We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KING's HOTEL First Class
Ranked #24 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you arrive in Munich via the main train station, take heart! We took the Gray Line Lufthansa City Bus from the airport to the train station. We got our luggage from the bus and walked with our luggage to the hotel. Although we arrived much earlier than our check in time, our room was ready and the friendly desk clerk checked us in. I hate it when hotels won't allow you to check in early even if your room is ready - especially after a 12 hour flight! The hotel is across the street from some type of seedy club that is frequented by Muslim men, but it wasn't loud or a nuisance, it was just a bit creepy. At any rate the hotel is very nice although it doesn't look fancy from the outside. The lobby area is very nice, but small when compared to a US hotel. It has a very nice breakfast buffet dining area that is full service with thoughtful waiters and staff. This buffet is expensive, but a very nice way to start the day. No other meals are served here that I know of. There is a little grocery store a block or two away if you want to eat on the run and cheaper or bring snacks back to your room. There is a little refrigerator in the room. There are also a number of nice restaurants in the train station. The hotel has an elevator that is full size like an American elevator. The hallways where the rooms are located are also very nice and clean. The room itself is high quality and large enough. No it is not as large as a suite in the US, but it is probably larger than most European hotel rooms. It has 220 volt wiring, so bring your adapters for electronics, etc. The bathroom is large enough and has a nice shower facility. One thing that is nice is that the door to your room is a safety door meaning that it is airtight like a door on a cruise ship. That means that no light comes in and it is much less noisy. Of course, in the event of a fire, no smoke would come in. We stayed for five nights and took Gray Line Tours every day. The tour busses load from the Karstadt Dept store which is across the street from the train station, so you are just a short walk from there. It is also within walking distance of the main downtown pedestrian city center of Munich. We really had nothing but positive experiences here and were delighted with the hotel. Finally, this hotel has something that a lot of Euro hotels don't have - free wifi! When you check in or each time you go by the front desk, ask the clerk for a slip of paper that gives you code for 30 mins of free internet. They are not stingy with the codes so you can get as many of them as you need each day and return the unused ones back to the desk clerk when you check out. The wifi was not the fastest, but was adequate for checking email and Facebook.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet and superb room on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during opening weekend of Oktoberfest. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station, so getting there is very easy. Check in was a breeze and they gave us a map with directions to the Wiesen grounds and other areas we wanted to see. It was a 10 minute walk to the Augistiner outdoor beer garden, were was a fun experience. The room was very nice. We had a club room, so it was spacious and had a nice bathroom. The bed was comfortable and plenty of room for suitcases. It was about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the Oktoberfest grounds. We had a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were very disappointed in this hotel. It is a solid 3 star hotel with very small rooms, few services (unless you want to pay) and basically only good as an overnight business hotel or quick tour stopover. The rooms are not as represented on the website unless you use a wide-angle lens to capture the image. For the price, you can get a much bigger, more appropriate room at Le Meridan around the corner (also across from the train station) or on the other side of old town at The Sheraton.

The hotel is best suited to those who are simply passing through Munich. It is convenient to the old town but you have to get by strip clubs, homeless people camped in bus shelters and internet cafes to get there. The air doesn't work once the external temp is at or below 15 so you must open the windows to get any fresh air in the rooms. To have air, you get noise - either drunk patrons in the parking lot behind the hotel or traffic and club noise from the bars in front.

The hotel has been renovated as is evident in the halls and parts of the rooms. It is an ok hotel for 3/4 of the price they charge. Careful in your expectations .... If you know you're booking an average hotel for a higher price, you'll not be disappointed. If however, you think you're booking a nice hotel for a price, you'll be very surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoTraveler_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STDI, Manager at KING's HOTEL First Class, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying in our KING´s HOTEL First Class and for taking time to send a review. We feel very sorry that you did not like our hotel. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and to show correct pictures of our hotel at our webside (www.kingshotels.com). Here you can clearly see the true details of the equipment, the size etc.
Our hotel is situated near the main tration, which is of course not the most beautiful area in all cities around the world but you have a superb public transportation system to reach all major attractions in Munich. Our club rooms are facing the courtyard and are much more quiet than the standard rooms. Sometimes it is possible that there is some noise from party people in the street which you can not avoid in the city center.
The Hotel Le Meridien is a five stars Hotel, located directly at the opposite of the main train station, we are four stars, so there is cause of the different hotel category a difference in room size and service but for conclusion also a big difference in the room rates.

In spite of your disatisfaction we hope to welcome you again in one of our KING´s HOTELs and thank you again for the time you have spent to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Oktoberfest. Extremely handy for train station and open top bus tour for first time visitors. Every member of staff we met was helpful and attentive. We were slightly apprehensive due to previous reviews. However we did not encounter any problems regarding the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceebee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This motel is perfect for travellers arriving or departing from the major train station, being a short, direct 5 to 10 minute walk away.
Staff at check in were very friendly and helpful and the level of service throughout our stay was commendable and went beyond what we've experienced in previously priced hotels.
Our air conditioned room was clean and spacious. It was nicely furnished, even with crown on the bedhead(after the name of the hotel).
Free Internet was available but the system of coded 30 minute vouchers, was a bit of a nuisance. The included breakfast was very good with a wide range of hot and cold options.
A very enjoyable stay and would recommended the motel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is within 10mins walk of Hauptbahnhof underground station. Reception staff are very helpful, the hotel is modern, our bedroom was comfortable and included a good bathroom. However, as another reviewer stated, the aircon is unpredictable; it switched itself off during the first night (this was the only time it really worked for us). We stayed for four nights during Oktoberfest 2013 and it was pretty warm. Wifi vouchers would be problematic if you are travelling on business, otherwise I can't say that we were bothered by them. Wide selection of breakfast options available - staff very attentive. The neighbourhood is not too appealing at night - use public transport where possible. All in all we had a good stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Due to the fact that the aircon is dodgy, we left the windows open at night - our room was at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

very convenient but not in a high class area, on the tramline , not too noisy, near to loads of shops and service, good breakfast up to 10.30am quick checkin and checkout . wifi availablility a bit limited and patchy

Room Tip: Only problem Munich is too far from the airport - took 1.25 hrs to travel from airport to city by ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#54 of 390 in Munich
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 390 in Munich
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#41 of 390 in Munich
1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 390 in Munich
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 390 in Munich
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL First Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL First Class

Address: Dachauer Str. 13, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $105 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KING's HOTEL First Class 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KING's HOTEL First Class uniquely combines the charm of Bavarian royal tradition with the luxury of modern facilities. This privately owned and operated boutique hotel in the center of Munich offers individual service with a personal touch. Here every detail has been thoughtfully designed, created and selected with a lot of love. You'll encounter the special atmosphere of the 4-star hotel as soon as you step into the stylish lobby with historic wood paneling, ornate framed paintings, and magnificent chandeliers. The special KING's HOTELs style is everywhere, whether in the lovingly furnished rooms and suites, the cozy fireplace lounge with internet corner, or in the inviting hotel bar. All of which promises to be a unique experience for your vacation in Munich. We warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your KING's HOTEL First Class reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel 1st Class
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing