We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic in Munich”

Biergarten am Chinesischen Turm
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.77*
and up
Private Tour: Munich Segway Tour Including Chinese Tower Beer Garden
More Info
$33.24*
and up
Munich Bike Tour
More Info
$36.80*
and up
Half-Day Afternoon Classic Bike Tour of Munich
Ranked #35 of 326 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic in Munich”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are in Munich in a sunny day, or especially in the summer and you are going to visit Englischer Garten you cannot miss a Bier here. The ambient is great and the food is also good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaCm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    239
    62
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
1,253 reviews
954 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Nice for a visit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We didn't eat here but had a soft drink and a beer. It was at the weekend ( Saturday and Sunday)so there was music and there seemed to be plenty of locals around also enjoying the beer and food ( not just us tourists). My husband liked the beer and it was not expensive.

We enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“for the atmosphere (on weekends), not the beers”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Chinesischer Turm’s bier garden inside of the English Garten is said to be the second largest beer garden in Munich and possibly the rowdiest on weekends.

It’s pretty empty during the week.

You can sit on beer garden benches arranged around the tower. It’s more for the atmosphere than for the beer. Traditional folk music is played on the weekends along with the food stalls with traditional bier garten food. The beer is from Hofbräu and a Maß Helles costs €7.30.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Venus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big biergarten in nice surroundings”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place with a good mix of people in every age. It's big and the chinese tower adds a nice touch. It's alot more tourits then alot of the other biergartens in Munich but good any way.

Helpful?
Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awful, over-priced food.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our visit to Munich got off to a poor start. Walked here from the city centre. Luke warm food served by surly staff. My wife left most of her food. My pork knuckle was ok but I didn't like the potatoes. Beer was ok, but when I went to get the deposit back on my glass I was told I needed a token. So I did not get the deposit back. It was a Wednesday afternoon, and the band was playing. That was nice. If it wasn't for the band this location would have been rated "terrible".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biergarten am Chinesischen Turm also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Biergarten am Chinesischen Turm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing