We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Residence Inn , Marriott , Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Munich City East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Munich City East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Munich City East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #50 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
India , Trivandrum
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Residence Inn , Marriott , Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Hotel / Apart hotel. I stayed here for approximately 3 weeks and it was very good.

Following are the good points I would like to highlight

a) Location in central
b) Kitchenette facilities with all utensils
c) Excellent breakfast with lot of options
d) Accessibility
e) Good will / reputation of the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navin_Ninan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    144
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
162
87
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great room, great house-keeping, new and very functional room, super front-desk people (especially Hanna & Leena), amazing breakfast buffet included, free wireless internet, perfect location to major train station. Absolutely no complaints...we stayed seven nights and will definitely return. HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR TOURISTS AND BUSINESS TRAVELLERS.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is very nice, in a fairly close location to the train station. Rooms are clean have the amenities that one needs complete with a kitchenette counter with a microwave, stove, and utensils. Very nice hotel, breakfast with many items including hot food. Front desk staff fumbled at checkout. We suggest that seasoned staff stand with trainees. This hotel met all of our needs while we were in the area! Very expensive at Oktoberfest time, but we found the value in the hotel's newness and location to the train station. Just a short ride to Oktoberfest one way or the city main the other way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side of the street, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend this hotel. It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk from Ostbahnhof where you can get connections for trains, S-Bahn, subway, buses and trams. The hotel is only a year old and I found the room up-to-date, comfortable and quiet. I was impressed to find a Nespresso espresso/coffee maker in my room, along with a stove, microwave, refrigerator and dishwasher. The fitness center is decently equipped for a hotel (mix of cardio, dumb bells and multifunction weight machine). The staff at the front desk and on the floors were courteous, friendly and professional. My only disappointment was the WiFi service. I found it to be so unreliable in my room, that I ended up just using the data plan on my phone (luckily I had a German SIM card and didn't pay roaming fees). Hopefully, this was just my room and not every room.

Tip: Taking the public transportation around Munich is much easier than driving or finding a parking space. When you go to Ostbahnhof to buy a ticket, you may want to use one of the self-serve machines. Just be sure to press on the picture of the British flag on the bottom of the screen to change the language to English. This will make life much easier, unless you read German.

Tip 2: If you go during Oktoberfest, you may want to send postcards home to friends and family. The German Post Office (Deutsche Post) has a temporary substation at the festival. If you mail your postcards here, they will receive a special Oktoberfest postmark.

Room Tip: Select a room that is not on Orleansstrasse. This is the road in front of the hotel and it is relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedondoSurferDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for a month and felt like we were living in our own place. We were just a short 5 minute walk from the Ost Bahnhof train station where you can also get the "S" Bahn. The room was extremely clean and efficient. We had numerous dinners in the room and had every modern feature except an oven. The morning buffet had a good assortment of local and international items. The buffet is shared with the Courtyard, so at times it was very crowded. The staff was very friendly and helpful and had no problem communicating to them in English. We had a room on the street which had a view of the trains, and had no problem with any noise. The room was very quiet. Munich is a great city for bicycling and it would be great if they had bicycles. Since we were there for a month, we purchased used bikes from a local bicycle shop at a great price. The front desk gave us that advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisterporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights using my other half's Reward Points and, to be honest, weren't expecting too much.
But we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very new - only just a year old - and the studio rooms are brilliant.
Not only spacious for 2 people but also clean, well-decorated and with fridge, dishwasher, hob and all the crockery, cutlery and glassware you could possibly need.
There's a sofa, a couple of tables & chairs plus a large glass desk and ample wardrobe space plus an in-room safe.
Great and efficient free wi-fi throughout the hotel.
The hotel is just a few hundred yards from the Ostbahnhof which has excellent connections. All 7 S-Bahn lines run from here, making it amazingly simple to go anywhere from the city centre sights to the airport. Also 2 U-bahn lines so we were able to go directly to the Oktoberfest ground in about 10 minutes.
The highlight, though, was the included 'continental' breakfast. We expected something along the lines of Express by Holiday inn with a limited choice - how wrong we were!
There was a terrific buffet with fresh fruit salad, fruits, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, hot food like bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, baked beans, hash browns - I could go on but I'm sure you get the picture.
The reception and housekeeping staff were helpful and cheerful - special mention to Wilson who, despite the hotel being fully booked, was kind enough to give us a late checkout until 2pm as we had an evening flight home.
Can't comment on value for money due to using points but I would highly recommend this hotel as an ideal base for a few days in this fascinating city.

Room Tip: Room 521 is at the far corner of the top floor, facing the street. Very little noise from below and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

New hotel with quite luxurious and well equipped rooms. Close to the Ost Bahnhof railway station. Shares a lot of facilities with the Courtyard next door. It's worth getting a room on the courtyard side as the road facing rooms are slightly noisy, these are however a bit more expensive.

We stayed during Oktoberfest and the room prices were fairly horrendous.

Desk can be undermanned at times which means slow service but the personnel are all very helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quieter but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#53 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#71 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstrasse 81-83, 81667, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing