We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Munich Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
Ranked #233 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Excellent Munich Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel offers the guest excellent and friendly service. The rooms are very nice and the ambience is very pleasant. The hotel is a short walk to the Gern Ubahn stop and in ten minutes you in the heart of Munich. You get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks a lot for your personnel review and your excellent reference. It’s a pleasure for us to see that everything was fine, you enjoyed your stay and you felt comfortable with our service. We would be pleased to welcome you again in Munich in the near future!

Up to that time with best wishes from Munich by the Karl Theodor-Team

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    104
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
25
75
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for the month of June traveling for work reasons. We had one of the larger, two floor rooms at the top of the hotel.

I started thinking of the KT as a halfway house for temporary ExPats. The staff was very patient with our struggles to adjust to German technology and language issues. They were consistently happy to see us and aggressively intervened on our behalf with the house's WiFi provider (alas, a problem that was never completely solved) as well as helping us set up our own WiFi USB stick/pre-paid cell phones. When our room's skylight developed a leak during our first week, we were able to move next door immediately. They also helped to carry the two free fans up to our room during the heat waves. The front desk also provided a toaster and a hot water kettle at my request. There is a washer/dryer set up in the basement. Don't be afraid to ask for help translating the instructions.

The kitchen consist of two electric burners, a mini-fridge and a sink plus a cute how-to-cook-in-this-small-space cookbook. There is a decent little grocery store attached to the property plus a weekly small farmer's market just a u-bahn stop away. The Italian restaurant on the property makes really great food and sets out the TV screens for all the big soccer games. The bed was comfortable and the showers plenty hot. The two couches in the sitting area easily converted to flat beds. Although the property's furnishing are a touch dated and shows some wear and tear, we were comfortable for our month's stay. Keeping the doors open for temperature control worked well except whenever neighbors started smoking.

The hotel is in a great location. It is on a residential street, across from the wooded grounds of a Catholic church. There are lots of trees. It is five blocks (more or less) from the U-bahn or from the Tram and we were downtown within fifteen minutes of leaving the hotel. It is within walking distance of the Schloss Nymphanberg (beautiful gardens) and the Olympic Park. A neighborhood beer garden with playground equipment for the kids is three blocks to the south providing a very pleasant living room for the neighborhood.

Plus, they sell beer in the lobby vending machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metoliusriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for your excellent personnel review and your nice plus detailed characterisation of your stay in our hotel. It's a pleasure for us that you really enjoyed your stay, everything was fine (except WiFi….) and you felt comfortable with the crew, our service and setting. Many thanks for this excellent refrence.

It would give us a great pleasure to welcome you soon again!

Up to that time with best wishes from Munich by the Karl Theodor-Team

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We went for the CL Final staying the Friday and Saturday nights, consequently we didn't spend much time in the hotel. We had one double room, one twin, which worked out at £375 per room for the weekend. Rooms were clean, and equipped with fridge, kitchenette and TV - very handy. The complimentary bottles of water and unusually beer were most welcome. Staff were helpful; there was not a business centre but reception helped me to do online check in and printed boarding cards.

Rooms were clean but too warm during a spell of hot weather - air con had three settings, 2 windows open, 1 window open, windows closed. Otherwise a very good experience.

Location was good - a few minutes from a U-Bahn station (Gern) and 5 minutes walk from Olympic Park

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShedUpperMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your very nice review and your funny description about your personnel experience with „three setting air conditioning“. We are so sorry that we have no air conditioning. The only thing we can do for our guests is to offer fans, gettable at the reception. Of course, the fan is not a substitute for air conditioning but it might be a good solution. But…no CL winner cares about the lack of air conditioning...right ;-) ?!

Kind regards

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I was allocated a top floor room which is split over 3 levels. With a small kitchenette and lounge on the ground floor with a mezzanine study area and then top floor bedroom and bathroom. Overall the hotel is very much alike the majority of German hotels a little dated in decor but comfortable and tidy. The top floor rooms also have a large rear balcony from the bedroom and front balcony from the lounge. But at -5 degrees I wasn't in a mind to spend any time outside.

The hotel also offers some form of fitness facility and both cafe restaurant for breakfast buffet €14 and additional Italian restaurant. The Italian restaurant was very convenient if you didn't want to travel the 20-30 mins into the center of Munich and didn't require any pre booking.

The breakfast was ok but after the first day I much preferred to buy the delicious chocolate croissants from the large supermarket located 30secs from the front door of the hotel.

The only downsides for the hotel is that some floors smell strongly of Indian food in the common area's due to high number of Indian couples/workers living in the rooms. This however wasn't really too noticeable once you got into your own room. It did make me want Indian food for dinner though.

The other downside was that the heating apparently is pretty temperamental. My colleagues who have been staying for many weeks at the same hotel told me its 25-40% chance of being allocated a room without working heating. But electric fan heaters were provided on request by receptionist.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful in resolving the wireless internet connectivity issues. €30 for 7 day card is pretty average and the service was ok but wouldn't allow remote connection to my corporate network and also prevented internet proxy usage preventing viewing iplayer content.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are over multiple levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks a lot for your personnel review with nice comments, detailed descriptions and constructive criticism. On the basis of such notes we are able to increase and balance deficits for even more guest satisfaction. Referring WiFi we are sorry for the certain restrictions stated by the provider. We regret also the smell of food on the floor – unfortunately sometimes it is not avoidable. But you did not tell us whether you have eaten Indian food for dinner at last? In the meantime we already bleeded the radiator and now it still works in every single room or apartment. Even so it’s a pleasure for us that you felt comfortable with our location and our helpful staff. We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice room, very good bed and shower. About 5 / 10 minutes to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MlfDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. It’s a pleasure for us that everything was fine.

We hope to welcome you again - maybe once more in september?!

Kind regards

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Wish I had more time to spend there, but very pleased with what I saw. The hotel is quiet and clean, in a lovely neighborhood with a park, supermarket, restaurants and a U-bahn station within 5 minutes. My room was not yet ready at arrival, and they gave me an impresive upgrade to a 2-storey room with a balcony and a patio — great really, for the same price. I wish breakfast was included, that's always a nice bonus for a business traveller.

Room Tip: Some of the better rooms are 2-storey with a kitchen, living room and a balcony on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oksidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSSR224, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your famous personnel review with your nice and detailed description of our hotel and your additional lovely comments. It’s great that you felt comfortable with us and our service. But why did you book only the accomodation? Why didn’t you book bed and breakfast? It’s no problem to book it afterwards. You would be delighted with our breakfast buffet. You should talk to your travel agency (just kidding).

Anyway – thanks a lot and it would give us a great pleasure to welcome you again!

Up to that time with best wishes from Munich by the Karl Theodor-Team

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
Assist. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

In August 2011, I chose to spend my first 4 nights in Munich at the Derag Hotel Karl Theodor based on the mostly positive reviews posted by previous travelers - and I was not disappointed! As mentioned before, the hotel staff is great, the hotel location is in a lovely and quiet neighborhood, very close (5 min) to the U-bahn U1 Gern stop, and the very good Tengelmann supermarket is conveniently located just next door. My room, situated on the first floor, was large, clean and quiet. Everything was great and I could not have been happier... Hence, there were no second thoughts when 2 weeks later, at the end of my trip through Germany and Austria, I decided to return to Derag Hotel Karl Theodor for 3 more nights before my flight back to the US.
After a whole day spent sightseeing, I arrived at the hotel looking forward to taking a refreshing shower only to find that there was no hot water. Almost an hour later, when I called the reception desk, I was told that they had received the same complaint from another guest but they could not do anything about it since it was Friday night!
Around 9:30 pm I received a call from the receptionist announcing me the "hot water would arrive in an hour" - it never did! - and more than 14 (fourteen) hours later the front desk staff was still unable to tell me if the problem could be solved during the day! The repair was eventually done on Saturday... During all this time I was surprised to see that the hotel management made no attempt to inform the guests about the status of the repairs, did not present a formal apology or made an effort to compensate the guests for the inconvenience caused! In case you're wondering if I was charged the full daily rate for the night without hot water, the answer is YES - and it's a shame!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumi2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMSSR224, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thanks a lot for your review. We regret that you did not feel comfortable during your second stay in our hotel regarding the lack of hot water. I received this information only on Saturday morning and from this moment I was active in the background to solve the problem finally which existed since Fridy evening – this was my first priority concerning the guest satisfaction. Aparently I have set the wrong priority and I regret very much to have not informed you personally about the status of the repairs.

Maybe you give us another chance to show you that my misconduct which you criticize was a singular case! We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Sabine Schneider-Rottig
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.7 mi away
Adagio Access Munchen City Olympiapark
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
1.4 mi away
Arthotel ANA im Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen am Olympiapark
1.1 mi away
Motel One Munchen Olympia Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark

Property: Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
Address: Paschstr. 46, 80637 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livnghotel Karl Theodor Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing