We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #92 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel recently for six nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was very spacious with lovely contemporary decor and plenty of storage and bench space, even a couple of bean bags to relax in. The bed was super comfortable and even had a device either side where you could control the softness of your side of the mattress! Each day there were two free bottles of beer and water placed in our fridge which was a nice touch. The room also had a laptop safe and free fast wi-fi. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also complimentary and there was a good choice of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese, smoked salmon, breads and cakes as well as eggs and bacon. There was a great coffee machine there that you could help yourself to any time of day. The bathroom was spacious and had a great shower although I wasn't too keen on the fact that the glass partition that separated the bathroom from the bedroom didn't close properly, hence not much privacy on the toilet!

Previous reviews have mentioned an airconditioning problem and I must admit that we were there during a hot spell and found the room temperature a bit too warm which we couldn't seem to make any cooler. We had to have the window open at night which was a little noisy and one particular night, it pelted down with rain and we had to shut the window as rain was pouring in so that made the room a little stuffy. The rooms include a small kitchenette but there are no cooking utensils provided so I went to reception where they were more than happy to get what was needed from their kitchen. I was hoping to cook a couple of nights but unfortunately once I had worked out how to use the halogen plates, couldn't manage to get them to stay on. There is a microwave for heating up food which is a better option as well as a kettle. In the basement there is also a small gym and a laundry where you can use the washer and dryer for 2 Euro each.

Despite these couple of small things, we really enjoyed our stay here. It's in a fabulous location, so close to loads of restaurants, the old town and the fantastic market.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourmetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Did you ever see the complete hotel staff doing a flashmob WOOOOOWWW, BOOM SHAKALAKA - Dance??? Bet not! But we did it! :-)

WHAT A REVIEW! So long and so full of information!
Thank you for letting the community know about us and the good things we have and do!
And we take out the things which ar not good enough yet - to work on it! Take our word for it!

Looking forward to see you again in Munich!

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 477 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel after reading the previous negative reviews. We stayed for three nights in July when the weather in Munich was unseasonably cool so we did not encounter the air conditioning problems that others mentioned. The hotel was very recently renovated and the rooms are very modern in design and technology. While very compact, the rooms were well laid out with flat screen TV, adequate closet and storage space, bathroom with steam shower (no tub) and a kitchenette (induction cooktop, sink, microwave and water boiler). While available, you really don't need the kitchen as the Schrannenhalle (gourmet food hall), Victualienmarkt and restaurants are all within a block of the hotel. There are also no cooking utensils.

We stayed in a "business double" room that had a double bed and was located on the street side of the hotel. All "business" category rooms are on the street side of the hotel. We are city folks, so the noise from the restaurants and bars across the street did not bother us at all (even with the window open). If you need a quieter room, you should ask for a higher category room facing the back of the hotel. Be aware, however, that there is some construction going on behind the hotel and there may be some noise during work days for the rooms toward the back of the hotel.

We liked the extras provided by the hotel: Included breakfast, free wifi and a free bottle each of beer and water in the refrigerator. There is also a very small gym in the lower level, but this being a very small hotel, there are few other amenities and no lobby to speak of. The breakfast room was bright and there was an adequate continental breakfast (cold cuts, breads, granola, yogurt and fruit) and a few hot foods (eggs and sausage or bacon).

The staff was also very polite and courteous to us. We were not very demanding and did not need to use air conditioning, so the staff met all of our needs.

Again, this hotel was recently renovated to meet energy efficiency standards and this may be be the issue with the air conditioning. If the weather in Munich is cool, we highly recommend the Derag Living Hotel Campo dei Fiori. The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: The Schrannenhalle down the block from the hotel is a beautiful gourmet food hall and market with re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbit1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

WOW!!!!!

Thank you so much for such a long and nice review... We are speechless

Hope to see you soon in the near future :-)

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had many problems, with the minibar, the TV and the breakfast. We tryed to complain, but that was even harder. The hotel has no manager on weekends, and the receptionists doesn´t really care for what you say. One of them was specially rude, and disrespected me. I would have left if I could. Even after my check out, when I sent an email to the manager, I had no response of my complaints. Its really nice located, and the photos make you believe it is a great hotel, but the service is TERRIBLE. Just look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are terrible sorry. Your explained experiences are not the way we want to treat our guests. And no answer on you later given email? We really try to have a good communication with our guests.
I would be more than happy to speak with you - please feel free to contact me.

We are really sorry that your stay was not as expected - we normally do better :-)

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 27th June 2012, for a night.
Very tastefully done interiors, esthetically pleasing and functionally brilliant.
Poor air conditioning. I did report to house keeping, but unfortunately they couldn't fix the bug; the thermostat was stuck.
Awesome breakfast. Again a very trendy dining area with free WiFi access all across the hotel.
The room does not come with a standard telephone. So if you need to speak to teh front desk, you literally have to plod there.
Stones throw away from MarienPlatz and the lovely Viktorien Market.

Sid

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

such a good review! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
You are right - we do not have regular telephones in the room - BETTER:
You will get a cellphone from us with a complemantary acces to all german landline calls - this works where ever you are - and you will be reachable over your room number - again where ever you are :-)
Isn't it great??? Please excuse us if we did not mentioned it during your check in.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Despite its excellent location for tourism, the hotel does have major limitations. The biggest, and for us most important, was that the air-conditioning didn't work! The rooms are small (see below), and coming back to the room after a hot day of walking, naturally we wanted to cool down. We talked to front desk to ask them to do one of 3 things: 1. Fix the AC ("We'll have a technician fix it." -- Three different front desk personnel told us this every time we reminded them.), 2. Move us to another room ("Sorry, but we are sold-out." -- I checked online, they weren't.), or 3. To bring in a fan to our room for us to use ("Yes, we are getting the fan from another hotel property. You will get it soon." -- We were told this on day 1 of 3, but we never got the fans at all during the 3 days that we were there. Were they coming from China??). Unfortunately, it was too late to cancel our booking since they had our credit card to charge, and it would have been troublesome to find a new hotel, so we stayed put. 

Another disappointment was that the rooms were VERY small. Do not expect to get a room like the spacious-looking rooms depicted on several booking websites. We booked a Superior Room, which supposedly has extra space, but it was quite a letdown and I was very surprised as soon as I walked into the room. It couldn't have been more than 8 ft x 12 ft in size, and it was made even smaller because of 2 huge free-form beanie chairs that were not at all useful. We even checked at the front desk, that perhaps they made a mistake and gave us a Basic Classic Room, but no, they confirmed that this was indeed a Superior Room. I will say that the room is modern and very clever in its technology. But don't let the bells and whistles distract you. Stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ufb311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very sorry that your stay was not as expected. Unfortunately the design can not match for all guest - something we can not change :-)
The given service? YOU ARE RIGHT - that was poor. This is one reason why we bought Dyson air multiplier - so our guest have not to wait to get a problem solved.

We alredy spoke about all mentioned happenings and looking forward to proof you that it is worth staying with us!

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May. As others have said, ideal location for exploring all the sights of Munich. However, we also had problems with the air conditioning not working and the small (but very well designed) room was very hot at night. The attitude of the staff was almost complete indifference. We were told a different story every day and when we were leaving and complaining yet again (at the same time as a few other unhappy guests) the receptionist told us that as the hotel was a "green, energy-saving" establishment, we shouldn't actually expect to have working air con. Our request for a discount on the bill was met with astonishment. Oh, except for a 10E discount for a shirt lost in the laundry! Our room was at the rear - next to a noisy demolition site! Not the hotel's fault I know but we had to sleep with the window open and work on this site started early! All in all, not a great experience.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24AngelaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest,

We are so sorry - that your stay was not as expected.
The climatizations issues are already solved!

We really feel bad, that you had such a bad impression regarding our staff - we will work on this hard. Promise

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Ideally located in the very heart of Munich this hotel offers everything you possibly need for a pleasant stay. Every last detail is catefully designed in the rooms which arre equipped with a small kitchen (two free bottle of Löwenbrau as a welcome drink provided), a spacious bathroom (the steam gives you a sauna-like feeling) waterbeds (worth to try) and a multimedia center (internet, television and who knows what else). Delicious and varied breakfast is included - as the gym in the cellar. Most of the attractions of this intelligent city is in walking distance - and if something seens to be far you could always find a 'biergarten' as an excuse to relax :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear redbaron813

it´s sounds like a nice stay in Munich and in our hotel.

Thats fantastic!!

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#159 of 385 in Munich
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt

Address: Frauenstr. 4, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Campo dei Fiori)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $199 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown munich, right on the famous Viktualienmarket, the so-called "parlor of Munich" the 2011 newly opened Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt is situated in a quiet side street. The famous shopping streets like the Kaufingerstreet, the Maximilian Street, or the famous 5-yards are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing