a residence hotel, it had a mini kitchen (much better equiped than an average Brazilian kitchen, by the way :), and the cleaning service was only done every 3 days - which was not a problem, since everything was very clean and spotless. The view from our room was also very nice, facing a nice yard and clear skies. Breakfast was AMAZING, and the staff was very helpful and friendly, even though some didn't speak english very well. Only downsides are the fact that they neither have room service nor have an internal restaurant/cafe, which became a problem when we arrived late in the night after a long flight. Location was a bit far from main attractions (it could easily be reached by subway and general public transportation though) and didn't have restaurants or many shops close by. If you plan your stay preparing for that, given the excellent cost benefit, I'd stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alnasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I wish this could have been a 5 star review and here's why. The hotel itself is new. Definitely the best Residence Inn we've stayed - best beds we've slept in Germany (beating even a Steinberger hotel), great kitchenette, super friendly front desk staff and hard-working breakfast wait staff. This could be a model for all other Residence Inn in the US. The first night we had a room facing the main street however didn't really hear any traffic noise. (Perhaps that was drowned out by other noises.) The subsequent nights we switched to a room on the top floor facing the courtyard in the back. Our major complaint stem from other hotel guests. I have to make it clear that my remarks isn't again a racial group. I am a person of color myself. I understand a hotel should make all people feel welcomed. There were large groups of Arabs however several families were not controlling their kids. The emphasis is "unattended" kids - 3 to 6 of them racing in the hall and restaurant. They were loud stompers. They were banging cabinets. They opened/closed doors a thousand times a night (the door is SOLID and CLICKS every time you open and close.) This happened during our entire stay (our friends on a different floor experienced the same). Kids were RACING in the hallway in the middle of the night. Kids playing with their toys in the hotel like it's their home - i.e. racket outside the elevator in the hotel lobby. Kids were racing down the hall at 10:30pm. We were annoyed so were other hotel guests. A couple proceeded to confront/demand them to stop. When asked where their parents were these kids said they are not in the room/at the hotel. After a little crying and denial they went back to respective rooms. Alas this happen again at 12:15am!!! Kids racing down the hall. I went out to tell them to be quiet. We alerted the front desk. Kids went back inside but the clicking/banging/stomping continued through the night.

When we checked out we told the front desk again that this had happened. They said other hotel guests lodged the same compliant and she would write something up. Unless the hotel instill new policies - implement a quiet zone from 10pm-8am and that children must be supervised at all times - we would not stay there no matter how nice. We pay for good night rest and feel like it was infringed upon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaliforniaChopsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#56 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#73 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,268 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing