We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but lacks practicality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #47 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but lacks practicality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice apart hotel, all seems very new. We found the room to be on the small side, specially when you open the sofa bed. The light system was way to complicated and there wasn't a proper dinning table which if you are staying at an apart hotel I think is essential. You can use the desk but if you are a small family like us you needed to move furnitures. Couldn't be bother so we had dinner on the sofa.
Aside from that, hotel was located close to Ost station - the reception guys were great, was very clean and I like the breakfast room, which was modern and the breakfast was good too. Free Internet that worked perfect for us. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Munich.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank samundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback! We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next stay in Munich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    147
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
164
88
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The residence inn offers rooms with kitchenett , quite spacy and very clean . The hotel is very clean and seems brand new . There is a gym and a small sauna and steam room. You can wlak there from the station- Munchen Ost - . From the airport that train S8 that is a shorther trip than, S1 , once you get iun Munchen Ost station , just folloow the signs for Orleanstrasse and OrleanPlatz and that is a 5 mns walk to the hotel . It is very convenient to have the railways , but also the U bahn and the tram at short distance from the hotel if you want to use the transports . Finally the staff is very friendly and efficient and you get breakfast included with the room . I will certainly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest, we appriciate your feedback and will share your comments with our hotel team.
Greetings from Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose to stay in this Marriott (in late November, 2012) based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were very happy with our stay. Lovely hotel, excellent staff (all of the front desk staff were unfailingly polite and cheerful and went out of their way to assist us), and the restaurant and bar are great places to hang out at the beginning and end of your day. The location is great - 5 minute walk to the train station, with a convenient market in between, and a very good Italian restaurant (L'Angelo's) right around the corner from the hotel. The rooms are large and well-appointed with lots of storage space. Lounge downstairs has a foosball table (thrilling for our 10-yr old son) and lots of room for people to gather (we had a party of 7). Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room - this is on the quieter, non-street side. Also indicate if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmom1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments that we will share with our team. We would be plaesed to welcome you again at the Residence Inn Munich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice if not a little spendy. Located a short walk from a major train station. Kitchen in each room are very useful- dishwasher included! We reserved adjoining rooms which had a door that could be opened to connect them- very handy for our little group. Several grocery stores nearby. Hotel breakfast is included and offers an amazing spread of options. Perhaps the best I've seen in Europe included in the price of the room. Bathrooms and room was clean and comfortable. Good water pressure and abundant hot water in shower. There are two washer/dryers in the basement that are 4e to wash and 4e more to dry. Very expensive, but they get the job done on a long vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your high motivating feedback that we will forward to all assosiates. Happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for six nights in December 2012 for tourism. this was our base for visiting Christmas markets, Salzburg, Neuschwanstein, Dachau, and the BMW Museum. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay here again.

-Close to public transportation- Walk 5 minutes to reach Ostbahnhof (East Train Station). From here, you can catch the train to go to Marianplatz, the BMW Museum, Dachau, or Hauptbahnhof (Main Train Station). Trains are punctual and frequent (at least by my American standards).

-Breakfast buffet was included in the price (120 Euros/night). There were fresh pretzels, fresh pineapple, fresh sliced grapefruit, dried fruits, cucumbers, an assortment of breads and pastries (although only once was I able to find a chocolate croissant), sausages, hash browns etc. The dining area's them of green and brown was fresh in a retro kind of style.

-The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Chairs to a side table could efficiently be pushed all the way under the table. An ottoman hid under a coffee table, so that one could save space i needed. The lights in the hallway seemed to be automated, so that the moment you stepped in the hallway, the lights turned on. Perhaps this was a special energy saving feature.

-We lost our key one evening, and the receptionist promptly gave us a new one.

-A few hearty restaurants are around the corner from the hotel. D'Angelo's- a pizza place, was full of locals, excellent pizza, beer and wine. It is literally around the corner. There was another German restaurant on the walk to Ostbahnhof, where we had dinner one night after coming back from Neuschwanstein, and that was a nice meal as well, with Austrian wine and the daily special.

-The rooms are new, so that means facilities were quite clean.

Main issues I had with the hotel are below:

1) For stays of 5 nights or longer, a cleaning person only comes twice. I'm not sure if this is the case with all Residence Inn's. This was a small annoyance, as I was on vacation and did not want to make the bed, as trivial as it sounds. The half wall in the bathtub area didn't seal water in properly, so often after a shower, water would puddle on the floor. We would then need a new towel for the ground. Which brings me to...

2) Upon check in, the male receptionist mentioned that the cleaning person would only come twice as we were staying six nights. He also said, though, that if we needed clean towels, to please contact the reception area because that request would be accommodated. So, one night, I did ask for new towels. Another male receptionist proceeded to interrogate me and nearly screamed at me, "We don't do this every night! What night did you check in? You cannot have new towels every day!" Well, that was the first time I had requested new towels. It was a bit rude and contradicted what the original receptionist told us upon check in. Guests shouldn't be made to feel like criminals for requesting a new towel. Ultimately, new towels were delivered, which was helpful.

3) The self-serve laundry machines are expensive (about 4 euros for each wash use and 4 euros for each dryer use) and did not clean our clothes well. The clothes were still damp after coming out of the dryer, so we had to hang them up around our room to finish drying.

4) When I reserved the room online, I requested a room on a high floor with a view of the courtyard. I received the former, but not the latter. We faced a parking lot. This was fine, as we were out sightseeing every day and came back mostly to sleep. But, as a heads up, if you don't have a view of this elusive courtyard, your view will be a parking lot.

In all, a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went to Munich for the christmas markets and stayed at the Marriott because my husband often stays at the Marriott Munich airport when working.

The hotel was in a good location and we found it quite easily from Munich Ost railway station. If traveling from the airport, try to get on the S8 rather than the S1 as it is a considerably shorter journey. Trams pass the hotel and it is easy to get to the rail/underground system.

Check in was good and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the highest floor and was fabulous. The kitchen area was first class with all facilities including hob, dishwasher, fridge and coffee machine. Everything was provided in the way of cutlery and crockery, if you were intending a longer stay you would easily have been able to prepare a meal and there was also a table and two chairs to eat at. The room was warm and cosy with good quality beds and linens.

The bathroom was also clean and well equipped. Less able people may struggle to get into the bath, which had a shower over, but I believe that other rooms have a walk in shower instead.

There was a nice bar area between the Residence and Courtyard and public areas were clean and bright.

Breakfast was the only point which made me consider 4 stars instead of 5. There was a full buffet but over the weekend the breakfast room was VERY busy and the clearing of tables and replenishing of breakfast items and cutlery/plates etc was unacceptably slow. The coffee machines seemed unreliable and there was a general chaos round the buffet. That said, when we went for breakfast on Monday, after 9 it was SO much better. Obviously business people had been and gone and people staying for the weekend had left. Lower numbers meant a much improved experience so I went with the 5 star option!

All in all a lovely hotel, friendly staff and first class room. I would recommend and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with walk in shower if you have any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannysquaresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback that we will share with all associates! We would be pleased to wolcome you during your next Munich vist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and modern. Fantastic room, lovely shower room, we had a choice when we checked in between bath or shower. Breakfast was included and there was a good choice, also found the bar a good place to relax after a day out in the city.

Room Tip: Had a room at the front, could hear a little bit of traffic noise which didn't affect me but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#75 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#53 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#50 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing