We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great apartment available for 4 people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Bavaria Sept 8th - 11th the weekend before Oktoberfest. The hotel is in a good location about 2 blocks from the U-Bahn (it is an uphill trek). This is the U-Bahn station that opens directly into the Oktoberfest grounds.

Although we weren't going to be there for Oktoberfest we foudn this to be a great location in a quiter part of town. There was a grocery store nearby and the Augustiner Brau is only four blocks away - great food!

Specifically we stayed in the 4 person apartment. It's just across the street from the hotel on the bottom floor and is very spacious. Plenty of room for four people, living room, large bathroom and it's cleaned and fresh linens/towels are supplied daily. A great deal for the size of the room! We would defintiely return. Only negative and it isn't that bad but there is a 75 euro cleaning fee to use the kitchen. We didn't use it other than the refridgerator so I didn't look into what would cause this "cleaning fee" to be charged, just something to look into.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear SBohlen,

Thanks for your good rating. The extra charge for cleaning the kitchen is only for cooking (pots, plates, glasses, cutlery etc.). To make a coffee or tea or using the fridge is certainly for free.

Hope to welcome you again

Bernd Gronbach
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
There are newer reviews for Bavaria Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 876 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend, we had chosen this hotel for its location reviews and great response to our emails. We where NOT disappointed, check in was quick we had to wait 15 min for our room to be ready what was cool because we where there at 11 am and check in does not start until 14 officially. The room was big, spotless clean great bed good bed big bathroom. Breakfast was very very very good

We received great advise where to go for lunch and very good directions.

The staff was respectful, smiling courteous and very efficient,even the auzubis where very good.
I meet the manager and he was very nice , courteous and fun to talk to

We are planning to go back to Munich next year for a weekend and we will hopefully stay here again

oh the internet was no problem for us, my wife had to work on school stuff and connected easily and it was good speed

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewolf97206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Dear Whitewolf,

Thank you for your very good rating! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Bernd Gronbach
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were slightly disappointed with the Hotel Bavaria given its high rating on Trip Advisor. The positive points have been listed by other guests and we don’t necessarily disagree with these assessments. However, there is room for improvement. The carpet outside our bathroom was damp, possibly from a previous guest flooding the floor. There didn’t appear to be enough staff supporting the breakfast buffet (only 2 staff who were difficult to identify) and we had to find our own seating. Annoyingly, we had to ask for our first coffee three times – most hotels will serve you tea/coffee immediately. The reception staff wasn’t very enthusiastic in providing directions to a local beer garden, and to be frank, the directions provided were inadequate. There was a line of seven people checking-out, with only one person manning the reception – and hence a 15 minute wait. Finally, we didn’t even receive a simple “Thank you for staying” as we collected our bill, possibly because the staff was flustered with the long line of people checking-out after us. Overall, not a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokyo503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Manager at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Sir,

sorry for being disappointed with our services. Unfortunately we had a problem with a broken pipe in your bathroom and we had no other triple room left to change your room (we were fully booked).
During breakfast there are sometimes a few minutes when all our guests come at the same time that coffee is not served immediately. In general we offer a high service as you can see on tripadvisor.
The same was at your check out we will work on that.

I want to say thank you for staying in our hotel. When ever you are back in Munich, we would be happy to show you the best beergardens in town!

Regards

Bernd Gronbach
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights here last week. After much research, I booked this hotel based soley on TripAdvisor reviews. I couldn't believe how expensive Munich hotels were in the summer, so budget was on our mind. We also wanted a great location.

First, this hotel is well off the beaten path- in a residential area with not much around. Unless however, you are there for Oktoberfest...in that case, this hotel is the way to go! The Oktoberfest grounds are literally a block away. However, the UBahn (subway) station is also at the end of the block, making getting to and from anywhere in the city VERY simple. The UBahn is very easy to navigate (without speaking one work of Germany) and is cheap. We used it all week. Ok, so this hotel is a train ride away from what you want to do, but very easy to use as a home base. Truthfully, after long days exploring, it was nice to come back to this quiet part of town to rest at night. So, home run with location!

Second, the hotel itself...well, it was a bit outdated, but still comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed comfortable. I think it's important to remember that this is a boutique hotel and not a chain, so it's more rundown/outdated. However, it was definately ok and I wasn't uncomfortable. There is free WiFi in the rooms (huge plus!)

Third, the breakfast....EXCELLENT and included in the price of the hotel. Home run! As everyone else mentions, the breakfast is significant...coffee, juices, croissants, fruits, eggs, meats, cheeses, muffins, etc. We sat down each morning, planned our day, and filled up on this great meal. Very happy with this!

Finally, the staff was the one main drawback. The front desk staff (other than the owner) was either sort of snotty or sort of flakey. For instance, we asked a girl at the front desk to recommend a tour for one of the most popular sights, and she gave us a tour line that we had used the day before and hated. So, we asked for another recommendation, and she told us flat out that she had none, that essentially the hotel gets spiff'd for referring clients to this tour company, and she couldn't help us unless we go with them. Really? You only know of ONE tour company in all of Munich to take us to one of the most popular sights?!
On another instant, we needed help printing out our train tickets, and the staff kept walking away, leaving us to go chase them throughout the downstairs in order to help us. This happened 4 times in ONE sitting at the computer. Annoying.

Regardless of the staff being somewhat unhelpful, we found the hotel comfortable and a great location for a home base. I would recommend this!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RideMeToTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Inhaber at Bavaria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Ride Me To The Moon,

Sorry for the unprofessional / unfriendly services we gave you. I have talked to our front desk staff and they feel sorry for the bad service. It will not happen again!!

Concerning the tour to the most popular sights - we are only working with one company. We have never had any complaints about the tours, sorry you did not like it. We are now getting in contact with other tour oporaters in Munich to have a bigger choice.

Thanks for staying with us!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip

Regards

Bernd Gronbach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night on friday 22 July on our way back to london.
Location is good being only a 10 minute walk to a train station in one direction or 6-8 mins to an undergound station in the other direction.
Not much around the hotel but there is the famous augustiner bar/cafe (not to be confused with the beer garden) which is a 5 minute walk away (apparently the best beer in munich - but i'm not a beer drinker so i can't confirm that). The advantage of the location being isolated means it is very quiet at night. The rooms are small but cosy. We had a non smoking room. The breakfast in the trendy boutique cafe bar area was superb. Best i had in the 2 weeks i was on the road.
My only complaint would be that there was no air conditioning. We were lucky that munich was going through a cold summer patch and it was only 15 degrees outside but even so we found the room very warm. I would imagine in proper summer weather it would be very hot in there. Had they had air conditioning it would be my first choice of hotel when in Munich.

Room Tip: A non smoking room away from the stair well would be ideal.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robthewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The staff were friendly, the location was right near the train, the breakfast was grand, and the room was lovely. We will definitely stay here again at future trips. The price was also very economical, especially compared to other hotels of the same caliber in the same city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatesRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed five nights in May 2011. The hotel is located on a quiet street within walking distance of the subway system and just one subway stop from the main train station and two or three stops from central Munich. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was very good. There are numerous restaurants and a pleasant beer garden within easy walking distance of the hotel (see the hotel in-room guide for recommendations and directions). For Europe, this hotel was extremely well priced and provided excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
562 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Boutique Hotel

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Bavaria)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $168 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bavaria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing