We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, large rooms but on the far side from city center sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #40 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, large rooms but on the far side from city center sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We traveled as a family to Munich in June and stopped at this hotel for a night. The rooms were very large and comfortable, the beds nice and soft (a rarity for Germany!) and the staff very helpful. The hotel is located outside of what most people would consider the "city center" and you cannot walk to some of the more known locations - we were traveling with young children so we needed to take a taxi or the train/bus was a 5 minute walk. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataSB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    145
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
162
88
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Chose this hotel because they accept my Marriott points. Stayed here in July mid way through tour of Germany. Was able to do laundry in the clean laundry facilities. Had a room that faced the courtyard which was very quiet at night and lovely to open floor to ceiling windows during day. The hotel is a short walk to train and bus terminal. Grocery, post office and apotheke a short walk. Each night we walked block around hotel to different restaurant for dinner. Great selection just a few steps away. Staff here is very nice and helpful. Saw both business people and families here. Perfect for my husband and two teenage boys to share two adjoining rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floor facing courtyard. No noise from street or trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyetraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Selected this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and their acceptance of marriott reward certificates. Arrived by train and walked 10 minutes pulling suitcases to the convenient hotel lobby. Front lobby is clean and bright. Rooms were modern and comfortable. You must keep room key in a slot near door to activate lights and air conditioning but not a problem for operation. One issue was room 1010's AC, as it did not adequately cool the room. A second issue was the security concern of the laundry room. The laundry has two washers and dryers for use at 4 euro per load but is located in the basement near the parking garage. The restaurant is shared with the Courtyard next door but seating was never a problem. The breakfast each morning was excellent. It included many meats, fruit, eggs, pastries, and cereals. The bar is also available with a happy hour from 6pm to 8pm. Arnold was an outstanding bartender and makes excellent drinks. Location to tourist area of Munich is a 2 mile walk or 10 Euro taxi ride. Hotel to airport was a 60 euro taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We usually try to stay in non-chain hotels in Europe, but chose the Residence Inn at the end of our trip to be near the metro and convenient to the airport for a morning departure. The front entrance is not well marked from the street ( we could find the Courtyard Marriott front door, but had to be directed back down the street to the Residence Inn entrance. ). Other than a very clean and comfortable room, and an extensive breakfast, the best thing about it was the super fast free wireless Internet in the room! Very attentive front desk staff, but noisy kids' play area in the back of the lobby. And an easy trip to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemini607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

stay here june 11 to june 16. Comfortable big room, this hotel only clean the room 2 times for stay of 5 nights and above. Daily cleaning can be request at 15 euros per day. Stay in 2 internconnecting room for family of 5 , the room with bathtub i find it quite a task to step in for shower as the floor clearance is quite high, other than this i have no other issue.

Room Tip: ask for room facing courtyard, more peaceful and for room without bathtub if you do not need 1 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We rented 3 rooms at the Residence Inn to begin our vacation in Germany. We had requested an early check-in because of our early flight from the US, and they were able to accommodate us. While we would have preferred staying right in the central area, we found the Residence Inn to be a good value for a family (especially since we booked our rooms with Marriott Reward points). The rooms are spacious, the shower had great water pressure, and the towels were plentiful and thicker than most other towels we found later in our travels.

Having free wi-fi was great, but the connection was spotty and frequently dropped out. At least they have two computers in the lobby, complete with a printer for use by guests. The neighborhood has several restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel, so you don't need to travel back to the central city to find dinner.

The included buffet breakfast was plentiful and good, but the selection of items didn't change much from day to day. But there were always several hot items, cereals, fruits, yogurts, and pastries to choose from.

While we enjoyed staying in European-style hotels and apartments throughout the remainder of our trip, having Marriott amenities and large, comfortable rooms was very welcome as we recovered from jet lag and fatigue of traveling.

Room Tip: Our 3 rooms on Floor 2 were facing the front of the hotel, but we did not find the street noise to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Residence Inn in early June. The check-in process was speedy and we were in our clean, comfy and ample sized room very soon after. The little kitchen area (dishwasher included!) was an interesting addition with cups, plates and cutlery all provided for. The bathroom was nice and modern too. The breakfast spread was good and decent - juices, cereals, cold meats, cheese, hot food, different types of bread etc. The hotel is just a 5-min walk from Ostbahnhof with little cafes, eateries, supermarkets, fast-food joints located within a short walk from the hotel. Just some things to take note : 1) The restaurant that serves breakfast can get very crowded at times, so save a table as soon as you see an empty one; 2) The free wi-fi is a bit iffy, connections do drop many times. But overall, the stay was good and it is a refreshing change to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre and into a modern, quiet and clean environment of Residence Inn (Munich City Ost)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter and more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrappyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#55 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#72 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing