We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable hotel with a great bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hotel with a great bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Really nice small hotel, clean and comfortable with a really nice bar area, and some nice restaurants and bars along the same road.
Not really walking distance from the centre, although only five minutes on the underground so this wasn't really a problem, especially as Munich is pretty vast anyway so you need to get the underground anyway. It's a stone throws from the park where the beer festival is if you're going for that. Overall this hotel made my stay in Munich a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulugaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    276
    35
    5
    1
See reviews for
145
382
59
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here for Oktoberfest this year. Overall, great hotel for its location. If you are going to Oktoberfest this is a must! A little further from the "downtown" area, but perfect for Oktoberfest. The breakfast was amazing, and the hotel even allowed us an early check-in since our flight arrived early. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aua2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Hotel Bavaria in Munich is a very good choice if you, like me, don´t like to stay very near the train station but want to be near of the main attractions of a place. The hotel is complete : it lacks nothing, has very good sized rooms that are well equiped, is on a quiet street, the windows are well isolated, the staff is very nice and helpful, the breakfast buffet is adequate.
And then comes the best part : it is only 100 meters or less from the Oktoberfest, 300 m from the S-Bahn and train station Hackerbrücke, and you can take a leisured walk through some very interesting streets to the Rathaus in half an hour. It´s been very handy for us. The neighbourhood is quiet, safe, and dotted with good locals for a beer or a pizza, just ask at the reception.
It´ll be our choice the next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Bavaria Sept 8th - 11th the weekend before Oktoberfest. The hotel is in a good location about 2 blocks from the U-Bahn (it is an uphill trek). This is the U-Bahn station that opens directly into the Oktoberfest grounds.

Although we weren't going to be there for Oktoberfest we foudn this to be a great location in a quiter part of town. There was a grocery store nearby and the Augustiner Brau is only four blocks away - great food!

Specifically we stayed in the 4 person apartment. It's just across the street from the hotel on the bottom floor and is very spacious. Plenty of room for four people, living room, large bathroom and it's cleaned and fresh linens/towels are supplied daily. A great deal for the size of the room! We would defintiely return. Only negative and it isn't that bad but there is a 75 euro cleaning fee to use the kitchen. We didn't use it other than the refridgerator so I didn't look into what would cause this "cleaning fee" to be charged, just something to look into.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear SBohlen,

Thanks for your good rating. The extra charge for cleaning the kitchen is only for cooking (pots, plates, glasses, cutlery etc.). To make a coffee or tea or using the fridge is certainly for free.

Hope to welcome you again

Bernd Gronbach
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend, we had chosen this hotel for its location reviews and great response to our emails. We where NOT disappointed, check in was quick we had to wait 15 min for our room to be ready what was cool because we where there at 11 am and check in does not start until 14 officially. The room was big, spotless clean great bed good bed big bathroom. Breakfast was very very very good

We received great advise where to go for lunch and very good directions.

The staff was respectful, smiling courteous and very efficient,even the auzubis where very good.
I meet the manager and he was very nice , courteous and fun to talk to

We are planning to go back to Munich next year for a weekend and we will hopefully stay here again

oh the internet was no problem for us, my wife had to work on school stuff and connected easily and it was good speed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewolf97206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Whitewolf,

Thank you for your very good rating! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Bernd Gronbach
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were slightly disappointed with the Hotel Bavaria given its high rating on Trip Advisor. The positive points have been listed by other guests and we don’t necessarily disagree with these assessments. However, there is room for improvement. The carpet outside our bathroom was damp, possibly from a previous guest flooding the floor. There didn’t appear to be enough staff supporting the breakfast buffet (only 2 staff who were difficult to identify) and we had to find our own seating. Annoyingly, we had to ask for our first coffee three times – most hotels will serve you tea/coffee immediately. The reception staff wasn’t very enthusiastic in providing directions to a local beer garden, and to be frank, the directions provided were inadequate. There was a line of seven people checking-out, with only one person manning the reception – and hence a 15 minute wait. Finally, we didn’t even receive a simple “Thank you for staying” as we collected our bill, possibly because the staff was flustered with the long line of people checking-out after us. Overall, not a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyo503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Sir,

sorry for being disappointed with our services. Unfortunately we had a problem with a broken pipe in your bathroom and we had no other triple room left to change your room (we were fully booked).
During breakfast there are sometimes a few minutes when all our guests come at the same time that coffee is not served immediately. In general we offer a high service as you can see on tripadvisor.
The same was at your check out we will work on that.

I want to say thank you for staying in our hotel. When ever you are back in Munich, we would be happy to show you the best beergardens in town!

Regards

Bernd Gronbach
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights here last week. After much research, I booked this hotel based soley on TripAdvisor reviews. I couldn't believe how expensive Munich hotels were in the summer, so budget was on our mind. We also wanted a great location.

First, this hotel is well off the beaten path- in a residential area with not much around. Unless however, you are there for Oktoberfest...in that case, this hotel is the way to go! The Oktoberfest grounds are literally a block away. However, the UBahn (subway) station is also at the end of the block, making getting to and from anywhere in the city VERY simple. The UBahn is very easy to navigate (without speaking one work of Germany) and is cheap. We used it all week. Ok, so this hotel is a train ride away from what you want to do, but very easy to use as a home base. Truthfully, after long days exploring, it was nice to come back to this quiet part of town to rest at night. So, home run with location!

Second, the hotel itself...well, it was a bit outdated, but still comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed comfortable. I think it's important to remember that this is a boutique hotel and not a chain, so it's more rundown/outdated. However, it was definately ok and I wasn't uncomfortable. There is free WiFi in the rooms (huge plus!)

Third, the breakfast....EXCELLENT and included in the price of the hotel. Home run! As everyone else mentions, the breakfast is significant...coffee, juices, croissants, fruits, eggs, meats, cheeses, muffins, etc. We sat down each morning, planned our day, and filled up on this great meal. Very happy with this!

Finally, the staff was the one main drawback. The front desk staff (other than the owner) was either sort of snotty or sort of flakey. For instance, we asked a girl at the front desk to recommend a tour for one of the most popular sights, and she gave us a tour line that we had used the day before and hated. So, we asked for another recommendation, and she told us flat out that she had none, that essentially the hotel gets spiff'd for referring clients to this tour company, and she couldn't help us unless we go with them. Really? You only know of ONE tour company in all of Munich to take us to one of the most popular sights?!
On another instant, we needed help printing out our train tickets, and the staff kept walking away, leaving us to go chase them throughout the downstairs in order to help us. This happened 4 times in ONE sitting at the computer. Annoying.

Regardless of the staff being somewhat unhelpful, we found the hotel comfortable and a great location for a home base. I would recommend this!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RideMeToTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Inhaber at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Ride Me To The Moon,

Sorry for the unprofessional / unfriendly services we gave you. I have talked to our front desk staff and they feel sorry for the bad service. It will not happen again!!

Concerning the tour to the most popular sights - we are only working with one company. We have never had any complaints about the tours, sorry you did not like it. We are now getting in contact with other tour oporaters in Munich to have a bigger choice.

Thanks for staying with us!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip

Regards

Bernd Gronbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.3 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Boutique Hotel

Property: Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Bavaria)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bavaria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing