We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”
Review of Zur Post Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zur Post Hotel
Ranked #159 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Apopka, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Great free buffet breakfast (mimosas included), clean and large room with a street view. Very close the the U Bahn and a small biergarten in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joline78FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    97
    57
    13
    7
See reviews for
38
45
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I stayed in the hotel one night because it's close to the airport in the low price 50 Euro room (shower, no bathroom). The hotel is about 25 min from the airport, ~15 min on S-Bahm #8 and 10 minute walk. The room was very clean and well kept, shower in good condition. Staff was friendly, in fact I was there a bit early in the morning before official breakfast time and the maid ran around all over the place just to make sure I had breakfast and apologized about it continuously. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilya555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Few weeks ago I was in this hotel for 3 nights with my girlfriend.
We were luky because a private bus bring us to the hotel that is quite far from the city center.
However with 10 minutes of SBahn you can easily reach it from Marienplatz (Monaco main plaza).

At the reception they were very kind even if a lot of people were coming and the registration was easy and fast.
After few minutes we were in our room: not big but we found it very clean and everything we needed was at the right place.
Just a criticism: the second day, when we came back we found the room open: I'm sure it was an accident but it is important to pay attention.
Bathroom was very simple but very clean.
The whole room was as warm as needed in this cold period.

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic: you can eat everything you want, salted or sweetes, but personally I suggest you to eat fresh Bretzel
with marmelade or chocolate: absolutely delicious!

The athmosphere you can breathe is the one you can find in an old German stube: clear wood is everywhere!

When you have to check out pay attention to the fare: they wanted us to pay the full rate, while in the period we where there,
only a reduced fare had to be requested.

Despite of these two accidents the hotel was very good and not too expensive considering that it is quite near to Munich city center.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrabomberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

This is near a train station but too far out of the city. There isn't many places to eat. The whole building is full of smoke. The rooms were OK for a few days but no longer. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Smoke
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kingmack91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed at the Gasthof zur Post on Bodenseestrasse, Munich for 4 nights during the World Cup. There was a lot of gouging by many hotels in host cities in Germany during this tournament. This hotel was a prime example. We paid 199 Euros/night for 2 nights (Wednesday and Saturday which happened to be game days in Munich) and 87 Euros/night for the other two nights! The "best" part was that this hotel didn't appear to be full!! (Btw, we ended up here because no other hotels in Munich were available for under 200 Euros/night for our entire 4-night stay).
Back to the hotel, it appears to be a former Best Western property (evidenced by Best Western soaps and shampoo bottles). The room was of decent size and clean but there was no a/c and it was a problem on hot but rainy summer nights because we couldn't really leave the window open when it rains heavily. There was a fridge in the room. The included breakfast was very nice and fresh and included a good variety including hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausages, etc..
The hotel is located very close to the train station Pasing, maybe 5 min. walk. It takes about 15 min by train to Central Munich and the trains run very frequently.
If we were to come back to Munich, we'll definitely look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank chad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Pasing
Hotel Stadt Pasing
#242 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#352 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seibel's Park-Hotel
Seibel's Park-Hotel
#362 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gastehaus Forum Am Westkreuz
1.2 mi away
Hotel Blutenburg
Hotel Blutenburg
#270 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.5 mi away
ECONTEL HOTEL Muenchen
ECONTEL HOTEL Muenchen
#258 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Post Hotel

Property: Zur Post Hotel
Address: Bodenseestr. 4, 81241 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Post Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Zur Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing