We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange sensation after all...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #84 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
275 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Strange sensation after all...”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a room there last week and really after four days of stay we had a mixed sensation.

The hotel is very well located, very close to Marien platz and its subway station. The room was really comfortable and although sometimes was noisy because some kind of work in progress at the building in front of the yard, the quietness was roughly kept during night. It also has a full equipment with safebox, complimentary bottles of water and beer and wifi among others. The breakfast is not abundant but appropriate ..

But by the other hand a very disgusting front desk employee forced us to pay in advance once we arrived ( may be a usual german behaviour but we are not used to... ) and was very rude warning us about the check - in time ( it is at 1400 but our plane landed at 930 and showed there about 1100 )... at least could leave our baggage at reception.

It is a pity how some unpleasant details can ruin your opinion

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We already talked to team. It doesn´t happen to us again! you can be sure!

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    167
    52
    28
    24
See reviews for
67
197
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Θεσσαλονίκη
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A nice hotel in the center of Munich near market and main sights. The room was very stylish, comfortable, clean and with many amenities. Although breakfast was tasty it was poor and the staff (at the breakfast) was not very helpful or even kind. In general, highly recommended hotel for its rooms, location and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Katerina,

Thanks for the Recommendation and the great feedback

See you soon.

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends, whilst we explored the city.
First impressions were fantastic. It's location could not be better, just far enough off the cebtral town square to be peaceful, but right in the thick of it after a 2 minute walk.
The welcome was absolutely fine and we found our rooms easily.
The place is remarkably big inside compared to the facade.
The rooms are brilliant, everything is ultra modern, with touch pad lighting / heating (A/c). The beds have the facility to adjust how firm the mattress is, brilliant, but try and keep both sides of the bed of a similar firmness, or you will find yourself at a different height to your partner.
The rooms have a very cleverly hidden kitchenette area with tea / coffee facilities, there is a safe and plenty of cupboard space for clothes.
HOWEVER, there were a couple of minor faults in my room, that could have ruined it had I paid the full price for the room.
The steam room (the shower worked fine) didn't work, the curtain was hanging off its rail at one end. But probably the most annoying thing was breakfast. On each morning we attended, the small breakfast room was busy and it was clear that there wasn't enough staff working, as such, there was often a wait whilst the shelves were stocked up with bread / meats. There was hardly any bacon / egg and getting hot water or milk was hit and miss.
In all, this is a fantastic hotel and I had an absolutely fantastic time there, but I was let down by the little things in the room and the disaster that was breakfast. As I said, it was a staffing problem, the poor girl was working her socks off, but couldn't keep up with the demand.
The rooms to the rear of the hotel overlooked some building works, but the people in those rooms had no problem with noise.

Room Tip: As above, the rooms at the back currently overlook a building site, but I was at the front overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear DJH02,

Thank you so much for the nice review and the given suggestions :-)

CU soon hopefully

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The accommodation is basic but clean and many of the modern "Technical" features have a lot to be said for them BUT, they don't all work all of the time. The "Steam Shower" in our room and two other rooms in our party did not work. The staff are friendly and accommodating BUT the dining area is too small and understaffed. I did feel very sorry for the two ladies who were running around trying to cope with too much to do. The location is very central for the Christmas markets and there are lots of affordable Bars to eat with lots of Bavarian atmosphere. With a little effort, the Campo dei Fiori would be perfect for a short break away.

Room Tip: Building work is taking place at an adjacent premises. Avoid this side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darth956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Darth956,

many thanks for the nice feedback and the the given suggestions.

The whole team is working constantly to improve the service. every and every day!
the next time you will see and feel it :)

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Derag Livinghotel, Campo dei Fiori, right in the heart of Munich during the Oktoberfest 2013. Prices at this time of year skyrocket, so we paid £220 for a double room including breakfast. The hotel is ultra modern in a strange sort of 'Star Trekky' way, with space age lighting controls and a concealed kitchenette. Two complimentary bottles of Lowenbrau beer were very welcome after our long journey. The reception area is tiny and the bar/restaurant a little lacking in atmosphere, but it's perfectly functional as a base from which to explore the centre of Munich. 2 minutes to the huge marketplace and 5 minutes to the Marienplatz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

two words are not enough but i just can say THANK YOU!!!

Hope to see you next year during the Octoberfest :)

Greetings

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A very well equipped nice hotel just in the heart of the Munich. Staff are also very kind and helpful. Breakfast buffet is rich and tasteful. I stayed with my wife 6 nights in here and we really loved it and decided to stay here in our future visits to Munich. Strongly advised...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Baris,

WOW, we are pleased with such a very great review! Thank you for your time!

I hope you visit us soon

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here to visit Oktoberfest and was pleasantly surprised. Ended up booking it because everything else was full, and we did pay a huge sum due to the fest, but it worked out very well for us. Room had a kitchenette and we were provided with 2 bottled waters and 2 huge bottles of Lowenbrau each day at no charge. Breakfast was generous and included, as was all day coffee, orange juice and flavored water at the lounge. Unlike other reviewers I had no trouble with the sleep number matress and slept well there. It is in a busy city so go expecting busy city noise, I was able to leave my window open and slept with no problems. Right next to the wonderful Viktualenmarkt, and Marienplatz, walking distance to Hofbrauhaus and all of central Munich. It met all of our needs.

Room Tip: I only give it terrible on value due to the issue of price gouging in all of Munich during Oktoberfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Maybe this year for the Wiesn? :)

Sincerely,

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt

Property: Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Address: Frauenstr. 4, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Campo dei Fiori)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown munich, right on the famous Viktualienmarket, the so-called "parlor of Munich" the 2011 newly opened Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt is situated in a quiet side street. The famous shopping streets like the Kaufingerstreet, the Maximilian Street, or the famous 5-yards are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing