We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb- love it- we're regulars- wouldn't be if below 5-star par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Ranked #20 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb- love it- we're regulars- wouldn't be if below 5-star par”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Superb. The Kempinksi- I have now idea why they call it the Four Seasons- is a wonderful hotel with superb service. Truly a 5 star experience.
Honestly, it's the best hotel in Munich otherwise we wouldn't bother returning- it outranks every other in the fields of service, food, ambience, sleep quality, bathroom facility.
Spa facilities are superb and on a par with some of the Bulgari hotels, honestly.
We stay at winter during German Christmas Season (yay!)- and the Kempinksi does a superb patisserie selection at the lobby cafe of all manner of irresistibly delicious Christmas treats things one should not eat if watching one's weight.
I am not in agreement about the other's reviews. We are always ran at by the porter staff and often the reservations personnel come to us in the kafe- so we do not need to queue.
The thing to remember about Munich Kempinski is it has two wings- which cater for two important demographics. The older wing is for the guest who prefer the traditional-style antique furniture and a newer wing which has modern decor and bathrooms.
The bathrooms are excellent, surgically clean, large and cosy- as they have a towel heater. The Kempinski is one of the very few hotels in Europe that offer oversized resort-type shower , and a separate bathtub (which has a jacuzzi action). Toiletries were fine- though one expects the hospitality industry to economise where possible- but we prefer to bring our own- the Sankt Anna Apotheke or chemist is not far on Marstallstrasse (opp New York bar, on the street beside Dior (Sebamed very recommended- if you've got dry skin).

There is a novel mirror information system which I can never work out how to use.
Never had problems with the cleaning staff. Room temperature was fine- the controls are in-room.
Bed is firm, and as comfortable as home- very rare in any hotel- as usually some fatso has made the mattress into unpleasant back-murdering a souffle.

Outside the foyer and drive-thru area at Christmas time is set-up a Gluhwine hut- where you can sample the very best proper GBavarian Gluhwein in all Munich. Honestly- juyst go to the Kempinski for the Gluhwein alone!
Believe me- I've done all the hotels and Christmas markets- this is the best.
Now that your inebriated enough to tolerate hours of the wife shopping- you're on Maximillein Strasse and you can literally shop till you drop.
Not too far away are the opera house and the Fünf Hofe- one of the newest malls. Again- top end shopping and food.

Summarily for us it is all about luxury that is value for money and location as we travel light. For us the Kempinski meet and exceed these two criteria- and obviously for many others as it is advisable to book EARLY!
Thoroughly recommend.
Best hotel in Munich, a top 5 in Germany, and one of the best in Europe and truly among the best hotels of the world.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeweebeeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear „PeeweebeeJakarta“,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for your recent stay in Munich and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to restore your confidence in our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next Christmas Time.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    385
    178
    78
    53
See reviews for
291
597
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here for a night while Munich airport was closed due to issues with the volcanic ash. I had never stayed at a Four Seasons property before, and was excited to see how they run their properties. We paid 260 Eur for a room inclusive of an 85 Eur spa credit and inclusive of breakfast. We were happy to be upgraded to an executive room upon check-in which was on the 5th floor.

The room was large and rectangular in shape with nice Kepinsky amenities. It did oddly enough feel a bit bare though, not sure why. The beds were a little firm, but I had a good night sleep.

The hotel seems pretty large, the lobby is always busy and you can tell just walking in that this is for well heeled clientele.

The hotel has all facilities you would expect from a 5* property and particularly nice was the spa on the 6th floor.

There were a couple of free internet terminals on the ground floor which was useful especially if you don't travel with a Blackberry.

We ate dinner in the restaurant in the hotel and dinner was great, for two of us it came to 170 Eur inclusive of tip, it included wine and the meal was very nice. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet breakfast with a sufficient selection of cereals and cold foods.

We used the spa credit towards a massage which was perfect!

Overall, this is a great place for a great price. If you can find a good rate with a spa credit and breakfast included you should just take it. I don't think you can really go wrong with this hotel, service is professional and courteous. I have noticed some mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but my experience suggests this is a great hotel and certainly one you will enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avelautham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear avelautham,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for your recent stay in Munich and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to restore your confidence in our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back if your plans bring you to Munich and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

After staying at a B&B in the heart of Bavaria this is just what we needed! A dose of marble and 500 thread count sheets. The hotel was perfect! 5 stars for room, location, staff and amenities. My best compliment... when I return to Munich, I will repeat my visit here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Dear ibarbara,
Thank you for the kind feedback which we have received from you. In the name of the entire Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich we would like to say "Thank you". We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel if your plans bring you to Munich once again.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I was deeply disappointed. This hotel is so expensive and has such a famous name but first a got a smokers room (although I had reservered non-smoking). Then they changed it to a non-smoking room. But the room was really tiny, didn't have a flat screen (regular rate 260€ per room!) and the water taps of bath tub and sink didn't work properly. I care more about those things then a good service. Because if I have to fight with the shower then this is really an issue. There are better hotels for less money in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear “das_ubersoldat”
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. It is certainly unacceptable that bath tub and sink didn’t work properly. We would hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again if your plans bring you to Munich.

Kind regards
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

As always, it depends on what you expect. Let's face it: Hotels in Europe in general and Germany in particularly simply are not very good. Go for a good location (Vier Jahreszeiten has that) and ignore the poor service (Vier Jahreszeiten has that as well).
I have been staying here multiple times. Business trips have been uneventful and unremarkable. The one pleasure trip was disappointing. When you take your wife to such an supposedly upscale hotel, you expect a little extra. Not.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Dear KKX,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. We would like to apologize if in any way we did not meet your expectation. We do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards

The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My husband was attending a conference held at the Kempinski so I decided to join him, bringing our 3 year old daughter along for the ride. As a result we were there for both business and pleasure. The location is PERFECT. Great restaurants and shops right outside the door and walking distance to many of the city's landmarkds. For the business traveler the Kempinski is great. The single rooms are reasonably priced, especially if you book early. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful and excellent places to have a coffee or a meal while you work. We had to pay significantly more because there were three of us (though I really don't know why such a small child should make such a large difference in room rates). The internet was expensive - 21 euro/day- more than I would pay if it were not a business trip. The room was fine. The decor was a little outdated but it was very comfortable and impeccably clean. The bathroom, however, was beautifully updated. The real difference with the Kempinski was the level of service we received. The hotel staff was OUTSTANDING. I never had to struggle getting our stroller up the stairs because there was always someone who ran over to help. We were happy with friendliness of the staff as well as their recommendations for restaurants and activities. But the real difference for me was when our daughter got sick. The concierge not only searched pediatricians in the area, but also called every office in a 6 block radius until he found one who could give us an appointment that day. The level of service at the Kempinski makes it a good value regardless of the price. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in Munich.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Dear jessica0113,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for your recent stay in Munich and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back if your plans bring you to Munich and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed for one night last Saturday as a treat on our way home from our skiing holiday in Austria. All i can say is that this is one of the top hotels in Europe. From arrival to the service at breakfast everything is represents what a leading hotel should be. Great breakfast buffet on offer - the table beside us were set in for the morning! will definitely return. Only negative is their restaurants and bars are v expensive...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Web Coordinator at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Dear john1978

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for your recent stay in Munich and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back if your plans bring you to Munich and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#43 of 383 in Munich
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen

Property: Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Address: Maximilianstrasse 17, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#22 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vier Jahreszeiten is the first address for high quality level travelers, who esteem the combination of noble atmosphere together with the central location of a luxurious Grand Hotel. High standard traditional extravagance combined with present trends, turn your stay into a unique experience. The 303 rooms and suites combine the art of modern living with historical ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing