We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in sketchy area . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KING's HOTEL First Class
Ranked #35 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in sketchy area . . .”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were very disappointed in this hotel. It is a solid 3 star hotel with very small rooms, few services (unless you want to pay) and basically only good as an overnight business hotel or quick tour stopover. The rooms are not as represented on the website unless you use a wide-angle lens to capture the image. For the price, you can get a much bigger, more appropriate room at Le Meridan around the corner (also across from the train station) or on the other side of old town at The Sheraton.

The hotel is best suited to those who are simply passing through Munich. It is convenient to the old town but you have to get by strip clubs, homeless people camped in bus shelters and internet cafes to get there. The air doesn't work once the external temp is at or below 15 so you must open the windows to get any fresh air in the rooms. To have air, you get noise - either drunk patrons in the parking lot behind the hotel or traffic and club noise from the bars in front.

The hotel has been renovated as is evident in the halls and parts of the rooms. It is an ok hotel for 3/4 of the price they charge. Careful in your expectations .... If you know you're booking an average hotel for a higher price, you'll not be disappointed. If however, you think you're booking a nice hotel for a price, you'll be very surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTraveler_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STDI, Manager at KING's HOTEL First Class, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying in our KING´s HOTEL First Class and for taking time to send a review. We feel very sorry that you did not like our hotel. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and to show correct pictures of our hotel at our webside (www.kingshotels.com). Here you can clearly see the true details of the equipment, the size etc.
Our hotel is situated near the main tration, which is of course not the most beautiful area in all cities around the world but you have a superb public transportation system to reach all major attractions in Munich. Our club rooms are facing the courtyard and are much more quiet than the standard rooms. Sometimes it is possible that there is some noise from party people in the street which you can not avoid in the city center.
The Hotel Le Meridien is a five stars Hotel, located directly at the opposite of the main train station, we are four stars, so there is cause of the different hotel category a difference in room size and service but for conclusion also a big difference in the room rates.

In spite of your disatisfaction we hope to welcome you again in one of our KING´s HOTELs and thank you again for the time you have spent to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    485
    104
    24
    15
See reviews for
151
479
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Oktoberfest. Extremely handy for train station and open top bus tour for first time visitors. Every member of staff we met was helpful and attentive. We were slightly apprehensive due to previous reviews. However we did not encounter any problems regarding the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceebee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This motel is perfect for travellers arriving or departing from the major train station, being a short, direct 5 to 10 minute walk away.
Staff at check in were very friendly and helpful and the level of service throughout our stay was commendable and went beyond what we've experienced in previously priced hotels.
Our air conditioned room was clean and spacious. It was nicely furnished, even with crown on the bedhead(after the name of the hotel).
Free Internet was available but the system of coded 30 minute vouchers, was a bit of a nuisance. The included breakfast was very good with a wide range of hot and cold options.
A very enjoyable stay and would recommended the motel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is within 10mins walk of Hauptbahnhof underground station. Reception staff are very helpful, the hotel is modern, our bedroom was comfortable and included a good bathroom. However, as another reviewer stated, the aircon is unpredictable; it switched itself off during the first night (this was the only time it really worked for us). We stayed for four nights during Oktoberfest 2013 and it was pretty warm. Wifi vouchers would be problematic if you are travelling on business, otherwise I can't say that we were bothered by them. Wide selection of breakfast options available - staff very attentive. The neighbourhood is not too appealing at night - use public transport where possible. All in all we had a good stay at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Due to the fact that the aircon is dodgy, we left the windows open at night - our room was at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

very convenient but not in a high class area, on the tramline , not too noisy, near to loads of shops and service, good breakfast up to 10.30am quick checkin and checkout . wifi availablility a bit limited and patchy

Room Tip: Only problem Munich is too far from the airport - took 1.25 hrs to travel from airport to city by ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

pros:
walking distance to haupbahnhopf.
netto supermart downstairs.
quiet neighbourhood.
nespresso machine in room.
heater in bathroom.
fridge available.
daily bottle of sparkling water.

cons:
aircond is unpredictable-switches off on its own.
free wifi only limited to 30 minutes daily voucher.
breakfast costs €17 per person daily and not part of USD200 rate

recommendation:
check for nearby hotels to get better value for $€¥€

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Altough hotel was within easy walking distance of city centre, it was not a nice area of Munich, drunks & drug dealing on the streets in the same and surrounding streets.
Nowhere to leave our baggage on day of departure (they have a room but it can only take 3 or 4 bags), we had to leave ours in reception area for nearly 6 hours.
Asked once for extra milk for coffeee machine, none was ever sent up. To get a drink one evening in hotel, bar staff seemed to disapear whilst we we were there, took 10 minutes before anyone came back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#51 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#39 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL First Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL First Class

Property: KING's HOTEL First Class
Address: Dachauer Str. 13, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KING's HOTEL First Class 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KING's HOTEL First Class uniquely combines the charm of Bavarian royal tradition with the luxury of modern facilities. This privately owned and operated boutique hotel in the center of Munich offers individual service with a personal touch. Here every detail has been thoughtfully designed, created and selected with a lot of love. You'll encounter the special atmosphere of the 4-star hotel as soon as you step into the stylish lobby with historic wood paneling, ornate framed paintings, and magnificent chandeliers. The special KING's HOTELs style is everywhere, whether in the lovingly furnished rooms and suites, the cozy fireplace lounge with internet corner, or in the inviting hotel bar. All of which promises to be a unique experience for your vacation in Munich. We warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL First Class reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel 1st Class
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing