We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - 5 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #5 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience - 5 Star!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Beautiful hotel, definitely lives up to its 5 Star rating - across service, quality of room and outlook/setting.

Highly recommend to anyone staying in Munich. The staff there were super friendly, so accommodating and provided us with great tips on best ways to explore the city.

Location was a good, a lovely 10 min walk to the city centre.

Would definitely return again.

Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the garden, quiet and got beautiful light.

Had breakfast in the gardens - really enjoyable !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuenchenPalace, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Judy F.,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel München Palace and taking the time to write a complimenting review about the hotel.
We try to meet our guests expectations and deliver individual personalized services and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We very much hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards from Munich
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    149
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
130
308
38
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
404 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this was classified as 5* when it's age & furnishings are 3 or at most 4*.

It was not in a bad location, quieter than being right in the Marienplatz-which I preferred. It's only a 5-10 min cab right to get there.

Arrived in the evening after a tour of Neuschwanstein (which was worth seeing) prior to checking in, I had reserved a non smoking hypo-allergenic room. Arrived and the room reeked of smoke, like someone had just been in there lite up. It wouldn't have worked for me & they did not hesitate to move me which was good. They said it was a room upgrade however the bed was downgraded from king to queen, the bathroom was extremely tight & the shower was horrible. It ran either scalding hot water or freezing cold...nothing in the middle. The noise from outside in the courtyard was a bit much daily-even with closed windows. The TV turned on & off on it's own accord. The bed was pretty uncomfortable but that's a matter of opinion. The guests were allowed to let their children run down the hallways banging on other peoples-including my door, I had to intervene & scold the child as the hotel did not. The gym was 3 cardio machines, no weights at all...made due but it would be much nicer with weights at least. The restaurant staff was so great however the food was very overpriced & less than mediocre. Parking was 25$ night-pricier than other places I've stayed in Germany. Overall, because of the room condition and price paid, I would not return. Not a good value. Very nice staff but that wasn't enough to turn my opinion around, especially with the bathroom.



Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuenchenPalace, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Chris T.,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor, we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent stay. The hotel was extensively fully renovated 2 1/2 years ago, and the furnishings new, wooden flooring, silk fabrics etc. by our interior architects and daily maintained.

We apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the 'smoking' room, unfortunately we did not receive this request on your travelsite online booking reservation. Our front office manager did immediately offer you a non smoking room, and gave you an upgrade to a superior garden room. Our superior garden rooms are quieter due to the location but a little bit smaller then the standard rooms facing the street.

I have had our maintenance check the bathroom in regards to the the shower and TV, we wish you had mentioned this at the reception, as we would have then been able to immediately fix the unacceptable problem.

We are a small boutique hotel and offer a small gym area with 3 cardio state of the art Technogym machines with a steambath and sauna, should our guests want a full work out area and weights, there is a full fledge gym in vicinity we recommend.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Munich and the Hotel Muenchen Palace, we would very much like to prove to you that we are worth another visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me under reservierung@hotel-muenchen-palace.de

Kind regards from Munich,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location in Munich, but what really made it special was the outstanding staff. We traveled in four countries during our European vacation and this hotel was by far the friendliest and most accommodating.

We arrived into Munich at 6:30am on the overnight train from Venice. I had checked with the hotel in advance and confirmed they had a place to store our luggage until we could check in. However, upon arriving at the hotel, they informed us that our rooms were ready and let us go ahead and check in. What a nice surprise! Our kids were tired and cranky after not much sleep on the train and this allowed them to take a nap before our tours for the day started and really made the whole day a good one.

I'd like to recognize Regina Russ at the front desk specifically for her help and assistance during our stay. While we were there, I received a fraud alert from our credit card company. Regina helped me to get in touch with the company quickly and prevented any further damage to our account. She was so kind and really helped me through that situation.

One other nice perk at this hotel is the items in the mini-bar are included in the price of your room. It was so nice to be able to come back from a long day of sightseeing and enjoy a beverage in the room without having to pay high mini-bar prices for it!

I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Munich!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuenchenPalace, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Sarah G.,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay for the trip advisor community - we appreciate your praise in terms to our staff which have gladly passed on. It is our aim to ensure all our guest have a great experience here and to assist anywhere possible at the Hotel Muenchen Palace.
Good to read, that you enjoyed our complimentary minibar, wifi is also complimentary as well as usage of our bicycles.

We hope to welcome you back very soon - how a trip in WInter, the city has a different hype.

Kind regards,

Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, slightly out of town but with easy access to tram and bus routes, look no further. The Munchen Palace is not only in an ideal location, near the English Garden but has some of the friendliest staff I have come across.
The small garden at the centre of the hotel is perfect after a hot tiring day in the city. Try to request a room with a balcony overlooking the garden as they are the nicest.
Finally, I highly recommend eating here. Normally I avoid the hotel dining room but having been impressed by the breakfast, we tried dinner here, then ate here every night of our stay.
We shall be returning as we have now found our hotel of choice in Munich.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolEWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales81675, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear CarolEWyer,

Thank you very much for the kind compliments about us, the Hotel Muenchen Palace.
We lay a high emphasis on our services and products to ensure that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience in Munich.

We very much hope to welcome you back soon in Munich,

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a car, so used it in city and no need travel with other options. Breakfast had all tastes. Br room is chic and eating in the garden is very enjoyable. Cleaning in the room was daily fine/enough but there was spider web on the ceiling, detailed cleaning must. Employees so helpful, smiley.
Overall we were really pleased. The hotel is so comfortable for a family with baby/ we stayed in deluxe garden room/

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zkubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales81675, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Zkubra,

Thank you for your kind recommendation. Kindly please accept our apologies and inconvenience with the spider web in the room, due to the location of the room and the lush gardens, we did have a warm summer and thank you for your understanding that we have not been able to find a solution not to let the spider in when the doors and windows are open. Our rooms are cleaned twice a day, and we have had a challenge with the spiders without killing them as we do need them in the garden.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My wife and I traveled to Munich for our honeymoon and we were so blessed to have such a wonderful experience. The staff at Muenchen Palace helped us navigate and made our stay an unforgettable experience. We have already talked about revisiting for our 25th wedding anniversary. Its funny. you meet people in your travels who leave everlasting memories, and the kind, friendly and generous staff of Muenchen Palace did just that. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

-Eric and Heather

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muellere33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales81675, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Heather and Eric,

Thank you for choosing Munich and our HOTEL MUNICH PALACE as your Honeymoon destination - we are delighted that you had a memorable and 'unforgettable' experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back and spoiling you for your next anniversary!

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We returned to Munich after out last visit in 2009, and luckily we were booked at the Hotel Muenchen Palace. From our check in to our check out, nothing but a great experience. Great front desk, lots of information about meals{ do not eat at La Cucina], activities, and all around great atmosphere. The breakfast is excellent, the location is perfect and the staff does care about all of your needs. Whatever small things like housekeeping that really wants you out of your room so they can clean, this is a gem in Munich and a must stay

Room Tip: Try and get breakfast included during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales81675, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for visiting und we are delighted that you had 'a great experience', this is the best reward we can get, our guests writing to us that we all did a good job and you felt well taken care off. We lay a lot of emphasis on our breakfast, as this is the first meal of the day and we do not only offer local products but other breakfast dishes freshly made and a healthy start with fresh juices and fruits.
We look forward to welcome you back soon and to spoil you.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,946 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Property: Hotel Muenchen Palace
Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing