We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel pity about the Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel pity about the Internet”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel had been recommended by friends and after staying can see why. One stop from the main train station out of main tourist area in genuine local part of town. Hotel staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing in a very nice setting. Room clean practical and very comfortable.
Only issue I had was could not log on to free Internet you had to log on and then reply to email sent by provider of service but gmail rejected the email tried another email no luck, otherwise perfect hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David7Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    281
    36
    5
    1
See reviews for
147
389
60
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is near U4 and U5 U-Bahn station (Theresienwiese) so in practice it´s very close to city centre (and also Hauptbahnhof).
Staff is friendly and helpful. It was very easy to book rooms beforehand (we got 2 rooms side by side by request) and we were also able to get the rooms (two other rooms) much more earlier than we should have because we were quite early at the hotel.
The rooms were comfortable and clean...not very spacious but just enough for us. Free WLAN is naturally a great thing but it was not very powerful (for example, not working from balcony). Toilet & shower room were nice and practical (temperature was very high but because of rainy weather our clothes got dry very fast). The only bigger minus was that there was no air conditioning in rooms (luckily we did not need to witness the room temperatures in real hot München weather).
Breakfast was great; perfect selection for a day start and all were very tasty.
Grocery shop (Tengelmann) is near also (about 3-4 minutes walk) with a competent selection.
We got a little problem with hotel payment the day we were leaving.
Their systems did not accept my credit card and it came out that they were not able to send bill e.g. to my email/home address etc.-- so i should have tried to find some cash machine (no idea where was the nearest one) to get the needed amount in cash. Luckily hotel payment device accepted my wife´s credit card...

Room Tip: Rooms in inner court side can be a good and a bad thing. On the other hand own balcony is great (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabbaDeHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JabbadeHutt,

many thanks for your great comment.
Sorry for the trouble with your payment. For us it is difficult as well to understand why some credit cards are not working.
And thanks for your understanding that we can´t send any invoices in other countries.
By the way...our next cash machine is just around the corner -:)

Now we are sending you sunny greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have spent 3 wonderful days at hotel Bavaria with my family. The personnel as already mentioned more than once in other reviews was very friendly kind and helpful, Breakfast was a pleasure especially if taken on the terrace, surrounded by a tiny garden. It seemed every staff member was well versed in more than one chore and helping to run this boutique hotel as efficiently as ever. Chapeau.
They had a nice deal which, provided you stay at least 3 nights, enables you to participate in a small city tour ending with a visit to the Bavaria film studios and park which, unfamiliar with the German stars and movie scenery, we could not much appreciate, since we reside in Israel. However, the lady at the front desk told me we could have picked any other city tour since the arrangement offered other Munich city tours as well. OK. Definitely next time when we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YKeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear YKeness,

We are so happy, that you had such a nice stay in Munich.

Thanks a lot for your good comment and may be see you next time.

Warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Close to main attractions and subway. Staff was VERY nice and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. It was in a very quiet location. We were extremely happy with the value. I will definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Beth,

thanks so much and it would be nice to see you again in our Hotel!

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

First thing you notice is the warm welcome you get, all the staff are really friendly and nice, nothing is too much bother and they really do look after you during your stay which is excellent.

The hotel itself is immaculate from top to bottom, very clean and tidy and cared for - it's really noticeable how well looked after it is. My room was a single on the top floor and it was very quiet, no street noise at all. It was stylishly newly decorated complete with wooden floors, designer lighting, double-bed, large LCD TV and iPod dock clock/radio. Only slight negative was there was no tea making facilities and it had a sloping roof at the desk area and I banged my head a few times at first - ooof!

The bathroom was open plan with the main room so fine as a single but if sharing...... The toilet itself was in a room with a door though so not everything would be exposed to your partner just showering and bathing. A few hotels in Munich seem to go for 'airy' bathrooms, and its fine just a bit strange to our British prudishness.

The bar is quite cosy with low lighting and chilled tunes playing in the background, drink prices are very reasonable, being Scottish I always check the whisky prices and there was some nice stuff there cheaper than you'd pay back home in some places. Food was fine, nothing to write home about - but nothing to complain about either, perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was nice, good selection of bread and cold meats. Some warm food too but not too much so maybe not perfect for British tastes but hey this is Germany after all so try to live a little different. There's a outside seating area, so if the weather is nice you can have breakfast or a drink out there.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel is a bonus, signal was a bit weak at times in the room but it was ok. It cuts off after about two hours connected but you just need to reconnect. Just as a tip for when you're out and about, I'd recommend you get a prepaid Congstar sim card from a T-Mobile store and go on their €1 a day tariff for internet access. It's only €10 for the sim with €10 credit already loaded, so it's a bargain compared to roaming data charges.

The hotel location is quite good, in a mainly residential area a wee bit off the beaten track but fine - right next to the Oktoberfest site so if you come to Munich for that, perfect! It's just a stumble home. Maybe 30-35 min walk to Marienplatz but U-bahn or S-bahn is 10 minutes away. The transport museum is nearby and that's worth a visit so head there for an afternoon. Augustiner Keller is a 10-15 minute walk away and it has one of the best biergartens in Munich so don't miss that.

All in all it was a great hotel and I'd definitely stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear BaronOli,

many thanks for your very kind detailed comment about our Hotel.
For next time we offer you an Exclusive room with balcony to the courtyard.
Because there you don´t have the open bath-:)

Now we are sending you sunny greetings from Munich and have a good time!

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just out main town centre. An easy train ride or you can walk. I arrived very early & was able to check in which was heaven after the long flight from Australia. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJane_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jane,

many thanks for your kind comment.

Any time we do our best to realize an early check in for our guests.

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This family run hotel go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay in Munich. They offer suggestions on restaurants, sightseeing etc.. The rooms are clean and well equipped. We booked one with a balcony to give us extra room. The buffet breakfast was the best we encountered. Plenty of hot choices ( bacon,eggs), cheeses, yoghurt, breads, fruit and delicious homemade granola. Close to octoberfest grounds ( 3-5 minute walk). and beer gardens within walking distance. The Marienplatz is three stops away by subway and Dachau around twenty minutes by subway/bus. There is a supermarket that sells beer and wine a 3-5 minute walk. We booked through Expedia but would have been cheaper booking through the hotel. A 9 euro cab from the main train station. The hotel booked up an early morning cab fior 60 euros but the driver informed us once we aboard that the fee was 70 euros????. A good location and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony....gives you a breeze and extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir´s,

many thanks for your excellent comment in Tripadvisor.
It´s so nice, that you feel at home in our Hotel.

The Taxi rates are not fix. That´s why from Hotel to the Airport it is Euro 60.00-70.00 and it depends on the traffic.

Sunny greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.7 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Boutique Hotel

Property: Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Bavaria)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bavaria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing