We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to come back to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #44 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel to come back to”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Based on previous experience this hotel was a natural choise for us while going to Munich, and we were not disapointed. Easy to find when coming from the airport as well as going to the city centre being located only five minutes walk from the station. The quality of the breakfastbuffet (included) was excellent, the room was clean and well equiped. Would be our choise when visiting Munich again, but based on experience we would ask for a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knut-Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    179
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
195
109
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Residence Inn is about 8 mins walk from Munich east railway station. From this staion the center Marienplatz is only 3 stops. We stayed in early April, during check-in Sam was very helpful with local restaurent tips and other suggestions. He always made sure we are taken care off. He also offered a cholocate bunny as it was easter. It was very nice of him. The breakfast is excellent. Very good spread. Overall it was quite enjoyable stay at Munich.

Room Tip: Front main could get noisy so select a room towards back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel itself is nice, the staff is courteous and attentitive. During my stay I had a few technical quirks, first it took two calls to IT to get the TV to work and worst was the WiFi connection was pretty spotty and I never got half or full strength and had frustratitingly drops every 1-2 minutes. The amentities were good, location was great and staff was great as well, just some technical issues that need to be worked out.

Room Tip: Avoid the stree side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ammantio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and very clean and situated about 5 minutes walk from the station. The price was good and included breakfast, free WIFI and free access to the Gym and Sauna (although the restaurant food was quite expensive and of a limited menu). The staff were very friendly and helpful which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as these tend to be a bit quieter as they are do not face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Mentalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week over Xmas and really enjoyed our stay. The room for 3 of us, while not quite as large as in the U.S., was very spacious by European standards. The hotel is fairly new with modern decor like dark laminate floors & good wifi access in our room. It had a pullout double bed/sofa & queen bed, desk,& a fully stocked kitchenette. We had a view of the nearby train tracks although you could barely hear it on the 5th floor with the windows closed. There is a Juliet balcony to open and check the weather. The kitchen appliances were high tech- too high tech in some cases with unfamiliar Czech?symbols. Even the German front desk clerk & another service person couldn't figure out how to use the dishwasher & stove. After trial & error we finally got them started but instructions in German (& English) would help. The staff was friendly & helpful.The heavy wood bathroom door has to be loudly pulled in as it doesn't mount flush with the frame. My son enjoyed the deep soaking tub but that means that you have to step up quite high to get into the tub/shower. There is wonderful endless hot water & a pullout cord to hang any small wet items.The high intensity reading lamps were great in being able to focus the light on my book without disturbing others. Having a laundry downstairs is a plus but the washers & dryers are tiny & pricy-16 euros for 2 small loads. Use the hottest setting on the dryer to dry the load. There's also a small gym downstairs.
The free breakfast buffet was amazing in the variety of food available & the various cheeses, meat, sausages, eggs, yogurts, salads, cereal, fruits, and pastries etc. can easily keep you going for hours.
It's a short 5-10 minute walk to Munchen Ost Hauptbahnhof- easy to take the train for daytrips to Salzburg & Innsbruck. The S Bahn connection to center of Munich & most tourist attractions is quick. The immediate neighborhood has a more residential feel but there are many restaurants, a Tegelmann's grocery store on Weissenburger Strasse and shops on the surrounding streets. Be aware that all the shops including grocery stores are closed on Sunday although some restaurants are open.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdrianaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff : Since first time checked in, I've pleasant experience. Staff at front desk are friendly, helpful and try to make our stay enjoyable. We've stayed during easter holiday and the hotel send us chocolate bunnies for our daughters. Very nice touch !
Room : Very clean, well equipped and very functional. They also provide nespresso machine and the capsules. Our room (I think every room) has small kitchenette and it very well equipped. Nothing to complain.
Breakfast : Very nice breakfast buffet and friendly service staff. My kids enjoy the breakfast and it tells something since usually my little one are little moody in the morning.
Unfortunately, I don't have time to explore hotel's facilities since Munich has so things to do and enjoy.

Room Tip: Room with courtyard view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amasvaritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for one reason only - hotels during Oktoberfest were extremely expensive, and we could get a room here for free with our Marriott points. The whole time leading up to the trip I was hesitant about staying here as it seemed so far out. we've been to Munich before, but were traveling with 6 others from the States who had never been, so I wanted them to be in a good location. we all decided that it didn't matter, as we were coming for Oktoberfest most of all. Well, we were pleasantly surprised.

First off, the hotel is quite modern and clean, and spacious. Unfortunately for us, my partner had to do some work when we arrived and he had ample space in the room to work on the computer and not feel cramped. The bed was large and comfortable. No complaints at all.

Secondly, we were close enough to the train station to get anywhere we wanted. The city center was only a few stops away, which took no time at all. The walk to the train station was under 10 minutes and very easy to get to. It also happens to be the same line that takes you to Oktoberfest, so you don't even have to deal with changing lines. Again, no complaints.

Lastly, we realized that we were in one of the coolest neighborhoods in Munich on the 2nd day there - Haidhausen, We decided to take a different way to the station, and were walking through some pretty cool-looking streets. Found some adorable cafes and bars. We then googled Haidhausen and found out its known for its nightlife as well.

Side note - the hotel is connected to another hotel, and there are 2 check-in areas/cafe areas. If you come off the elevators from the Residence Inn and buy a soda at the cafe/kiosk, its about 3 euro, whereas if you cut through the cafeteria area and get a soda from the other side, its only 2 euro. Pretty noticable difference to just go 1 minute out of your way.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Residence Inn and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#72 of 382 in Munich
1,212 reviews
3.7 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
0.7 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#119 of 382 in Munich
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing