We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #44 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Felt at home, spacious clean, cosy. I always stay either here or at courtyard . Don't like business centre though , it is squeezed into a tiny corner@ lobby with no privacy at all. They can upgrade the Market items also

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nami111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    151
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
166
91
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one day/night in Munich following a river cruise and were using Marriott points; this hotel was among the lower levels as far as point cost, and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised...as other reviewers have mentioned, it was terrific. Modern spotless rooms, very comfortable bed, quiet area, incredibly helpful front desk staff, and a superb & enormous breakfast included. The location was great - 2 blocks' walk to the Ostbahnhof and just 3 stops away from Marienplatz. The parking is pricey if you use their garage, but there is on-street parking for just 6Euros for 24-hours, and we had a spot directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank streganona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India , Trivandrum
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Hotel / Apart hotel. I stayed here for approximately 3 weeks and it was very good.

Following are the good points I would like to highlight

a) Location in central
b) Kitchenette facilities with all utensils
c) Excellent breakfast with lot of options
d) Accessibility
e) Good will / reputation of the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navin_Ninan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great room, great house-keeping, new and very functional room, super front-desk people (especially Hanna & Leena), amazing breakfast buffet included, free wireless internet, perfect location to major train station. Absolutely no complaints...we stayed seven nights and will definitely return. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR TOURISTS AND BUSINESS TRAVELLERS.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is very nice, in a fairly close location to the train station. Rooms are clean have the amenities that one needs complete with a kitchenette counter with a microwave, stove, and utensils. Very nice hotel, breakfast with many items including hot food. Front desk staff fumbled at checkout. We suggest that seasoned staff stand with trainees. This hotel met all of our needs while we were in the area! Very expensive at Oktoberfest time, but we found the value in the hotel's newness and location to the train station. Just a short ride to Oktoberfest one way or the city main the other way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side of the street, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend this hotel. It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from Ostbahnhof where you can get connections for trains, S-Bahn, subway, buses and trams. The hotel is only a year old and I found the room up-to-date, comfortable and quiet. I was impressed to find a Nespresso espresso/coffee maker in my room, along with a stove, microwave, refrigerator and dishwasher. The fitness center is decently equipped for a hotel (mix of cardio, dumb bells and multifunction weight machine). The staff at the front desk and on the floors were courteous, friendly and professional. My only disappointment was the WiFi service. I found it to be so unreliable in my room, that I ended up just using the data plan on my phone (luckily I had a German SIM card and didn't pay roaming fees). Hopefully, this was just my room and not every room.

Tip: Taking the public transportation around Munich is much easier than driving or finding a parking space. When you go to Ostbahnhof to buy a ticket, you may want to use one of the self-serve machines. Just be sure to press on the picture of the British flag on the bottom of the screen to change the language to English. This will make life much easier, unless you read German.

Tip 2: If you go during Oktoberfest, you may want to send postcards home to friends and family. The German Post Office (Deutsche Post) has a temporary substation at the festival. If you mail your postcards here, they will receive a special Oktoberfest postmark.

Room Tip: Select a room that is not on Orleansstrasse. This is the road in front of the hotel and it is relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedondoSurferDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for a month and felt like we were living in our own place. We were just a short 5 minute walk from the Ost Bahnhof train station where you can also get the "S" Bahn. The room was extremely clean and efficient. We had numerous dinners in the room and had every modern feature except an oven. The morning buffet had a good assortment of local and international items. The buffet is shared with the Courtyard, so at times it was very crowded. The staff was very friendly and helpful and had no problem communicating to them in English. We had a room on the street which had a view of the trains, and had no problem with any noise. The room was very quiet. Munich is a great city for bicycling and it would be great if they had bicycles. Since we were there for a month, we purchased used bikes from a local bicycle shop at a great price. The front desk gave us that advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisterporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#73 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#54 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
3.6 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing