We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but nasty”

Opatija am alten Peter
Ranked #151 of 3,767 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap but nasty”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited this restaurant with friends for a bite after a walk in the city and was very disappointed by the service.

We arrived at 9 and were told straight away to "hurry up because they were closing at 10" which I find way too early for a restaurant in any decent city. From that point onwards the service made it quite clear that they just wanted us to get it done as soon as possible.

Food was average, if abundant and very reasonably priced, but surely the point of going to a restaurant isn't to get filled for little bucks.

Shortly before 10 the waiter duly started picking up our plates, barely asking whether we were done.

I will never come back to Opatija and do not recommend it to anybody: there are way better places to eat in the vicinity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    88
    9
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A nice restaurant located close to Viktualienmarkt.
Prices are reasonable considering location.
It can be a little difficult to find.

Very friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank ksvanaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Probably best avoided”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A simply awful place! It was too busy for the staff to rapidly respond. Each waiter covered a section and would relay messages to your waiter but the service was supremely slow. The food was not great and I was sick immediately after eating it. My colleague and I had two large cokes each and they cost more than our meal. I will NEVER eat here again should I find myself in Munich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and favorite of Munich”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tis church is just off Marianplatz and is strikingly beautiful inside.
Badly bombed during the war, but beautifully restored.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit of Old Yugoslavia - Opatija”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

There are two Opatija restaurants in Munich City center. the first and oldest is in the Hochbrückenstraße 3 (Opatija Im Tal) and the second can be found in the Viktualienmarkt-Passage next to the Louis Hotel. The restaurants serve warm food all day and are one the best values for money in the city center. Be prepared for very large portions. Check the special offers, I recommend the riesenkotelett mit pomfrites, The Staff are friendly and helpful. Tip. At lunch time put off eating there until after 14:00 hrs, then the city regulars have gone and it is easier to get a table.
Guten Appetit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter-die-Grosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opatija am alten Peter also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Opatija am alten Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing