We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Ranked #18 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Kempinski has the feel of a grand old hotel of the past. Beautiful lobby and very helpful check in staff. Rooms are decorated in very classical style. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are decent size, specially for Europe. On one visit was upgrade to very nice studio suite. iPads provided in room. Hotel seems to have two buildings connected so some rooms are down small flight of stairs and far from elevator. Housekeeping was very efficient. Internet is VERY SLOW. Unsuitable for working even in lobby. Bar area is very pretty and pricey. Filled with guests from across the globe. Concierge was helpful throughout. Great location minutes from old city. Overall a very very good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAM5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed in hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for 2 nights and I enjoyed the pure luxury in every respect. Public areas are great, the rooms are modern and hi-tech equiped, the bed is excellent and service is great.
Location is perfect, really downtown, just a block away from the Opera.
I was struck by the shower, where taps were replaced by touch buttons and it worked perfectly.
The hotel, its interior and the furniture and fittings are all of a very high, German quality standard. State of the art!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and was very impressed with the aura of elegance. There were numerous cultural sites to visit within walking distance and the staff was very friendly. The room was a bit cramped but was very modern. I would stay here again if in Munich.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickc2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

my friends and i stayed at kempinski on feb 6-8th 2014, and went berlin on 8th, hotel said they can keep our luggage with them and collect on the 15th since that was the day we would be back from munich.

when we came back and collected our luggage on the 15th, our branded purchases were gone. my friend's hermes belt and LV wallet was gone. My givenchy and tory burch was gone. both in separate luggage.

we checked with hotel staff on the missing items but they said it was not in lost and found. i have asked for security camera, they said no camera footage.

This is clear cut stealing from our bags when we trusted them with our belongings!
Good location and nice rooms BUT dishonest staff!

Room Tip: Do not stay because of dishonest staff. i would not return at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sebrinatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebVierjahreszeiten, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We have taken note of your comment, which we regard as very serious.
In the meantime we were able to get in touch with you to solve the issue and could also prove that our staff did not steal your personal belongings.
We do hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

expensive but you get what you pay for. Remarkable service and breakfast! Close to tour bus stop and major tourist attraction and shopping! We stayed in one of the premium rooms and had great views of the busy street!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadnan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

A very well situated hotel, with tradition and culture, truly a safe haven for ever. The menu of the hotel restaurant could show somewhat more ambition, the execution more talent, but staff very friendly. The breakfast is also lacking 5star ambition, but again with great staff. Refurbished section gives great high tech rooms, but small. Worthwhile to revisit!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank TheHappyCamper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

it's been a decade since I stayed here- and the improvements are impressive! the rooms are decorated in simple, sensual luxury. there is no visual fussiness- passage and even bedroom walls have been wallpapered with details of the memorable artists of the last 5 centuries. it creates a wonderful fairytale ambience to those, who appreciate such wit. the rooms have the latest lighting technology- the shower has rainbow lights, which change colour, if you wish. whilst the restaurant is memorable at all times of day- the boullabaise is renowned, roomservice is as delicious as one would expect. breakfast is sensational- even for those with every food intolerance in the alphabet. an Asian corner of delicacies takes care of a big appetite. then of course there is high-tea in the foyer with the daintiest macaroons...the location is perfect for business, shopping and the touristy Marienplatz. great hotel.

Room Tip: try not to go for a single room, it is and feels small. make sure you understand, where your lift is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 391 in Munich
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#47 of 391 in Munich
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 391 in Munich
2,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#26 of 391 in Munich
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen

Address: Maximilianstrasse 17, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#14 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $334 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vier Jahreszeiten is the first address for high quality level travelers, who esteem the combination of noble atmosphere together with the central location of a luxurious Grand Hotel. High standard traditional extravagance combined with present trends, turn your stay into a unique experience. The 306 rooms and suites combine the art of modern living with historical ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing